Us Against The World : 2 A.M. Thoughts

13 39

Warning long post ahead but please keep reading.

Image from Unsplash.com

Many have believed that nothing matters most in love. Especially when you truly loved each other. Nothing, I mean nothing can every hold you back from seeing each other. Well I'm sorry burst your bubble, but there are far many factors that just keeps the word "love" and "relationship" from working out. Even if it has the purest of the pure intentions. And considered to be a genuine kind of love.

And one of the most examples of this is religion, money or status in life, level of intelligence, sickness and few other things. (you can state any more examples not written here via the comment section guys.) But for the sake of the title, let's just focus on religion as a factor of that love to never be able to have a true happy ending. And I'm sure you're familiar with love stories that doesn't have such a happy ending. Such as the most popular love story of Romeo and Juliet. That's been feature in many works of art such as a movie, a song and a play to state a few examples.

Moreover I recently saw this statues on Facebook about two people able to meet but never truly together. If you're not familiar with what I'm stating here. I've taken the virtue of searching it online. And I saw a video on YouTube that also narrates the story behind it.

From the description of the video here, the Statue of Love as it's called is located in the City of Batumi, on the Black Sea coast of Georgia. The video also narrates about the love story of Ali and Nino which was the greatest inspiration of the Georgean artist Tamar Kvesitadze in creating this magnificent master piece.

If you want to know the story behind it also, you can watch the video guys.


Back to the topic, have you ever been familiar with what they call T. O. T. G. A or the one that got away? Well it's what we usually call the love that was shortlived. And the reason why I'm sharing this with you guys is because that love was shortlived due to certain restrictions of religion. To be specific, his religion. To be honest I've not bad intentions for his religion here so I won't name it and I'll leave it to your imaginations guys to discover it out.

There's this guy, I met in school. To be perfectly specific in our formation in the organisation. He was the typical nerdy type because he's part of the star section in our school. And he seems left out by the rest of our mates. He was with his friends for a few days but then the tasks in the organisation may have been too much for them to handle, so they backed out. But he didn't.

So one day, I gathered up the courage to say hi to him. At first he was shy but as was I haha. I just started a conversation and the rest was history. (of course it wasn't that easy haha) We sort of had this friendship, this bond that quickly forged I guess because we had the same outlook on life that time. Or had the same love for anime that we shared that no one was expecting to turn sideways.

Oh and during that time, my relationship with my lesbian partner was on the rocks. (yes po, I went through a phase in my life that I was confused on my gender preference. But I did loved her. We lasted for about 2years.) And no, the guy wasn't the reason of our break up, we'll partly I guess, because he was kinda cute. He had the moreno complexion and I don't know, I felt drawn to him the first time I saw him. But gosh, I stayed true to my relationship with my now ex. But she had some problems with her ex who always visited her. And jealousy was pretty much the reason why we always fight. She was jealous of my best friend (the guy), anyway let's call him Mike. And I was pretty much super jealous of her exes.

Until February came, and I think it was the 22nd day, I hardly remember the date but I clearly remember how it went. As we were on duty that time because we were pretty much the security guards of the school everytime there are events going on. I was having a blast, everything was okay, the duty was going well. And that time we were in a buddy buddy system which mean a 2 man team. And I don't know for unexpected time, he and I were partners on duty. Maybe because they were teasing us with each other we were always together. Anyway, for some reason I fished out my phone to look at my ex's messages. We were fighting that time also.

Then as I read her last message. I couldn't hold back my tears. Which made him puzzled I guess. IT WAS A FREAKING BREAK UP MESSAGE! Yeah, she broke up with me via text. Just like that, like she forgot we were together for 2 years. But he was there. He comforted me so much that night, that I really really appreciated. He even pushed me to eat something, well he kind of spoon fed me. Which was really unusual for anyone to see. Then he started to tell me more about himself, which coincidentally, he also came from a break up.

Image from Unsplash.com

So in short, we were two broken people who got each other's back. From then on, we instantly felt really close. And I mean like really really close. While everyone was pretty much convinced that we were dating. We pretty weren't really a couple.

At first I thought maybe because we both came from a break up. But it wasn't like that at all. It was because of his religion. We came from two different religions, and two different beliefs which pretty much made it almost impossible for us to be together. But we still fought for it. It was a mutual understanding (M.U). And we pretty had to keep it secret. We never official but that kept it going for months.

Image from Unsplash.com

But I guess like every other love story, ours had to come to an end. It was 6 months but it felt like years to us. We were like already planning a future together. We even had names for our future babies. Which was never coming true. Because by August that same year, I don't know the exact date. He met me at our headquarters, there is this chamber with a bed. And we were alone that time. (And no we didn't do it there. We were pretty much young for that stuff anyway.)

At first he was talking nonsense to me, because it pretty didn't register to me what exactly he was saying or what he meant. Until he uttered the words "we wouldn't work out". That completely shattered me inside out. I mean how can you handle that coming from a guy whom you thought was already the greatest love you've got. I cried, he cried. We both cried our hearts out. Especially me, because he wasn't doing for him, he was doing it for us. Because his Church found out about our connection with each other. They demanded to see me or to be one of them, in order for us to be together. How cruel right?

Eventually we never really had a choice. He wasn't ready to give up his religion nor was I. To be completely honest, I was willing to be a part of them, to be able to be with him. Even if my family was completely against it, the moment they knew he was of a different religion. (Because my Mama was also once offered marriage by a guy, in this religion also. But she wasn't willing to convert into their religion.)

And he just wasn't willing to let me convert into his religion. He said he liked me the way I was. And he didn't want his religion to be changing the way I was. (his religion was very strict unlike any other) We had no other choice, if he still continued to fight for our love, his religion would eventually turn him into an outcast.

So we bid our final Farewell then and there.

Yeah, the first weeks were pretty weird for the both of us. But we decided it was for the best. Then after that we hanged out with other people. He sort of like went back to his lonely persona while I got out of my shell and got to know my other mates better. Had some flings if that what they call it. A few guys I know attempted to court but I just wasn't ready after that, I kind of "Kuya" zoned them haha. I pretty much focused all of my efforts in school after that and the organisation.

Eventually that's also where I met my longtime partners for nearly 5 years now. He was kind of saw me already about a year before he got the courage to finally approach. But yeah the rest is history.

Author's Note:

Guys I'm so sorry for that long story telling but I couldn't think of any way to share it. And the reason why I included the Statue of Love here, is because it kinda reminded me of that shortlived romance. And also, maybe the biggest reason why I decided to share this with you guys, was because I wanted to lift this huge weight over my heart that's been there for such a long time now. I had to tell somebody about it. Before I completely erase it from my system. And maybe finally letting go of my what ifs.

And also maybe to make a point that if you ever feel like your love for one another is pure and true, then fight for it. And religion was meant to unite us together, not meant to tear us apart from each other.

But of course, that's just my mind speaking. Feel free to argue your points.

I really thought its was kind of like "Us Against the World". But then again, they turned out to be just words spoken freely.


Sponsors of YourGirlNana
empty
empty
empty

Of course I wanted to thank you guys for your time. Especially these guys up here. Thank you for supporting my works. And thank you for the trust. I hope I didn't let you down.

Guys you can also check out their respective profiles because they produced some really awesome articles too.

DISCLAIMER : THIS STORY IS PART FABRICATED PART TRUE.SO I'LL LEAVE IT TO GUYS TO DISTINGUISH WHICH IS WHICH. AGAIN THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR TIME.

September 28,2021 2am

LEAD IMAGE

7
$ 1.71
$ 1.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Sequoia
+ 3
Sponsors of YourGirlNana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I can somehow relate with this. Me and my boyfriend have a different religion as well. However, we choose to find the common ground in our faith and nurture it. The good thing was that, our religions doesn't force us to marry people with only the same faith with ours

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you guys still together? I'm glad your religion doesn't constrict you to marry one of your fellow members only. Sadly ours didn't turn out that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang yung love story na nabuo niyo. But I am glad that you meet your love of life and you're now together for years💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang nga po talaga. Pero hanggang dun nalang yung storya namin heheh. Opo heheh matagal tagal nadin. Actually siya po pinaka matagal kong nakasama. Going 5 years and still strong po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a "totga" too sis, he is a Muslim. Not that his religion was the main issue it's just that our lives were both complicated. Hayy..Glad that you found your partner right now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe we all have that totga ate. I wanna know that story po ate can you share it next time po? Hehe yeah, nandyan pala sya sa tabi tabi dati. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe sige bah :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey hehe pa tag ako ate. 😁 Para mauna sa notif ko heheh. Mabasa ko agad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lagay ko sa reminder hehe :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naniniwala talga ako ng sa kakahanap mo true love nasa tabi mo lang pala siya hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheh true sis. Nasa tabi tabi lang pala siya dati. Hindi man lang nagpa ramdam noon pa heheh. Pero perfect timing ang pag dating niya sa buhay ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay same sa relationship ko yarn! Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheh diba sis? Swerte natin kasi andyan na sila palagi sa tabi natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago