The Metaverse: a dangerous fictional universe

1 41
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Ever since Facebook changed its name to Meta and announced a multi-million dollar investment to develop the metaverse. It has been a relative period of euphoria that has gradually faded.

However, the fact that the metaverse does not occupy the big headlines does not mean that this is a modal project among thousands in the technology field.

Likewise, those who live in the video game world will say that projects like The SandBox or Descentraland are harmless per se. Those who can pervert it are the usual ones.

Here's the problem: who are the usual people?

It is well known that human inventions have a double face: one to do good or one to do evil: The Metaverse is also one of these.

Many say, for now, there is nothing to worry about. It is still an infant technology that will not have a massive adoption because of its expensive accessories to simulate reality.

But who knows for sure how advanced we are?

In fact, millions of people of different ages are already living an alternative reality that disputes the naturalness of their immediate environment.

So, no need for special virtual reality glasses and headsets, no need for pressurized gloves to fool the senses.

Of course, I have no doubt that, sooner rather than later, Metaverso's architects will solve the problem that prevents total immersion.

In the meantime, advances in augmented reality will pave the way to the final leg of the Metaverse slide.

Perhaps, I am wrong and should put my prejudices aside and give it a vote of confidence and row toward the land of tomorrow.

But, from experience, I know how addictive it is to get caught up in a simulation and the consequences of isolating yourself from those who love you.

Don't think I'm anti-technology. On the contrary, I'm a fan that borders on a geek.

Even my family sees me as avant-garde, full of gadgets, and trying to automate the routine, even though I'm almost sixty years old.

Of course, now I am more selective and meditative in the use I should give to technological tools.

I don't want to be a modern zombie with an implant to open doors, turn off lights or see people's reputations floating above their heads.

Some might think that would look cool. But stop to ponder the danger of exponential invasion to your mind. Are you willing to really take these risks?

You'll say to me, "Dude, only see the danger! Don't you see the good?

You're partly right!

You've heard: think wrong, and you'll be right.

I only follow the sapience of the sands of time: History is not wrong to give us an example of the use given to technology.

Of course, I also know the immense potential and utility for extending the boundaries of human experience.

Who wouldn't want to go to places beyond their physical reach? For example, Titan, one of Jupiter's moons. Or to the depths of the Mariana Trench. Or travel to a time in the distant past.

Yes, I'm getting into the Enterprise's Holodeck. Excuse me, I'm one of the Trekkies. Lol

If you didn't understand the last paragraph. I should be worried. It will be clear that I'm starting to lag behind the trends of the world, heading toward cultural obsolescence.

In any case, I invite you to google the subject if you have any doubts about what I am saying.

Life itself will be fiction. It will be impossible to distinguish the natural from the artificial: objects and electronic beings outside the material reality producing effects on you.

Source: Image by Heinz Schmitz on Pixabay 

Final thoughts

As a fiction writer, I might be tempted to exalt the possibilities of taking the genre to another level. Where people become the protagonists of the works of the future.

On the other hand, I am concerned about the undermining of imagination. That which has always accompanied the human being and made this technology possible.

I naively hope I am wrong and that "the Metaverse" will prove beneficial for everyone. Although, being pragmatic: we will have to be careful.

An original article by @Jnavedan

The thumbnail and cover image by Riki32 on Pixabay 

I end by thanking all my colleagues in the community, who add value every day here. As well as all my sponsors for believing in the content I share with you.  

7
$ 9.74
$ 9.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Comments

I am really surprised with the metaverse and all the things that come out on a daily basis, sometimes it goes too fast for my pace and I miss reading so many things.

As I told you on another social network, the metaverse is a double-edged sword, because it depends on us humans, and we have a tendency to be morbid, to do evil, and as long as that happens, we will be in a bad way as a society without a metaverse or with a metaverse.

$ 0.00
1 year ago