Misa de Gallo In The Philippines | "My Goals!"

6 41
Avatar for imanagrcltrst
1 year ago
ARTICLE NO. 160 OF 2022
TITLE: <Misa de Gallo In The Philippines | "My Goals!">
DATE OF PUBLISHING: <DECEMBER 17, 2022>

As an individual, how often do you go to the church to attend mass? Is it once to twice a week, occasionally or rarely?

In this part, I'm about to reveal one fact about me. What is it? It's that ...

" ... I rarely go to church."

There's this instance that I hadn't enter the church or chapel in a month or two. But, does it means that I am a bad person or not so religious? For me, NO!

" ... I know a lot of things about Him, I believe in Him, I praise Him. In every single seconds!"

Whenever I'm talking to Him at home, I can always feel the chills like He was just beside me. When I'm at the church, facing Him at the cross? Tears starts to beam at my eyes, so fast. Realizations and regrets will flow out, self-doubts and worries will fade, hope will increase more.

Just like what Dieter Uchtdorf said:

"We come to church not to hide our problems but to heal them."

With just letting His presence to invade us, everything will heal in an instant. Problems will be solved as solutions tends to overflow.


Philippines holds the title of "only country in the world that celebrates Christmas for the longest duration."

In our country, the celebration starts once BER months has arrived. More so, the countdown will also begin.

Nine days before Christmas, we, Filipinos traditionally attend a novena which is popularly known as "Simbang Gabi" or "Misa de Gallo." It starts by December 16 to 24 by 5:00AM.

Despite of being sleep-deprived on the night of December 15, I still pushed myself to get up by 4:00AM, sharp. Tita (Mama's youngest sibling) picked me up at the house around 4:21AM and at first, we thought that the first mass will happen at the town proper. Then, we realized that we just arrived too early.

At exactly 5:00AM, the mass starts. Imagine, I forcefully prevent myself from crying. I secretly wiped my tears for uncountable times, kunyari napuwing or inaantok.

Around 6:10AM, the mass had ended. Talking to Him is really the greatest way to cope up with all the negativities, that's a fact regardless of our different religions.

Search me in the crowd, guys. I wore white shirt besides the one with yellow blouse.

After the mass, there is a free lugaw (rice porridge) to be given to the attendees. This is under the church's initiation known as "HAPAG - Blessed Ka Na, Busog Ka Pa!" For the past 4-years, it's already a tradition in our community.

And, look! I and Tita were caught in the camera while getting our cups of lugaw. Shocking!

In here, let me share the list of my "SIMBANG GABI 2022 GOALS."

❛❛ Complete the novena - FAILED.

Aside from repenting, this is my ultimate goal which is to complete the 9-days of Misa de Gallo. Last 2021, I failed to achieve it because Lola, my greatest companion, isn't here anymore. Also, I got busy when we moved in into this boarding house.

And again, I failed this 2022 as I didn't attend on the Day 2. Blame it to myself as I forgotten to set an alarm at 4:00AM which made me to wake up around 7:00AM.

❛❛ Give donations [grocery, etcetera] - ONGOING.

For the past 3-years, I am giving a grocery pack to the chapel as a part of their "good deeds." The packs they will collect from those who will donate will be given to the poor families of our community.

Last 2021, I failed this as most of my money was allocated for the house rent and such. This year, I aim to donate these:

  • Grocery pack for the poor families; and

  • Candies and chocolates for the kids.

I want to greatly commit in this goal for LOLA. She don't have the means for generating money but still, she always push herself to give back to the community because that's what she and Lolo do before. And I want it to stay that way, for their memories.

Hopefully, I can have my scholarship allowance next week so I could proceed to purchasing and packing of these gifts from our family to our community.


CLOSING THOUGHTS

Christmas isn't just about what we will present on our tables. It's all about how we make it more special, at all the possible means. May it be giving foods, gifts or money to other people ~ but most of all? For us to repent and do greater things beyond our limitations. And remembering Him and His sacrifices, even more.

MERRY CHRISTMAS, EVERYONE! 🤎


Sources of Photos:


For more chitchats, feel free to reach me out via:

Or communicate with me in my socials:


LOVE LOTSSS!

8
$ 7.86
$ 5.00 from @ewyr
$ 2.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of imanagrcltrst
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for imanagrcltrst
1 year ago

Comments

Naalala ko yung Misa de Gallo sa province namin langga. Kasama ko mga kaibigan ko tas may free lugaw din sila tas may tinapay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun oh, I am not catholic yet I experince the Simbang gabi too hehe. Hoping you could wake up more and somehow complete the days of the mass.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are amazing places.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko din dito samin may pa ganyan din, every mass ng simbang gabi required magdala ng mga can goods or ng mga essential. Okay lang naman basta bukal sa loob. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Someday pag malaki na si bunso pwede na siguro kaming magsimba ng misa de gallo..For now si daughter lang nagsisimba sa misa de gallo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also didn't attend misa de gallo for 2 days, it's my routine every year to accomplish 9 days of simbang gabi but this year I feel like I lose my interest, maybe due to lack of companion but I will try to attend tomorrow dawn even though I didn't complete it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago