The extension of ASUU strike again?

0 25
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

Hello my awesome friends, how have you all been? Right now I'm so pissed because I don't even understand what is happening in my country anymore, education system is really affected badly and it's drawing back so many things in my life.

The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) has started a warning strike for all university students since the third week of February and up until now, the strike has not been called off. It first started with a one month warning strike which was supposed to end in the third week of March but instead was extended by 8 weeks which was also supposed to end yesterday but didn't, and now the strike has been extended by 12 weeks again. Ha!

But then can we blame ASUU? They are only fighting for their rights. All they wanted was for the government to pay them the various debts they were owed in which the government has refused to pay them and has lingered for so many years.

When exactly are we gonna graduate? sincerely speaking, I'm so tired of this everytime strike, it is really killing the studentship in me. You can imagine the school we are supposed to attend for 4 years is slowly turning into 6, 7, 8 years for people, what's this life? Even the fact that I took so long at home before gaining admission is giving me more headache, a whole 4 years at home and now just when I thought I already gained admission and in 4 years I will be done, all this is happening again!

First it was pandemic in the year 2020 which kept everybody including all the students at home for almost a year (if not more than) and now it's ASUU strike which is already going to 4 months already we have been staying at home with no hope of resuming any time soon because the government isn't responding at all to ASUU and even to the complaint of the masses. It's so frustrating!

Though this isn't the first time universities will be going on ASUU strike, it has always been in existence but this time, it's really affecting me because pandemic has already taken it part on me and I was not planning for a repetition of that anytime soon but now it looks like there nothing I can do about that now.

According to history, ASUU strike first firstly observed in the year 1999 because of the way the lecturers were been treated and also because of the debts they were owed and since then ASUU strike has continued tremendously. From the year 1999 to the year 2022, ASUU strike has happened for 17 times, that's in the space of 23 years which means the strike did not only happen in 5 years. So we can boldly say that every university student has however encountered the strike in a particular time if their life. Hmmm....

Well before I conclude, I'm kind of happy because my very good friend will be getting married to the love of her life next weekend and I'm quite optimistic that everything will go on smoothly that day, I'm so happy for her. Though ASUU strike caused this because she decided to get married since ASUU strike doesn't look like it will be ending soon. Funny right? Yeah I know 😂.

I'm so unhappy right now because I'm not getting any younger. Tell me, how can a student be in one class for 2 good years? Isn't that worth contemplating about? It's so annoying how worse the education system of my country has gotten. I wish I could do something but unfortunately, there's really nothing much I can do than to just be optimistic and be hopeful that things would get better soon.

Lead image source

All rights reserved honey_bch copyright 2022

Thank you for stopping by! Please subscribe if you haven't, see you in my next post.

3
$ 0.31
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @MichaelBCH
$ 0.02 from @Tomi-Ajax
Sponsors of Honey_bch
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

Comments