The strength of a mother

5 34
Avatar for Oyinwrites
2 years ago

Today being the mother's day made me remember what happened some years back. Loosing one member of one's family has always been one of the toughest thing to handle, I bet you will never know the feeling until you loose someone so dear to you. In my case I lost my dad, I could have never imagined loosing my dad even in the next 20 years but fate has its way around life.

Immediately after his death, life lost meaning to me, I saw no reason for being alive anymore, I wished the ground should just open and swallow me up, it was such an horrible experience I could never even pray for my enemies to go through.

My greatest fear back then was how my mum would react to the news cos I've witnessed how my mum loved my dad so much and how they go everywhere together. My mum barely go anywhere without my dad going with her, they were always seen together. I didn't want to lose my mum too cos I've seen and heard some cases where immediately the wife/ mother hears of the death of her husband/child, she suddenly collapses and dies too (though it is mostly seen in Nollywood movies 😂).

So because of this I didn't want her to hear about the news of her husband's death but it was impossible for her not to hear cos she had the doctor's number and the doctor also have her number so she was heard about the news almost immediately after his death.

I was so surprised when I saw my mum acting strong, though before she heard the news, she fidgeted a little but on hearing the news, she just sat and started crying asking God why it should happen to her. It went like that for a week but the following the week, she braced up, summoned courage, called us "her kids" together and encouraged us to move on with our lives and never let our fathers death to pull us down or stop us from achieving our dreams, "what a strong woman".

She also admonished us not to act bitter or too sad during our father's burial that was to come up in some weeks time which we couldn't obliged because it was just too sad seeing our dad been buried and also that we would not be seeing our dad again after that day 😢.

Even my mum could not control her tears that day as she was pouring out tears like rain. I felt lots of pity for her cos since I've been born, I've never seen her cry that much, it was so touching but she managed to stop crying after a while and she also encouraged us and vice versa. There were times she will cry little after the burial (I guess she was feeling lonely) but she will quickly wipe her face after seeing us cos she would not like herself to be seen a state of pity.

She likes to act strong alot even in her darkest time. She would always say that she does not want to give herself high blood pressure because too much thinking causes high blood pressure so she tries to do some stuffs that would make her happy and would not cause her to think too much.

She also would say that she knows that she's the only one we have and would not want to do anything that will cut her life short cos she does not want us to become orphans that if not for us, she would have just prayed that God should take her life but she has us and she will do anything just to make sure we achieve our aim in life.

I can boldly say she stood by her words, she could go any length just to satisfy us, she never let us down, we never lacked anything in school before and even after my dad's death, she always makes sure that she provides anything we need for us. I'm so glad to have you in my life mum, you've been so amazing and I promise to take good care of you mum. I love you mum❤️.

Happy mother's day mum

***********

Part two of this story to be continued tomorrow

Subscribe to see more amazing write ups.

4
$ 0.95
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Oyinwrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oyinwrites
2 years ago

Comments

Well written. Mothers are priceless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Becoming a mother is every woman's dream. Being a mother does not have to give birth first, being a mother can be anywhere and anytime. I also become a mother to my students at school

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes.. we can become a mother to anyone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. I agree 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago