"Goat" The unfateful incident

4 25
Avatar for A.B-DUUM
2 years ago

While most get crushed over trivial (ordinary) reasons such as when a girl dumps them, hmm or rather when someone's wife dumps him just maybe becouse he got broke. Nah!! This ain't that kinda set up. Actually, it could have been easier this way I guess but it was this one incident, one goat that was the most unpleasant sensation I ever experienced.

Why? well, because I used to believe that nothing could be unendurable in life or even death be it a person I knew or something similar. Little did I know of the pain until it happened.

This dramatic incident occurred in our little town. Our grandmother had left us with a flock of goats,and by left I meant literally left this world. I was given the responsibility and the duty of safeguarding, feeding these animals though I never got paid for which is not necessary right now for the least.

One day, after the goats were set out to the fields to feed as they usually do while some of the goats would go over the bounds to seek greener grass or whatever. Anyways it wasn't a big deal becouse they always returned by sunset so I didn't bother. Today, one of the mother goats took its kid out way over the line.

I didn't start to get worried until it was sunset and neither the mother nor the kid had returned.

I quickly went after them looking for their trail to where they usually went. And reassuringly, there they were. It was a heavy traffic on the road that stands on the entrance back to town which held the goats from crossing, there were cars, tricycles, and bikes moving at a high speed. If I didn't knew better I would say they were all targeting our goats. Keen creatures they were, they would first make sure the road was clear before crossing or if seemingly impossible, they would take the slightest window of opportunity they get.

So, I decided to go and help them cross over. It was a two way road, in other words it was wide, and not the type you would get over in one jump or two. Being human, I crossed easily went to the other side to get them across.

The baby goat was desperately trying to keep pace with its mother, and When I saw the chance I tried to hurry them ahead but when the mother went ahead her foolish kid was left behind and after reaching to the middle the stupid goat turned back and to fetch its kid. Hh (sigh) this is gonna be hard I thought.

All the while, the kid had gotten freightened from the alarming sirens and couldn't follow. So I turned to it to perhaps carry it if have to. I reached sluggishly reached to it. It dashed ahead to its mother, the mother seeing this. It tried to run through the streets

And as she sprinted the child followed ignorantly and then a tricycle horrifyingly came out of nowhere, the mother dodged it and the child turned only being able to move its front body but failed to move its hind limbs, bam! the tricycle's front wheel hit its backbone. It's possible that it was cracked or completely damaged. Even so the kid with all its remaining courage tried to drag itself across the road but hopelessly turned and fell after dodging another death truck.

Almost screaming in agony I jumped the road dividers and grabbed the baby goat's feebled body from the ground and ran over to the side of the road and put him down, the tricycle driver halted shortly a few meters away from me and then without much care in humanely drove off. it releasing white saliva foam from it's mouth, shaking in my hands as if it was struck by a thousand needles.

(Sigh) trying to hold my tears as I stood there, people whom witnessed this all stood with lament in their eyes some even telling me its not gonna make it.

I knew this. My father is a doctor and I was sure that there was nothing to be done. I carried its fading body home I could feel the spine wagging around inside the body I walked home blaming myself, I should have grabbed the kid when I had the chance before they tried to cross.

I brought it home and in pain I put it down at the goats barn where the mother was crying outlandishly as though she was asking what happened?.

As for the mother she kept crying and looking for her child madly for almost a week as if she couldn't recognise it as a corpse.

This has been hard to write let alone tell anyone of the details as I have now.

Have you ever experienced anything like this.. Let me know in the comments section.

Also don't forget to like 👍, and subscribe for more.

2
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @DanLawan
Avatar for A.B-DUUM
2 years ago

Comments

A very sad story. This is why we must always do what is right at the right time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Danlawan i guess we all got some regrets

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It broke my heart reading it, I wish you could have done something about it, it brought a tear to my eyes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's exactly what ran in my mind I guess you just can't change a fated incident. Sorry for the late reply didn't expect my article to be read by the great wolfman😱

$ 0.00
2 years ago