OUTANG - Lent Season, Vacation and Debts

6 47
Avatar for buknoytanad
1 year ago
Topics: Lent, Vacation, Debt, Outang, Life, ...

It is holy week again this coming week and i believe it is a very long weekend. I just remember before that most Filipinos celebrate this with the most religous manner. We give time for this to reflect on ourselves and take rest. But, now this has been a time to take it to a leisure time. Next week here in the Philippines will be jammed with traffic especially that this coming Monday and the next monday after the holy week will be a holiday, most will be out in the beaches and resort, or just on the provinces or outside the country. As for me this will be a time to rest, catch up on deadlines and have time for myself and take care of unfinished errands.

Now in social media, you see a lot of people out on vacations and enjoying themselves. I even see friends and families out in vacation even they have financial debts to me and whenever I see one I just smile and shrugged by shoulders off. It reminds me of the image I saw on Facebook saying OUTANG. A new word being circulated as someone who is out in vacation but has financial debts.

I remember this is just recent I have a friend who borrowed money from me before the pandemic and borrowed again because it is pandemic and because I am a very soft hearted kind person (hahaha) I gave them the money they need. And I saw them on a vacation right after the pandemic was lighter and everyone can go outside again. They did not repay me still until now even they have a decent job and still doing some birthday celebrations and out on the beaches and restaurants.

I do not blame them.. but the difficult part is when they will again ask assistance once more to people because they lack funds for whatever reasons especially when emergency time comes. Another sad part also, is that their previous debts will now be put under the rug and as if they do not owe anyone with money.

Whenever people do not pay me back of what they owe I just tell myself.. its just money we can always get it.. but the trust you gave them will never be regained. That is why if I lend money to someone I just think to myself that I am giving it for wholeheartedly and for free. I they repay me the better if not, well I know I helped someone in need. But it pains overtime you see them enjoying themselves on vacations and not repaying you first. The OUTANG people.

That is also I do not vouch more on social media unless needed. It gives us toxic mentality always. It gives people the sense of what is standard but forgets what is right. Just like this time of lent where most get jealous of people having good time on the beach and pools and travel destinations as if this is a must because it is holy week and it is the only time we can afford it especially this is the only time of the year where we can taste a long vacation and never think of work.

Again I do not blame them for we have all different personalities and goals in life. This is a personal perception. I just wish them well. Again money can be regained or earned but trust will never be back or maybe regained but it will be hard once its gone.

Enjoy the coming lent 0everyone. Hope you spent this time well.

4
$ 0.22
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Reclusexantho
Avatar for buknoytanad
1 year ago
Topics: Lent, Vacation, Debt, Outang, Life, ...

Comments

It becomes a yearly tradition for us "Filipinos" to spend the Holy Week together with our family. Picnic is the most popular thing we do during that season. Some people will use to have a debt just to celebrate their vacation but some choose to make it simple.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So what you think is it good or not?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being practical I won't gonna put myself into debt just to have some vacation. I don't want to become stress after on how I will going to pay the money I borrowed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ow nice.. yan talaga ang mindset pag alam ang value ng pera hihihih

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sakto yung "outang" na word sa mga mahilig mag outing pero hindi nagbabayad ng utang haha. Ok lang naman mag outing as long as hindi nakakalimutan ang obligasyon, paraan daw nila ito para makalimot panandalian sa problema. Ang problema lang, nakalimang outing na sa loob ng isang buwan pero yung utang limang taon na ding hindi nababayaran😁.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kuhang kuha mo po hihihihih... problema lakas pa ng loob ipost sa social media hihihihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago