FREEBIES in the Seychelles: Is it for Real?

0 66
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

FREE Hospitalization? How on earth can it be possible in a country to have FREE HEALTHCARE?

edited via canva

When my hubby had an accident a long time back, he bumped himself into a sliding door at home, and blood, like lots of blood came out! We needed to rush him to the hospital so calling an ambulance was the best option rather than driving as it was also almost the wee hours. They brought him to emergency right away and did the necessities! No further questions like paper or identifications whatever because for crying out loud,  it was an EMERGENCY! The doctors were very quick to attend to him as well.

To my surprised, an ambulance was FREE of charge as well. When they came to pick up my husband, I abruptly took my purse and asked how much was the charge and the attending staff simply smiled and said, "no worries mm, all be taken cared of!" jeez I always have this notion that emergency in my country means "money!" per se.

Image Source

So we needed to go by car and as we reached the hospital, I was just there standing to look at how an emergency room looked like because not even in my country that I had been admitted for such an incident as I dreaded even going there! Had it not only due to my job application because it was a NECESSITY to secure medical certificates as employer's requirement, but I also would never visit hospitals. The idea of going to the hospital was never my cup of tea hence I see to it I am ​physically fit and would prefer to do homemade remedies as much as possible whenever I'm sick! not unless if it's between a life and death scenario that I have to urge myself somehow. 


Want to know WHY? 

  • Hospital Bills could Kill!

    Skyrocket fees regardless if it's a government hospital was hilariously insane. I shared my sentiment publicly via FB regarding the PCR accompanied with Rapid test due to this ongoing scamdemic and before admission, a swab test was required and opted to do it in a private hospital for immediate accommodation yet turned out I was so rightfully wrong. Funny but emergency in my country means delayed if not scheduled as per Elizabeth's definition.

edited via inCollage

Seychellois are very lucky in terms of this aspect because their government provides the necessities even sending their sick people for treatment overseas, especially the senior citizens' wherein expenses were fully paid! My late mom-in-law passed away with bone cancer a the age of 76 yet she managed to survive for 30 long years due to the medication, closed monitoring at the hospital here in Victoria. 

FREE of all charges with FREE Pills as well. ZERO cost at all. Only when she was advised to have an overseas treatment that we paid for her bed and breakfast at the hotel where she stayed otherwise the medication bills were shouldered by the government. Much to my amazement, airfare was also free including a nanny or a family member.

FREEBIES were enjoyed by the locals in this country such as the following;

  • FREE DIALYSIS- my late father-in-law twice in week dialysis at the main hospital and since he's also a pensioner, the government paid for his procedure. We just need to fetch him from the centre as he's not comfortable with the ambulance to come and bring him home. 

  • FREE MEAL upon admission until you will be discharged.

  • FREE OVERSEAS TREATMENT- (especially for cancer patients)

  • FREE BUS FARE- as per senior citizens and all they need to do was to swipe the card and they got their free ride throughout the island. Auntie Monica whenever she wanted a bus ride simply waited at a nearby bus stop from her place so she could enjoy the ride whenever she felt like chilling with the bus and not with the car.

Likewise, during my pregnancy, I also enjoyed the following freebies.

  1. FREE PRENATAL CHECK-UP - doctor's fee is out of context and we don't pay as well.

  1. Free Medicine/pills/vitamins needed for my intake as per babies growth in my tummy.

  2. Free Ultrasound- we did thrice if I remembered, until I had given birth and we didn't pay a single cent at all! I was almost on an emergency caesarian as there was a bit of complication but thank God my baby came out healthy and safe.

Although both of us were rushed to immediate monitoring and I had to be on a drip as an I lost plenty of blood and I passed out. I've seen Sage the next day hence our skin-to-skin contact was very quick.

  • What about FREE Condom?

Much to my surprise CONDOMs are FREE ! available at all health centres and hospitals as they just put it outside the counter. Should you wish to take as many as you like, you can do so, while in Doha, buying it must be done with discretion and only if you were married! Or else you would end up in jail.

Adding up, there is also what they call those families who belong to the "UNFORTUNATE" class, so the government also ensure that they were provided with basic needs, hence at the end of the month, they will just present their STC Card and they were given the following.

edited via inCOllage
  1. FREE FOOD ALLOWANCE- more or less worth 2,500scr! 

  2. FREE EDUCATION in the state school and this included FREE classwork, FREE LUNCH ( for those who are "unfortunate"), and FREE UNIFORMS. Should you maximized your classwork and used all of its pages, simply you needed to ask for the subject teacher's signature and present it to the Human Resource for replacement. 

Well to wrap these Freebies up, childminding fee for local babies in half meaning instead of paying 1500 monthly, we only paid 750scr as mandated by the government officially started in April of this year. Just recently that they increased it to 300 scr.

edited via inCollage
  • What's the Rationale?

Seychelles is only inhabited with 98,462 with its estimated population and boasts the highest nominal per capita GDP with a mix of French, British, and African influences. One of the comments on my FB post stated that because they are small and they're paying taxes (15% for those with an above salary of 10, 000 SCR and below the range are exempted, at least the tax can be fully utilized with FREEBIES mentioned above.

So would you like to come over and settle in the pristine beauty of Seychelles? Cryptocurrency is at its infancy here but with a living income of below the 15% tax salary range, you can survive here.

courtesy from HIVE
badges earned by the author and property of Uptrennd University edited via Adobe Sparks

Write the story of your life that others would learn from it."-Pat Jules

13
$ 15.02
$ 14.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
Sponsors of PatsKy8135
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

Comments