Prison: Socialization of mothers and their children

0 13
Avatar for Ab2
Written by
3 years ago

Photographer Jadwiga Bronte has spent 10 years visiting mothers and their children in two prisons in Moldova.

Her work focuses on strengthening the bond between mother and child in prison.

“I think the positive experiences of the past between mother and son are helping in the upbringing of the children by helping the mother become a caretaker for her child and not a criminal, she said.

"I hope I can change the situation in which the mother is in prison to a new and different environment, which will focus on building a strong relationship between mother and child.

"Another unique thing about this project that I did was that some outsiders could not realize that these pictures were taken in prison."

Despite her portraits, Bronte worked with prison mothers in the design and comic book collection of infants.

Here are some stories from her lessons

Alina and her son Nicolae

“I am an obedient, honest woman who can sometimes feel my mood has changed.

“I was the only one with my parents and my parents gave me everything I needed even though they were not only moral, they gave me a good education.

“I remember all my friends and colleagues.

“I will never forget the game we played.

“I worked at a shoe repair shop, where I first met the one I loved.

“We had a great time together.

“But time passed and my life changed and I embarked on a path that sent me to prison for many years.

“Yet I am a human being.

“I met a man who became my husband, I got pregnant and gave birth to a son who became the center of my life and made me feel happy.

1
$ 0.00

Comments