Zigzag Path to Growth.

0 19

When we examined the redwood tree and bristlecone pines, We explored primarily their protection from fire and disease, Which helped them to achieve longevity.

Let's shift from protection to actual growth.
If prayer and meditation along with reading scriptures and inspiring literature Is my focus at the beginning and ending of each day,
What should be my focus in between?

What does it take for us to realize our potential and continue to grow and lead lives of fulfillment and contribution?
First, Let's take a look at how growth occurs and what may restrain our progress.

Let's go back to the monkey brain for a moment.

Remember the part of the monkey brain says that it is more desirable to feel good than not to feel good.

This mammalian part of our brains(Or monkey brains)
Tells us that we would rather avoid pain and move towards repeating pleasure.

So in the following continuum, Given the choice between the far left side where we don't feel so good or we feel pain, Compared to moving to the extreme right we're we feel good or we feel pleasure, Nearly everyone would likely prefer moving to the far right.

In our zigzag Path to Growth this continuum will be our X-axis.

The Y-axis of this model represents our growth and contribution.

Growth and contribution refers to our personal growth and contributing our unique talents and abilities for the benefit of others. Together they are a big part of our mission.

There is a voice within each of us that says, “I am somebody. I am a person of great worth. I have a unique talents and insights that can contribute and benefit others in significant ways.”

Moving further up the Y-axis represents higher levels of growth and contribution towards our life's unique mission.

Let's put these two together. When we have achieved high growth and contribution, And we also feel great, Then we are achieving our mission—our sense of “Being.”

Figure 1: DESIRED GROWTH PATH

Of course, We all wish that we could feel good all of the time while growing and living a life that is fulfilling for ourselves as we contribute to our loved ones and the rest of humanity—and live happily ever after.

That is the kind of life that is represented in the graph above.

Unfortunately, It doesn't work that way, And our experiences verify it as well.

Figure 2: TYPICAL GROWTH PATH

This figure 2 graph as as simple representation of how our growth more typically occurs.

Think back to when you were Learning how to ride a bike.

I remember going through that experience, And I was terrified. In other words,On the X-axis of how I was feeling, I was on the far left.

As far as my growth on the pedals, Because I kept stretching my legs out, Anticipating and bracing myself for when I would tilt too far to the left or to the right, And perhaps fall.

The more I practiced, However, The better I felt, And I was also growing and improving my bike-riding skills.

In other words, I was moving further to the right as well as further up on this diagonal line.

Once I understood how to ride a bike, I was having fun and feeling good.

It's the same Bike, And I was the same kid, But the change in how I felt was a result of my confidence, Growth, And development.

Think of the same times when you have gone through a similar growth experience whether the context is personal or professional.

KINDLY LIKE THIS ARTICLE IF YOU LIKE IT. THANK YOU FOR READING!

5
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @ErdoganTalk
Sponsors of Sarahmay
empty
empty
empty

Comments