Why are parents so overprotective and strict?

0 13
Avatar for Abdullahkhan
1 year ago
Topics: Parents, Stictness, Love, Kids

Parents today are overprotective and strict with their children. In this article, I'll go over the history of parenting, why parents are overprotective and strict, and how to encourage your kids to be less dependent on you while still being responsible with their decisions and work ethic. Let's get started!

The reasons why

The main reason why parents are overprotective is that they want to keep their children safe. They see the world as a dangerous place and they want to make sure that their children are protected from harm. Another reason is that they want to control their children's behavior. They may be afraid that their children will make bad choices or get into trouble if they're not kept on a tight leash. Additionally, some parents may be overprotective because they have been raised that way themselves. And others might do it out of fear of being judged by society for allowing too much freedom. Sometimes it's difficult for adults to remember what it was like to be a child, with all the innocence and creativity that comes with being young.

The cost of not being lenient with children

Children who are not given the opportunity to explore and make mistakes often have a difficult time when they enter the real world. They may be afraid to take risks or they may not know how to deal with failure. On the other hand, children who are allowed to experience a little bit of freedom often turn out to be more confident and successful adults. This is because children learn by exploring and taking risks. For example, a child might fall off his bike and get hurt on the way home from school. Instead of crying about it for days, he gets back on his bike in no time! He might even ride faster now that he knows what it feels like to fall off! That's why most parents are too protective: they don't want their kids to suffer any injuries in their childhood.

One parent's experience

I remember when I was a kid, my parents were always on my case about something. It felt like they were always telling me what to do and how to do it. I understand now that they were just trying to protect me, but at the time, I wished they would've just let me be. I never really got to experience anything for myself, because everything had to be done their way. When I grew up and became a parent myself, I vowed not to make the same mistakes with my own kids. So far so good! They're still young, but from what I can tell from their interactions with other children in school or on playdates, they seem pretty well-adjusted. Sure, sometimes I feel guilty for being so protective and strict, but then I think about all of the things that could happen if I wasn't. Maybe it's just our generation. Maybe we're just trying to fix things we messed up as parents ourselves. But either way, there's no going back now.

Have you experienced being too strict or overprotective?

I remember when I was younger, my parents were always telling me what I could and couldn't do. I felt like they were constantly holding me back from doing things that I wanted to do. It wasn't until I got older that I realized they were just trying to protect me from making some of the same mistakes they had made. If your parents have been too restrictive or overprotective in their parenting style, it may be because they want you to succeed in life. Their goal is for you to have a happy life and be successful, which is why they may not allow you many freedoms as a child. As you get older, you will probably start appreciating their tough love. There will come a time when you understand that everything they did was for your own good and it's not about being too overprotective; it's about having enough confidence in yourself to know what's best for yourself. They don't want you to make the same mistakes they made, but they also want you to enjoy your childhood while it lasts. The more understanding you are with them now, the better off both of you will be later on.

How did your child take it?

Most children understand that their parents are only trying to protect them from harm, but that doesn't make it any less frustrating when they're constantly being told what to do. In some cases, this can lead to rebellious behavior as the child tries to assert their independence. Other times, the child may feel crushed by a parent's rules or boundaries in an attempt to avoid disappointing them. If you find yourself struggling with how much freedom you should allow your child or teenager, ask yourself these questions:

I'm my child still following rules at home even if I let him or her go out with friends on weekends?

Does my teen act differently when I'm not around?

Is my teen happy at home and at school? How often does he or she get into trouble for skipping classes or missing curfew? What is my teen's mood like after I tell him or her no about something he or she wants to do? These are just a few ways you can gauge whether your child is getting too many privileges

Image source

unsplash.com.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Abdullahkhan
1 year ago
Topics: Parents, Stictness, Love, Kids

Comments