7 Commandments for Commuters this Covid19 Pandemic

8 41
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Today, I got a new patient endorsed under my care for home PT, it was a bit far from home so I commute on a jeepney from the  hospital to the patients home. I was sitted near the driver thus I was able to read some reminders for the riding public, and that includes this 7 Commandments for Commuters this Covid19 pandemic. I wanted to take a picture of it but the paper was a bit torn on the sides, with stains on some part, I can really tell that the reminder has been there for quite some time. I wonder if it serves its purpose?

The 7 Commandments for commuters was initiated by the DOTr (Department of Transportation) and the LTFRB (Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board) on its effort to execute the minimum health standards in the community and help fight the spread of Covid19. So, as I mentioned this contained the minimum safety standards plus few more things that I believe are great reminders and well, common sense.

Photo is mine

1. Wear face mask and face shield.

This has been practiced for quite some time now, surely I can say most of the people are using the mask. Unfortunately, wearing of face shield in public was poorly observed, I can see some people wearing it improperly above the head!

2. Social distancing.

Absolutely, there has been no strict implementation on this matter. The driver can no longer control if more people are riding the jeepney. Facepalm** I was looking at the driver and he enjoyed it.

Photo from Pixabay

3. No eating inside a Public Utility Vehicle.

Well, I haven't seen anyone eating though, this must be something dreadful to do in any PUV especially on this time of pandemic.

4. No talking and phonecalls.

No way! I don't think we can limit ourselves from doing it. Anyway, I can see people talking with each other and attending to phonecalls with face mask on. That's a relief!

5. Enough ventilation

No comment I got more than enough ventilation while riding the jeepney. My hair almost went off with the wind lol!

Photo from Pixabay

6. No ride for symptomatic persons.

Perhaps commuters should be aware of this, if you think you're exposed to anyone with COVID with or without symptoms, stay at home. Better that way. In addition, it is so hard to tell if you got abnormal taste sensation, and etc.

7. Frequent disinfection.

Another thing so hard to maintain for a vehicle with fast moving passengers. As commuter, we should be constantly aware of the surfaces we are touching and disinfect with an alcohol right there and then.

Photo from Pixabay

Aside from law breaking commuters, I also noticed a barker with his face mask down to his chin, seriously annoying! I am glad that I was wearing my uniform when I approached him to wear his mask properly, knowing that I'm a health worker puts me in a position to be serious with this simple and personal safety protocols that would benefit yourself and others.

Going back to the 7 commandments, does it serve its purpose? Considering the increase in the number of people infected, where does these guidelines take us? Why are we going backward?

I really hope that we could personally tame ourselves to be vigilant for our health, because if we constantly break blatantly especially the wearing of face mask and social distancing then we are not helping our society and our country to put an end against COVID19.

"Personal accountability requires mindfulness, acceptance, honesty, and courage.". - Shelby Martin

Photo from Pixabay

Stay safe!

_____________

Photos from Pixabay (free to use, no attribution needed)

Photo below is Mine

_____________

Write your world and earn! Scroll up and SIGN UP for FREE!

#7CommandmentsForCommuters #Covid19

4
$ 12.26
$ 12.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
+ 2
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Pero minsan talaga di maiwanasang di masunof ang mga ito lalonm na sa skul namin minsan at kailangan naming magtulong tulungan sa trabaho nakakalimutan ang social distancing PERO naka face mask parin anam at ako minsan kapag makati ang ang ilong ko dahil sa face mask lumalayo muna at inaalis ito di rin kasi nakakahinga ng makuwag kalo na at nagbubuhat kame ng mabibigat, May nabasa sin ako avoid MEN na talaga naman dapat sundin ng lahat, Mouth Eyes Nose.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay syempre sa nature ng work namin wala na talaga social distance kaya importante mag mask talaga at avoid touching MEN hahah! Kaloka toh?!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po naka face mask dn kme kaso may iba na di talaga nila kinakaya inaalis o binababa, haha natawa dn ako sa avoid touching men.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dto wala social distancing 🤣🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Grabe noh? Kahit saan talaga hirap e maintain yan. Yet so important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, it's frustrating everytime i'll see people that are not following the health and safety protocols. I also wanna face palm everytime i'll see people riding on a public transportation without wearing a face shield. Sometimes, I can also see children riding it. Like how come? They aren't allowed to go out in the first place.

I don't know if the protocols are just poorly implemented or it is the people who are just so hard headed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Both. The jeepney was checked by the police randomly and they did issue ticket for people not wearing face shield, but dont mine about the physical distancing. Sad! 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aww, sad. ewan ko ba sa mga tao bakit hindi ata nag ssink in sakanila yung risk. hays

$ 0.00
2 years ago