Book Review: A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

7 45
Avatar for keeneek
2 years ago

Trigger Warning: Murder, Rape, Drugs, Animal Abuse


Overview


A Good Girl's Guide To Murder is about the 17-year-old straight-A student from Connecticut High School, Pippa Fitz-Amobi, who decided to investigate a murder that happened five years ago for her senior capstone project. The murder case is about a pretty and popular girl from the same school named Andie Bell who was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh. Sal killed himself leaving a suicide note that he killed Andie and with the overwhelming guilt, he deserved to die, too.

Pip had known Sal since she was a kid and been consistently kind to her. That alone heightened Pip's curiosity in investigating this closed case. But the people living in their small town believed what had been investigated. Everyone believed Sal killed Andie. However, she was in doubt with the original investigation that there has been more than what the authority and media had investigated and published. Andie's body was never recovered, and the only evidence that the police had was Sal's confession sent before he committed suicide.

Is it really Sal who killed Andie?
Could the kind Sal she knew when she was a little do that horrendous act?
Did Sal really kill himself? Or was he framed?

Too many questions have been bombarding Pip's mind. She had been warned that it is  a very sensitive topic and could lead to widening more of a not-yet-healed wound. Pip and her teacher had an agreement, and from that moment, Pip knew she only gave her the answer that she wanted to hear.

From a simple investigation with the intent to pass her capstone project and prove Sal's innocence, it became an obsession. She started with Sal's younger brother and eventually, teamed up with him to solve the murder case. She immersed herself in Andie Bell's life and gradually discovered a trail of dark secrets.


Thoughts


I had mixed emotions because of this book — anger, shock, second-hand embarrassment, sadness, and I even shed tears. I like how the romantic relationship was unhighlighted nor rushed. Yes, a bit of a spoiler, right? But I do have one issue in this book, not going to disclose it thoroughly, although if you have checked the trigger warning, you would probably guess it right.

Anyway, later on in the story, I was deeply annoyed by Pip on how impulsive she becomes. Her obsession was slowly devouring her that her brave detective stunt, later on, had a touch of stupidity. My heart was racing in every decision she makes. In this book, Pip's character development was not that great in my opinion. She's like a cosine wave that has a positive and negative peak. But one thing that I admire is that Pip is an overachiever and strong-willed teenager. Once she sets sight on something, she makes sure she will achieve it no matter what happens.

Moreover, every after a chapter, the book has the production log and transcript of the interview conducted by Pip. Sorting the three makes the flow of the book a pleasant one. It becomes more distinguishable and easy to understand, and reading it feels like I'm reading through the logbook of Pippa. The lengthy list of a person of interest had me predicting numerous times. It is well-constructed with plot twists.


On a Final Note

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder is a debut novel by Holly Jackson, and I highly recommend this if you love crime and mystery. I'm a lover of such genres, and this book is my 2020 boredom savior. Pippa's detective stunt stimulates my Detective Conan heart.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



K N E E L Y R A C

3
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.01 from @deedum
$ 0.01 from @crimsonowl
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
2 years ago

Comments

I love reading so look what i found .There are many helpful resources available to authors and students who want to improve their writing abilities. Common blunders may be seen and corrected with the help of several of these instruments. A few of these resources are even free to use.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

waaaah.. basta mga in ani na topics maka paspas sa heart rate jd..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heeey! You’re here too! 😬 I was about to ask you if you were kneelyrac on noise.cash but you put it below alreadyyyy. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hayiee! I changed my uname here on Read. I actually didn't realize I wrote kneelyrac. I was supposed to write keeneek. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂😂 I’m sad too I can’t change my username, my friends call me dee thooooo, I just fell in love with the name Stella when I read 5 feet apart 😂

Now... I can’t change it 🤷🏻‍♀️😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love crimes and mystery, too!! And I'm starting to get curious with this book. From your insights, that you are frustrated in Pip's compulsiveness, I guess makes her a well-written character. Compulsiveness is a teenager's trait, good or bad.

In line with crime and mystery. I recommend in your, probably, long list of books to read is "The Tokyo Zodiac Murders by Soji Shimada". I have only read the translated version and it had me pumped up every chapter. It's a serial murder mystery novel and kind of follows a zodiac pattern when killing their victims.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! The common denominator in every YA books. It'll be hard for me to find this book in NBS or Fully Booked, so I will read the epub copy of this. Hihi, thank you for this recommendation! The zodiac pattern intrigues me. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago