My Most horrible experience during COVID -19 lockdown.

0 25
Avatar for Abbex4
Written by
2 years ago

 In the early stages of the Covid-19 virus when it’s dreadful effect was not fully know, it’s cause and effect remained a field of studies by  researchers. When its effect  and cause was fully discovered the WHO termed it as a “global pandemic” this terminology coupled  with the precautionary measures to observe, brought about a horrible  experience while the whole country was on lockdown.The first horrible experience is self  isolation, followed by financial handicap and finally mental health consequences 

 

ISOLATION:

 

       One of the most horrible  experience I had during the COVID-19 lockdown was self isolation.Following the categorization by the WHO of COVID-19 as a pandemic (11 February 2020), public health experts and authorities recommend social isolation as a primary measure-to mitigate the spread of the SARS-CoV-2. People of all ages, including university students and academic staff in the majority of countries, were asked to avoid physical social contact and participation in group and community activities, family gatherings and public events. With few exceptions, self-isolation was suddenly required by nation states, particularly of individuals returning from more severely affected regions, as well as for older people and those with underlying health conditions. While self-isolation has been generally considered an act of individual responsibility, some countries introduced and enforced new specific regulation to restrict movement outside the home and to require the wearing of face masks, and established the authority to impose fines or imprisonment for non-compliance.  Humans are fundamentally a social species: it is in their nature to interact and form various types of relationships with others. Social isolation has been understood as both an objective phenomenon experienced by individuals, such as that characterized by a ‘lack of social interaction, the actual lack of social ties , and ‘social disconnectedness’ . For me It is also understood as a subjective experience by individuals, such as a ‘lack of engagement with others, loneliness’ or ‘the perceived discrepancy between actual and desired social relationships’. The widespread mandated household confinement and mobility restrictions can be understood as creating objectively real physical isolation, immediately and severely reducing direct social interaction and contact with anyone outside the household. At the same time, these conditions create circumstances in which individuals subjectively experience social isolation.such a situation can be detrimental to a person health, especially to the youths and students , because it will be a waste of youthful exuberance.

FINANCIAL HANDICAP.

 

        With the incision and close-sure of school, coupled with isolation at home earning money has really been difficult. While I was in school before the lockdown, I do get money almost all the time but ever since the lock down the reverse has been the case, I hardly get money which is due to the lockdown, this is one of my most horrible experience because it has bridge my contract based on matters of finances, my parents don’t give me allowance as they usually do, I don’t save money anymore as I usually do, this make my everyday  appear like hell, this at times make my day unenjoyable and full of hate for every day that passes by, coupled with the isolation, I was faced with total financial handicap, these left a remarkable mark in my heart which I know will be difficult to be erased even if the lockdown should be lifted anytime soon. This in particular I can say was the worst of experience one could ever be in, being financially handicapped.

MENTAL HEALTH CONSEQUENCES.

 

        Another horrible  experience  I had during the Covid-19 lockdown is based on mental health Consequences that I could have incurred if the lock was extended beyond a year. Evidence from social science and public health studies suggest that social interaction and relationships are important for mental wellbeing throughout the lifespan. For example, Hart-up and Stevens conclude that within the lifespan, friendships can foster a sense of wellbeing and self-esteem. Similarly, in their review of scientific studies, Montez conclude that over the lifespan, social relations do influence health and by extension, as others indicate, social isolation contributes to anxiety and depression.  Elsewhere, correlations have been found between the perceived lack of social connections and feelings of loneliness, with higher rates of morbidity and mortality, as  well as of infection and cognitive decline.Similarly, strong correlations have been demonstrated between social relationships and physical health, such that more socially connected adults are found to be healthier and to live longer than their more isolated peers.In addition, there is a link between being socially engaged and the experience of stress, although this link is complex; stress might be both a cause and effect of social isolation.   Furthermore, more socially engaged individuals seem to possess a relatively larger repertoire of restorative or stress-buffering resources (both behavioral and interpersonal).

 

RESTRICTION FROM DAILY ROUTINE EXERCISES.

In the light  of the whole lockdown crises,  I can  say brought about restrictions from performing and carrying out my daily routine activities, this particular restriction I can say is one that encourages and invites boredom into me during the lockdown.The thought of me not associated with folks anymore and peer groups ate me up so badly, not just that, going out to usual places I do visit often became of the radar, going to the supermarket, field, parties and other social gatherings was cut off, the fun life  as a youth and a student was sent packing as I couldn’t do anything except to abide by the laid down precautions and oblige by them. As badly as I wanted to to go out and mingle with friends, I just couldn’t because I know I would be doing them a favor starting indoor, I would be protecting myself and also protecting them from contacting the deadly virus.In addition, on the aspect of going to church also, the virus brought a stop to most church activities, I wasn’t going to church anymore, my family stopped also, we now pray as a family and sometimes partake in the ongoing mass on the television. The lockdown was so pathetic it totally restricted my daily routine activities, my parents no longer go to work, sometimes when we’re out of food stuff, different questions would be flowing within the house, which shouldn’t have been of movement wasn’t restricted, I can say for sure that the COVID-19  arm with its confusion to various families my included, mine was even worst because I live with medical personnels,  who are highly educated and will what to uphold that status and discipline no matter the situation they find themselves in, not minding of its to their own detriment. This was the situation I found myself in, my COVID-19 lockdown experience was really a horrible one, anyone can attest to that fact, some persons might enjoy theirs but having medical personnels as parent, coupled with the news of the lock down In order to avoid contacting the deadly virus, in  addition  to the number of people  infected, died rate increasing  daily and suspected cases-around the world , I bet you, such parents are ready to go extra miles to keep you under 24 hours surveillance.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Abbex4
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Abbex4
Written by
2 years ago

Comments