Our True Love Story (Part 1) | My Personal Background

1 19
Avatar for Adbent
Written by
3 years ago

I believe that everyone can change in the name of love. I am Don, and this is our funny, inspiring, and heartbreaking true love story. I've decided to share our love story just to inspire other people and I will be posting it by part. I am not good at writing so please respect and bear with me.

Part 1: MY PERSONAL BACKGROUND

I grew up amid adversity and poverty. I am the fourth of ten siblings in our family. I am the kind of child who does not easily give up. I did everything I could to make a little money and help my family and my schooling. I picked up trash, selling ice cream, and went fishing with my father and brothers. My father is a fisherman and my mother is a housewife. I do not blame them for why we are poor. I thank the Lord for making them an instrument for me to live in this wonderful world and enjoy the gifts of life.

When I was young, I seemed to have a different demeanor than other boys. I love being with the girls. I play a paper doll with them and we also have a mini beauty pageant. Yes, that is true, and can you imagine it when I am a little boy doing that girly thing?

I was a very shy person then. I'm always bullied at school but that was not a hindrance for me to finish my elementary and high school education.

We had a hard time when I was in college because almost all of my siblings went to school. If it was difficult for us, that would be more difficult for our parents because they did not have a permanent job and I knew that their heart was in pain every time they cannot provide all our needs. In spite of all, I salute my parents for not giving up on our dreams.

Even my fighting spirit is very high, there are times that I almost gave up on my dream to finish college. Until one day, one of our neighbors encouraged me to join "Mis Gay Pageant" and tempted me for the big prizes that I might win. Of course, I am very hesitant at first. Take note: that pageant will be in our own village. To make it short, yes, I joined. I joined because of the prizes and I knew that it can help me with my studies. My family most especially my father had no idea that their shy boy was one of the contestants that they are cheering up. Until I made my self-introduction, everyone was blown away and can't believe in my transformation. I saw my father's face: he is smiling and clapping for me... and it all started that night that I welcomed myself in the pageantry world!

Luckily, I won the title.

Student during the day and a gay pageant contestant during the night. I didn't mind if I am so tired and I didn't mind what people think of me. Most of the time, I bagged the "Best in Talent" award (performing a drama monologue with 5-10 different human voices). I'm not that smart but I'm always at the final top 3 contestants and won the crown many times already.

"My son, are you not tired of doing it? Sometimes, I feel guilty about myself seeing you at that stage. Yes, they liked you but some people are made fun of you and it breaks my heart." My mother told me but it didn't stop me from joining pageants.

I'm holding the first prize winner white envelope. The show got 42 contestants and finished at 2 AM. It's a show gay at it showcased only the talents of the contestants.

Until one day, all my hard works are paid off. I proved to them all that poverty is not a hindrance to reach your goals in life. I finished my 4-year course in college with Honors and Academic Excellence Award.

I got a local job right after I graduated and stayed for 3 years in the company. Then I decided to work abroad so that I can help more my parents in supporting my other siblings in their studies.

I have learned a lot working overseas and I had no idea that its part of God's plan for me. And our magical love story begins....

.... to be continued on next part.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @leejhen
Avatar for Adbent
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

That’s amazing! True love conquers all!

$ 0.00
3 years ago