My Experience before Becoming a Government Employee

9 29
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Two weeks ago I spontaneously decided to quit my office job. It was too sudden and urgent. I did it after receiving a call from my cousin, he told me that the principal from the school near our house was looking for me, and I was asked to report to the Department of Education- Division Office to check.

I was at work that time, so I hurriedly finished the documents and informed my boss that I'm going to the city briefly and I will just return in the afternoon. Good thing that she understood and let me go.

I went there, and I was informed that I will be assigned as a substitute teacher in the coastal area. This could be an opportunity for me to gain a teaching experience, so I grabbed it even though I am not yet sure what's going to happen to me. That place is quite far from home, and I'll probably lose my salary for transportation fare. But then, I'm just starting off, so I need to sacrifice. This is all for the sake of experience and not the salary.

I was given a sheet of paper where all the requirements I need to submit are written. And to my surprise, there's a lot and I need to accomplish everything within three days!

I'm good at obtaining stuffs like these because I already have prior experience. I decided to finish it all within two days, but I am unable to because the government offices that time are closed since it is a holiday (and I am not informed).

I decided to start from obtaining a medical certificate. So I had to get myself tested.

What I fear the most during medical examination is getting my blood drawn for a blood test. I didn't even look when the laboratory guy started to get the syringe. Good thing that it was done fast, but my heart is throbbing fast as well.

Then I had a urinalysis, drug test, chest x-ray, and lastly the neuro-psychiatric examination. It took me more than two hours to finish everything and I paid Php. 1,700 on these ($34).

Then I went to my University to obtain a certified true copy of my Transcript of Records, but I failed because it was a holiday. Since it was friday that time, I decided to resume on monday.

I already had a copy of the other files that I have to submit and I just need to fill it up. I had a hard time filling up the Assets and Liabilities form because I don't have any asset aside from being pretty. 😹

Good thing that I already have my original birth certificate from Philippine Statistics Office, I got it back in 2011 and it's still valid,so I no longer have to suffer from the long lines at PSA.

Monday came and I went back to the city. I went to National Bureau of Investigation to get a clearance and I went through loops just to get it. Appointments and payments are now made online and the nearest possible date for me to get my clearance is on May. So, I went to NBI and asked the staffs if it's possible for me to get it earlier. Good thing that they allowed me to do so as long as I already paid for the clearance! I have to go back and forth because my payment code is not working, so I have to find other payment centers. I spent more or less Php. 300 ($6) just to get the clearance, but it's all worth it because of the fast transaction.

Then I went to the Diagnostics Laboratory to get my medical examination results.

After that, I obtained a certified true copy of my transcript of records at my university and spent almost Php. 100 ($2).

Then I went to the Regional Center in the city. This is where the offices of most of the government agencies can be found.

I went to Professional Regulation Commission first to get my Certificates of Board Passing, Good Standing and A certified photocopy of my Professional License. It's not easy to get those certificates because it has to be processed online as well and certified true copies can't be processed online. I even had a conflict with the lady who's doing the online processing because she's not listening to my explanation. To my annoyance, I barged inside the PRC office instead and told them that I still have my receipt from 2019 for those certificates. They told me that it was already disposed after 6 months of not claiming it but they gave me the privilege to obtain certified true copies again without going through the hassle of online appointment and online payment. I spent Php. 450 ($9) for those copies.

I'm good in multi-tasking, so while waiting for the release of my certificates, I went to the Regional Trial Court to have my Personal Data Sheet notarized at the Public Attorney's Office (the lawyer who assisted me is so handsome by the way lol). I probably spent Php. 100 ($2) for the PDF.

Finally, I got everything I need and I just have to submit it to the Department of Education. As you can see, becoming a government employee is not easy, you have to submit a lot of requirements and spend a lot of money before you work. As for me, I spent a tentative mount of Php. 5,000 ($100) but until now they haven't given me the advice (a piece of paper) to work yet. Now this makes me think, are my efforts really worth it for this job?

4
$ 15.89
$ 15.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 1
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Tatawagan ka nyan madam. May appointment kana sa DepEd eh, tas pina comply kana. Buti naman ni release agad TOR mo? Saming kase 5-7 days pa bago ma release 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well hopefully maregular ka dyan para mabawi yung pinangkuha ng requirements. ang dami mo din ginastos just for the requirements tho

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Coastal area madam.. Hirao nyan.. Pro tiyaga lng. Sulit naman kpg mka position na sa school jan sa inyo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Luhhh, gwapo yong lawyer tingin mo singol pa? Ahahaha un agad tumatak sa isip ko ee ahaha.

Anyway, grabing daming ganap naman sa iyo. At sana naman hindi masayang effort mo jan sa pinag gagawa mo. Naipasa mo naman na lahat ng requirements diba? Aigooo, good luck sa new journey if ever ma hired kana. Pero it ever maaccept ka wala ka balak mag board nalang? Kasi sabi mo malayo ee.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Feeling ko single pa yun hahahaha yung looks niya parang pang wattpad eh. Tall, handsome and fair-skined 😍 Tapos yung ilong matangos at ang ganda nung mata 😻 Ang bait pa 😹

See, kaya naman di makapag sulat dito araw araw eh 😅

Anyway thanks. Balak ko umuwi na lnag sa bahay sa kabilang bayan , dun 30 minutes away lang ang distance kaso mahina ang signal kaya baka mahing inactive na talaga ko sa noise at dito.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Oi karamihan sa ganyan may tinatagong pangalan sa gabi ahahahahaha. Pero baga may juwa na yan naku, tas gwapo pa sa kanya haha.

Magiging busy kana, every weekends kana lang mag post. Mag draft ka para easy hehehe.

Ehhhhh, un lang may bahay naman pala kau na malapit dun ee. Bat ayaw mo mag board baka may makilala ka jang nagtatagong lalaki na malalaman mong mayaman pala tapos nagka gusto sayo at balak kang dalhin sa Paris para ipakilala sa kaniyang Parents 🤩🤩🤩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck to this new opened door of opportunity.. Good thing you grab it though you have to sacrifice because experience matters most lalo na pag wla taung kapit. Substitute is the first step kya patience lng..

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thank you! And that's true po, ang hirap talaga kapag walang kapit, I have to wait for this opportunity for almost 2 years. And ayoko din kasing lumapit sa mga may position na as a backer kasi baka isumbat lang nila sa akin yun one day.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

True... konting pagkukulang mo lng is isusumbat na nila kya better work your way towards a goal..

$ 0.00
3 years ago