10 months working in the office, 10+ years working online while traveling

5 35
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago

Sometimes I looked back at my first few jobs thinking how much I actually earned. Actually, with my previous jobs, it would hard for me to save money. Earning 200 pesos per day won't make you rich. To be honest, I am not updated how much is the minimum daily wage of a Filipino in year 2022.

And the money I earned won't even help a family. How can you save and help your family at the same time for less than 300 pesos daily wage? How much would you earn a month? Before, I experienced getting a monthly salary for 6000 pesos for a daily shift. And it was 9000 pesos for a night shift.

My mother never insisted to ask money from me because she knew I wanted to save. It was the money I can only use for my daily expenses just to go to work.

I remember I have to borrow money from my mother which I learned she also borrowed it from her cousin or her sister.

We are not rich and my parents were jobless. That's why I've been living a minimalist since then. I don't spend my money for useless things because my monthly salary before can't even help a struggling family.

That's why before, I had to work hard and save money just to buy a phone. Traveling was not even in my idea because for me, traveling is for the rich people.

For 10 months, I was working in an office at IT Park in Cebu doing some data entry tasks. The salary was not enough and that was the longest time of 10 months I worked in a company. I never lasted for a year or more.

I don't know why I never thought of working abroad when in fact, I could earn more than working in the Philippines. But I was too ambitious that someday, I can travel within the Philippines while working in the same country. Or travel in another country with a small salary.

When my health was affected, that's when I switched to working online. Fortunately, a friend recommended me to do a little job for her. I created a profile, she hired me, I did the job for her, then she gave me a 5-star feedback. That's when I also started a USD 1.00 for an hourly rate. You cannot have a dollar rate when you work in a local company in the Philippines.

From a dollar, I was able to increase twice or thrice. So I was starting living a little comfortable life that I was able to grow some savings faster than the previous job for 10 months.

Then, I read several articles about investments, growing your money and other things to be financially independent. I was able to help my mother paying some bills and helped our little sari-sari store.

After that, I started saving up to fund my travels. I am so happy that I've been to a few Asian countries already. I am so lucky that I was able to discover countries on my own, traveling solo.

I never looked back working in an office in the Philippines.

2
$ 2.02
$ 1.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago

Comments

Ay wow sis ,congrats sa mga narating mo ngayon👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe ngayon jobless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hire mo ko secretary mo, sis hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag hire ako dati mga classmates ko lang para pang extra. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

next :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago