Molten Ogre | Fiery Warrior |Demoralizing the Enemy

0 15
Avatar for AbunEnt
3 years ago

Introduction

 

Here we go with one more card from Splinterlands. Today we will be looking at the Fire Splinter and the Molten Ogre in specific. The Molten Ogre is a melee attacking tank to be used in the first position in battle. One of the things that I love instantly about the Ogre is the demoralizing ability. What it does is that it reduces the attack value of each melee attacker in the opponent’s lineup. That is as good as using a summoner and yet not using one. 😊

The Molten Ogre is a common monster and does not come with an aura surrounding it like with the case of a rare, epic, or legendary monster. Does it matter? Not really. The Ogre does its job well for whatever it's worth, and it is one good card to take into the battle. I particularly like it when the “shield” rule is in play. That makes this tank a super tank. 😉

Let’s get to know more about the monster but before that, let’s understand Splinterlands, shall we? It would help newbies and potential players alike. 

Here we go.

What Game is Splinterlands?

 

Well, it is one of the earliest blockchain-based collectible games. Though I started playing the game relatively late, I should have had gotten going early in hindsight. Anyway, no need to despair. There are so many opportunities no matter when you start. 

*Splinterlands is a digital card game that allows you to collect, trade, battle, rent, and even earn on the cards. It is one of the most generous games that I have seen where cards, potions, Dark Energy Crystals (DEC. Cryptocurrency) are given out every day to thousands of players for just playing and winning daily quests. And there are tournaments or guilds that you can join.*

*Just to give you an idea of a few of the uber-expensive cards, take a look at this recent purchase of Prince Julian at USD 3500.*

Card Purchase Contract: Gold Foil Prince Julian

Did you go to the link and see for yourself? I hope you did. And I hope that gives an overview of the game. I just love the game, and those interested can go to Splinterlands’ site and join. If you want a link to join, I will leave one at the end of the article, which you can use. 

Scroll down, quick. 😊

Molten Ogre | The One With A Bad Breath

 

I couldn’t help but notice @carrieallen’s comment about the Ogre’s bad breath and how it could be the reason that the melee attackers (the close-range attackers, after all) get demoralized! Hahahha. 

The Molten Ogre was one of the main attackers I took into battle when I was still learning the tricks of the trade. Most of the time, I would end up on the winning side. Those times that I lost were due to my poor team selection or because of the opponent having a great combination of summoner and team. For example, one of my opponents had a self-healing level-three Flesh Golem and tank-healing Wood Nymph. I mean, the Flesh Golem became unbeatable in this combination, and I ended up losing. So, not the Molten Ogre's fault but definitely my selection of monsters and the opponent’s superior lineup. 

I wonder how the Ogre would be in battle right now. I am sure you are interested in finding out as well. So, let’s go.

Molten Ogre in Battle

 

I have got to admit that it has been a while since I used the Ogre in battle, so this would be something new after a long time. Also, I hope to win. 😊 . Let’s see.

So, I got into the battle mode and selected my monsters for a rule like this. Taking the Ogre into a 23 mana battle is a big thing. The Ogre does not come cheap, so selecting the Ogre was a gamble in this gameplay. But then again, I was hoping to check it out after long. 

Since the ranged-attacker can attack from the first position rule was also in play, I felt I could win this. My selection of monsters will decide how well I strategized. 

-------------******-----------------

The Face-Off

I lost hope once at the face-off screen. I had spoken about the Flesh Golem and the Wood Nymph earlier in this article, and this battle looked much similar to that one. Though there was no Wood Nymph, the Mustang was a killer. Anyway, let’s take a closer look at the lineup.

I had chosen the Ogre (obviously) as the tank while I added magic and ranged attacker to the mix. The Zalran Efreet, with its life-leech ability, would come in handy, and the Pyromancer, with its blast ability, would make a difference. Besides, the Pyromancer would work in the first position too. I had reasons to believe this would be a great battle.

However, I wouldn’t know yet. The Ogre’s demoralizing effect was in play which meant that the opponent’s melee attackers would lose one attack value. That was helpful, but still, the Mustang was a pain. You see, while my Ogre was still the stronger of the two, the Mustang had this uncanny ability to dodge the Ogre’s attack. If that happened, then my lineup would be done for faster than I had anticipated. The Goblin Thief was another good addition, as it would be attacking my Pyromancer unabated and then, of course, the magic attackers too.

The battle appeared tilted in the opponent’s favor.

-------------******-----------------

The Battle Begins

About five seconds into the battle, it was amply clear that the Ogre was losing more health than the Mustang. In fact, the other thing about the Mustang is that it also receives reduced attacks from magic attackers, which meant that Zalran was hitting at half its strength. To add to the woes, the Pyromancer was missing attacks on the Mustang. All-in-all, I was in a perilous situation.

Not only that, but the Goblin Thief was gnawing at my Pyromancer as well. I was very close to losing both my front monster and the rear one.

-------------******-----------------

The Battle Races to Conclusion

Then the unexpected happened. One after the other, the Ogre, Efreet, and the Pyromancer found their attacks landing on the Mustang. That did the trick. The Mustang’s health was down to two, the same as the Ogre. From there, it appeared in my favor, as none of the opponent’s other monsters were high on health while my Efreet had gathered enough health. 

My assessment seemed right. After the Mustang and Ogre perished, Zalran took the tank's role and was well supported by the Pyromancer. While non of the magic attackers would target the Pyromancer, it was sure to survive. Now the only thing that mattered is how long could the Zalran hold fort. 

Zalran did well to hold the fort as the last of the opponent’s magic monsters stood there waiting for the inevitable. It was the Pyromancer who finished up the job. 

In hindsight, the Ogre wasn’t that bad. 😊

Do I Use the Molten Ogre Often?

 

I used it a lot once upon a time. That time was way-way back. Then I did not have many monsters to be used as tanks. In fact, I got the Goblin Mech a lot later in my Splinterlands journey, so it was always the Ogre when it came to the Fire Splinter. 

The only issue with the Ogre is its high mana cost. It is absolutely impossible to use in low mana battle. You can still think of it in medium mana battles like the one we just saw, and of course, the high mana battles. The only thing is, where would you find the Ogre useful in the high mana battles? There are a lot of places. 

Let’s take a look at a few.

Where Else Does the Molten Ogre Fit In?

 

You see, much like my current battle, to use the Ogre and the Fire Summoners is a double plus. The Ogre reduces the opponent’s melee attackers’ attack potency while my summoner increases my melee attackers' attack value. It is like using two summoners and that is a double whammy on the opponent. 

The Ogre is also a great monster to take into high mana battles. There are few rules which suit it more than the others. For example, the opportunity rule or the sneak-and-snipe, melee attackers can attack from any position rule and the likes, are superb for the Ogre. The Ogre need not be the lead tank, while it can still do substantial damage to the opponent from any place in the lineup, not to mention the demoralize ability coming into play.

How Does the Molten Ogre Level Up?

 

The best thing is the addition of ability as the Ogre levels up. At level six, the Molten Ogre gets trample ability. This is an asset to use in the new trample-ruleset. That would make the Ogre quite impressive in battle, or should we call it a triple whammy on the opponent?

On their stats, all of the parameters see substantial improvement. The Ogre’s health improves to fourteen, while its attack value goes all the way up to five. Its speed increases too, which is an added boon. The Ogre never gets an armor, which I would have personally liked. Anyway, that is a matter of choice. 😊

Molten Ogre | A Tank With A Difference

 

So, that’s about the Molten Ogre and how its abilities and position help a lot in the battle. If used smartly for its demoralize ability and its own strengths, the Ogre ensures a win in almost every battle. There isn’t much to lose taking the Ogre. 

The only question is when can you take it and in what kind of battles. That I presume, you will learn quite quickly.

😊

Want to Join Splinterlands?

 

You can click below and follow the link. All the best!

 

JOIN SPLINTERLANDS

-------------******----------------

 

Image Courtesy: Splinterlands

 

-------------******----------------

 

Some Useful Sites to Give You More

Some of the good crypto-writing-earning sites:

Publish0x: Earn ETH || Read.cash: Earn BCH || Torum: Earn XTM || Tipestry: Earn Dogecoin || Uptrennd: Earn 1Up

----------------------

Some crypto-faucets and jewelry earners:

Horizen: Earn ZEN|| Mene: Earn $5 on signup || Telegram DOGE BOT

----------------------

Few Gaming-cum-earning sites

Splinterlands || Drugwars  || Holybread

----------------------

Spot and/or Futures Trading Exchange

Binance

----------------------

Search Tool That Pays in Crypto

Presearch

----------------------

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of AbunEnt
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AbunEnt
3 years ago

Comments