Calamansi Fresh From Our Backyard!

3 35
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Yesterday, while my husband, baby and I were in the backyard, we noticed our Philippine Lime tree showing a lot of fruits ready to be harvested! Right there and then we craved Calamansi Juice.

Calamansi is a local term for Philippine Lime and it's our favorite juice because aside from it being tasty especially when cold, it is also packed with nutrients and vitamins! It can surely help with colds and coughs, it boosts the immune system!

And so, the husband took our metal ladder and set t up under the tree. This tree was planted by my late grandfather and we are really grateful because today, it is still bearing fruit. It was affected by the typhoon Odette though so a part of its branches was cut off and some were already bent but still, the fruits are many!

My baby and I were just at the first step of this area. Before, this spot was muddy especially when the rainy season comes but my father made construction here so that it won't be that bad when it's rainy. This was a really good idea because it keeps away some of the native chickens from coming into our house.

But Matti is really fond of the chickens that he would always ask us to open the back door so he can watch the chickens especially when my father or his grandpa is feeding the chickens.

A scissor was used to make it easier for him to pick the calamansi. It's better that way than to twirl every single fruit. It took him a few minutes to clear the ripe ones at the bottom of the tree then he proceed with those at the top. It was challenging to reach those far-off fruits but it was okay, he managed to get most of them out.

There were still a lot but we decided to just get those that are ripe. We will reserve the green ones for future consumption. What we were craving at this point was a calamansi cucumber drink! My husband already told me to make one after he's done harvesting!

Tadaa! That's the harvest! It's a lot already! I went to the kitchen, washed them up, cut around 40 pieces, and some of them right straight to the blender while the rest were squeezed for the juice.

I also got one piece of cucumber and cut it and placed them into the blender. The squeezed juice went there as well and I started blending them up! It didn't take long before I was satisfied with the texture. I strained the liquid so that the pulps will not be included in the drink.

After that, I added some scoops of sugar and water too! I got some icecubes and poured some juice into a glass so that the husband can try it!

I forgot to take photos of the process due to excitement but that's okay, I will take photos and videos the next time I make one. I delivered the juice to the husband who was working at his office.

Of course he was happy seeing me with a glass of calamansi cucumber juice! He was smiling while taking it from my hand! That evening, the entire family also enjoyed the rest of the juice that I made.

Have you tried making this all natural juice? It's really good and refreshing plus its packed with so many vitamins!

Thanks for reading this article, here's my previous write-ups:

xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

5
$ 0.72
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Winx1988
$ 0.01 from @MaeAntoinette
+ 2
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Comments

Batabi Lebi, Lemon is very useful for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kadaghan sa naharvest ninyu dai ui. Pero dili nako kaya ang calamansi juice na lunlun lang. Murag angay butangan ug asukar or honey.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang daming calamansi ma'am jean. Maganda din talaga pag may tanim ka na ganyan ma'am nuh kasi harvest ka lang. Na try nadin namin ma'am na ginawa yang juice. 😊❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago