Know what you want and pursue it!

4 38
Avatar for Jonjonjon
2 years ago

Are you pursuing what you want or what's close to your heart?

Some of us are walking on a journey we are forced to walk through because, at some point, it's an alternative to what we want cause we can't.

I woke up at 3 am and I don't feel sleepy anymore no matter how hard I try to fall asleep, so I decided to play random solemn music to set the mood, and started writing this.

The surroundings are still dark, you'll hear crickets, dogs barking, and roosters making noise waking up the people in the neighborhood.

At times like these, I usually think about random things, but today what's running on my mind were the wants of people and if they are pursuing them, or if they are following what their heart's desire.

We all know that not all wants are being granted and being pursued. Why? Because we can't afford it.

Poverty is one of the most reasons why wants and dreams are not being pursued because it is not practical at all. Instead of doing what we want, following our heart's desire, and walking on the road of our dreams, we are forced to take another route because it takes less and it requires less.

I will use myself to give an example of wants and dreams that are not pursued.

If you have read my previous article entitled "A dream ruined by pride?", which turned out to be ruined not because of pride but because of something else. You can check out it to know more about me.

I have mentioned there that my dream was to become an architect and an interior designer, and yes, that's really my wants. I want to pursue such a dream because I know if I do so, I will excel because I'm doing what I want, what I love, and what's my heart desires.

But it wasn't pursued. I was left with no choice but to pursue something far from that wants of mine, from that dream of mine, I pursue a different course, which requires lesser and takes less.

Instead of Architecture or Interior Designing, I took Information Technology which is way, way far from my interests, but it doesn't mean that just because it is not close to our heart we will take it for granted. I still tried to learn to love it and excel at it.

Aside from my personal experience, there are also other manifestations where wants are not pursued, like a teacher who is supposed to nurture the young ones end up taking care of old ones overseas. An engineer ends up a welder abroad. They are forced to walk through another route because in their chosen paths there's lacking and insufficiency which isn't enough to pursue their dreams.

But if you are fortunate enough to pursue what you want, to follow what your hearts desire, then do it with the best you can. Because a lot out there are not fortunate enough to pursue what they want and dreams.

So Know what you want, and pursue it.

Conclusion

Either you're someone who has the opportunity to pursue his or her wants and dreams or someone who doesn't always remember to make the best out of everything. Pour all the efforts and hard work needed in pursuing them and never, ever take things for granted.

From Unsplash

5
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
Sponsors of Jonjonjon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jonjonjon
2 years ago

Comments

Sometimes, we aren't clear yet about what we really want to do or be, so we take one path and eventually discover what we're really good at and what fuels our passion. Other times, like yourself, we are pushed towards something way different from our interest and desires and make good, too, until we eventually go back to our dream. Whatever our circumstance, it is being open to possibilities because these may be the portals that will lead us to achieving our dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right! God bless you, I love this comment of yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you really want it, you can still pursue your dreams. As the old saying goes, if there's a will, there's a way... Good morning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, i believe there's still chance to achieve that certain dream of mine. Thanks JLoberiza. Good morning as well. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago