Splinterlands | Odd One Out | Can You Find The Right Monsters For the Job?

0 28
Avatar for AbunEnt
7 months ago

Splinterlands | Odd One Out | What Is It?

One of the rules in Splinterlands is the Odd One Out and its complementary rule, Only Even Ones. We will discuss the former today and keep the latter for another day. 😊

When I started playing, it was quite difficult to battle under the Odd One Out rule. What is this rule? Simply put, you can only take those monsters with odd mana costs for battle. It was difficult to find the right monsters, and with the mana cap, the difficulty level was doubled.

The problem was earlier as not all my Splinters had a good distribution of odd-mana monsters. At that time, it was the Death Splinter that provided a good combination and a winning one. Now, it is more or less all Splinters.

How about taking a look at this rule in action? But before that, shall we spend a minute getting to know Splinterlands? After all, that’s where you will find all these fun battles, rules, and monsters.

What Game is Splinterlands?

Splinterlands is a digital card game that allows you to collect, trade, battle, rent, and even earn from the cards. *The game gives Play to Earn a whole different meaning.* By now, you would know that the governance token (SPS) airdrop made millionaires out of the early adopters. It still keeps giving and remains a fun and engaging game.

To give you an idea of how lucky you can get in Splinterlands, read my story of getting cards worth $500 from buying only a few packs worth $20.

Got Cards Worth $500 from $20 Packs

And this is just a tiny number. I have witnessed people getting uber-expensive cards in their pack and selling them for as high as $6500. In fact, there is a whole Splinterlands marketplace on the Hive blockchain and now on Wax too.

Any reason not to try it out? To join, scroll down quickly. 😊

Odd Ones Out | Mana Cap Matters

Back in 2020, it was easy to go with this rule if Death Splinter was available for the battle. Because of the better spread of odd-mana monsters, it was easy to take monsters for all mana cap battles. That’s why my probability of winning with the Odd One Out rule was better with the Death Splinter.

Nowadays, even with a good spread of monsters across all Splinters and all mana costs, it is still a bit difficult to win. Maybe the players are just too good these days. And bots? Oh boy, they are good too. It is quite interesting that the bots are doing so well in battle. AI anybody? 😊

Let’s hop on to the battle scene!

The Battle | Frowns and Angry Brows

A quick look at the rule, and we get going.

It was a 25-mana battle and pretty straightforward. Only Life and Death splinters were out of play. Had this been some years back, I would have lost without the Death Splinter. Not anymore, though. I have a decent spread across all of the Splinters available for battle.

The Face-Off Screen

And this is how the battlefield appeared.

I had chosen the Fire Splinter, and my team appeared at the top of the screen while the opponent chose the Water Splinter. My summoner Tarsa, would give an additional attack value to all melee monsters along with an increased health for all monsters. I had a mix of melee and magic monsters.

The opponent had a monster with martyr-ability in the first position. As soon as I took it out, the second position card would get an increment on all stats. That would be crazy. Anyway, their summoner would give all monsters a shield and increased speed.

We Battle Hard

By round 2, my tank had taken some beating.

The opponent’s tank had got one up on all stats due to the martyr monsters. That was the only casualty of the battle so far. What looked fine for me was that the opponent did not seem to have any heavy hitters other than the tank. That could work in my favor.

And The Battle Races to Conclusion | I Got It In the Bag

But by round 3, it happened.

I was worried that the opponent’s tank would take out mine, but the reverse happened. Once my tank took out the opponent’s tank, its bloodlust was activated. However, the opponent only had a ranged attacker. So, it wouldn’t attack and it was left to my monsters to finish the task.

And that’s what they did. I won! 😊

A Hard-Fought Battle | I Won!

The battle could have gone either way. I was lucky that my tank survived the onslaught. On second thoughts, even if my tank had fallen, I think my other monsters would have got me the win. After all, there were three of them. Hmm, so the chances of the battle going either way were not there.

The battle could go only one way, and that’s the way it went. I won! I hope you enjoyed reading this one. Enjoy the battles and have fun!

Namaste!

Want to Join Splinterlands?

You can click below and follow the link. All the best!

JOIN SPLINTERLANDS

Want to Watch the Battle I Spoke About?

Here it is:
https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sl_2e30582e65934a703328adbc05455797

Image Courtesy: Splinterlands Resources

Some Useful Sites to Give You More

Unique NFTs to Buy

Where can you find these NFTs? Over here: Real Art Or Pixelated Art

----------------------

Some of the good crypto-writing-earning sites:

Publish0x: Earn ETH || Read.cash: Earn BCH

----------------------

Some crypto-faucets and jewelry earners:

Horizen: Earn ZEN || Mene: Earn $5 on signup || Earn Litecoin || Earn Bitcoin || Pipeflare: Earn ZEC, FLR, MATIC

----------------------

Few Gaming-cum-earning sites

Splinterlands || NFTPanda

----------------------

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of AbunEnt
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AbunEnt
7 months ago

Comments