SmartBCH: Is Metamask down? (I’m not baiting)

17 62
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: SmartBCH, SEP20, Crypto

“Candyman” token has been rising fast barely three days after its creation with a pre-sale price of 1000 Candies/ 0.0005BCH and rising fast. News of its surge has been all over the place thus raising everyone’s interest in this “barely-three-day-old” currency. I do not intend to write about the sudden “hall of fame” of the Candyman token but will like to do a quick review of the “downfall of Metamask” as observed during an attempt to swap some tokens for some Candies.

While scrolling through the feeds on noise.cash about few minutes past 5pm (WAT), I came across username Zeshan3333’s post where he mentioned buying some Candyman tokens at a price of 1000 Candies/ 0.003 BCH and noticed a X2 increment in about 3 hours. This got my attention and decided to swap some of my other sep20 tokens for some Candies so I wouldn’t be left out in this amazing opportunity.

Zeshan333's post on Candyman tokens

Decided to scan through marketcap.cash to monitor Candyman token’s price before swapping some of my tokens when I also came across SHIBA BCH; a new sep20 token listed on the platform with a price of $0.000000000 but rising fast with a liquidity of $1,155, market cap of $4,017 and a 24hour rise of 220.1%.

SHIBA BCH and Candyman price Source:marketcap.cash

This looks like good news and caught my attention even more. I concluded I was gonna be swapping some of my tokens to Candyman and some to SHIBA BCH when the unexpected happened- Metamask went down.

“It should be noted that Candyman slp and Candyman sep20 tokens are two separate things; while the slp token was created on the 11th of November 2020, the sep20 token was created on the 11th of September 2021”.

Metamask is unable to display balance

In an attempt to swap some of my sep20 tokens to Candyman and perhaps some SHIBA BCH tokens, I observed that none of my balances were available except my BCH balance of $6. The rest were all on the “unable to display balance” prompt for over two hours as shown in below screenshot.

Unable to load balance

In an attempt to by-pass the “unable to display balance” prompt, I went to the Metamask browser while Ignoring this prompt and attempted to swap my tokens anyway; this didn’t seem like a solution as the balances refused to load as well. “Has Metamask been hacked?” thoughts crossing my mind.

Balance not displayed as well

I restarted Metamask after about two hours of observation and was shocked by my new discovery; my Metamask balance went back to the initial state of about five days ago; where I had only 151100 $CATS, 1760000 $KITTENS and 20 PHA, instead of a balance of $151100 $CATS, $1864731.53 $KITTEN, 7020 PHA and 2000000 ARG as shown below.

Initial Balance five days ago
Original balance as should be displayed

My cousin also stated similar observation which brought about the conclusion that it may be a general issue. Thus, begging the question “Is Metamask down?” I sincerely hope not.

Metamask maintenance or not!

At the time of writing this; 9pm on Tuesday (WAT), my Metamask wallet isn’t back to its original question which is a real bother. I sincerely hope the downtime is only temporary, and as a result of a routine checkup or perhaps a maintenance procedure. At this point I’m with the hope that I am not the only Metamask user with this weird observation, or it would mean I have been hacked and there would be no redemption.

For the newbies; marketcap.cash is a similar platform to coinmarketcap.com but for sep20 tokens.

Metamask to the moon!

Sep20 to the moon!

SmartBCH to the moon!

11
$ 5.32
$ 5.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: SmartBCH, SEP20, Crypto

Comments

Metamask doesn't have maintenance problems. When it updates it doesn't take a second and you never lose a trade or tokens, unless someone got control of your private keys. The transactions and the tokens you hold should be there, unless perhaps you messed with some option. Did you possibly change the network, or created another wallet address, sometimes the solution is easy with applications we are now learning to use. I hope you face no problems after this time passed and everything is back to normal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It came back to the normal state after about 4 hours. And I didn't mess with anything. It was stated in the post that I opened it and suddenly met it that way. This lasted for about 5 hours, others in my region also experienced the same issue.

It came back to normal 5 hours later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting. And this on mobile right? did you try to test it on a desktop to see if you got differences? I've read that some guys had problems syncing the mobile wallet with desktop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm useless when it comes to helping you on this as I don't even have any app mentioned here other than Noise lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My dear black doll 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol sorry about that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not maintenance.. Nodes overload because of smartBCH new tokens 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't notice Metamask issue because I was asleep,lol! I hope it is okay at your end now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's better now. Though had a little bug one hour after it came back. But it's good now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to know :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanna learn this kristoff. Hehe actually until I'm confuse about it. I think I need to do a research more about swapping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should so more research, I can also pur you through. I still couldn't find you in telegram 😭😭 will you search for me instead? My username: @KristofferQuincy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes kristoff I will do more research I want to learn also. Okay kristoff I will try...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think it is down because mine has been going since morning. I even checked now after reading your article to be sure but I bought the Candyman token just now without any hassles

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It came back just now, few minutes after hitting the publish button. The problem began around 5 pm and lasted for about 4 to 5 hours. I also swapped my PHA to SHIBA BCH just now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just hope that token is worth it. Though I bought just $3 worth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bought $6 worth. Swapped 7020 PHA for SHIBA. For me that's the smartest move ever. I hope I'm not wrong...🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago