Splinterlands | Knock Out Rule | More Likely I Will Get Knocked Out!

0 21
Avatar for AbunEnt
9 months ago

Splinterlands

Of all the rules that are in play in a Splinterlands' battle, Knock-Out is the only one that I have to get my head around. I like the rule, and more often than not, I have won in such battles. But the victory is not because I adhere to the rule; rather, it is because of the selection of my monsters, which also happens to be the right ones for the rule. 😊


That said, I tried my luck understanding this rule better, and one thing is clear, when we have the knock-out rule in play, it is better to have a stun monster. Why? Because if the opponent’s card is stunned, our attack monsters will attack with twice the attack value. In other words, a stunned card has the highest possibility of being knocked out.

And I think now is the time to see the Knock-Out rule in play. But before that, shall we spend a minute getting to know Splinterlands? After all, that’s where you will find the Knock-out rule.

What Game is Splinterlands?

Splinterlands is a digital card game that allows you to collect, trade, battle, rent, and even earn from the cards. *The game gives Play to Earn a whole different meaning.* By now, you would know that the governance token (SPS) airdrop made millionaires out of the early adopters. It still keeps giving and remains a fun and engaging game.

To give you an idea of how lucky you can get in Splinterlands, read my story of getting cards worth $500 from buying only a few packs worth $20.

Got Cards Worth $500 from $20 Packs

And this is just a tiny number. I have witnessed people getting uber-expensive cards in their pack and selling it for as high as $6500. In fact, there is a whole Splinterlands marketplace on the Hive blockchain and now on Wax too.

Any reason not to try it out? To join, scroll down quickly. 😊

The Knock Out Rule | Get Done With Your Opponent Faster

The main aspect of the knock-out rule is to arm the teams with the possibility of demolishing the opponent. Early days of battles under this rule, I had the issue of not having many monsters with the stun ability. So, I did not really bother playing to the rule.

However, many more monsters now have the stun-ability in the new packs like the Chaos Legion pack. As mentioned before, a stunned monster is attacked with double the attack value by the opponent's monster. So, it is obvious to take more stun monsters into battle.

I particularly remember one battle where the opponent had four out of the six monsters having stun ability during a battle with the knock-out rule. Needless to say, I did not stand a chance. Every attack from the opponent would render my tank stunned, and therefore, the opponent's other monsters would attack it with double the ferocity. My monsters were done entirely within three rounds.

That’s what stun can do.

The Battle | Frowns and Angry Brows

So, let’s see one of my battles to get a proper understanding. This battle was with an active knock-out rule and a low mana cap. One of the things that I hate is a knock-out rule with a low mana cap. Why? Because I don’t have too many stun monsters in the low mana range. ☹


I am not in a happy place heading into battle. Do we know the outcome already?

Let’s see.

The Face-Off Screen

My battle was against a bot and to start with, I did look quite strong. But was I?


My team is in the lower half of the screen, while the opponent’s team is in the upper half. Both had gone with the Death Splinter and the same summoner, which would reduce both team’s monsters’ health and magic attacks by one.

So far, we appear even steven.

We Battle Hard

Close to the end of round 1, I had already lost half of my monster lineup.


The bot was whopping my team’s virtual backside. Here is a good example of what I mean by getting a good team for the knock-out rule. The opponent does not have even one stun monster and yet has strategized well to attack my team from the front and back. So, irrespective of the rule, the opponent should logically win.

I am not saying that you shouldn't follow the rule, but in the knock-out rule, the monsters with or without stun hardly matter.

And The Battle Hurries to Conclusion | Whopped Real Bad

Come round 3, and my team was already done.


My team was one with the stun monster and yet it hardly mattered. Bot or otherwise, the opponent got the right team for the battle and hence won. Nothing can be taken away from the opponent.

So, while I rue it, I got to pick things up and move to the next battle.

An Easy Victory For the Opponent | A Poor Choice of Monsters For Me

I reiterate the point that nothing substitutes a good team selection for battle. The rules can only enhance the outcome, but if the team itself is wrong, no rule can help.

So, battle hard, play smart, and go for the win. The rules will fall in place with a good team.

Have fun battling! See you soon.

Want to Join Splinterlands?

You can click below and follow the link. All the best!

JOIN SPLINTERLANDS

--------------******---------------

Want to Watch the Battle I Spoke About Here?

Here it is:
https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sl_36b5ac6a2126bc30812589e295d55b70

--------------******---------------

Image Courtesy: Splinterlands Resources

--------------******---------------

Some Useful Sites to Give You More

Some of the good crypto-writing-earning sites:

Publish0x: Earn ETH || Read.cash: Earn BCH || Trodl

----------------------

Some good earning sites for Tweet size posts

Torum: Earn XTM || Tipestry: Earn Dogecoin, Dogecoincash & SuperDog

----------------------

Some crypto-faucets and jewelry earners:

Horizen: Earn ZEN || Mene: Earn $5 on signup || Earn Litecoin || Earn Bitcoin || Pipeflare: Earn ZEC, FLR, MATIC

----------------------

Few Gaming-cum-earning sites

Splinterlands || NFTPanda

----------------------

Spot and/or Futures Trading Exchange

Binance || KuCoin || WazirX || Bityard

----------------------

1
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of AbunEnt
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AbunEnt
9 months ago

Comments