The Curse of Saint Sebastian

2 34
Avatar for Haydarmohamad
1 year ago

Chapter I

Entering the desolation

After 3 endless days of travel on this cart, we finally arrived at the town of San Sebastian. I must say that as soon as I set foot on its floor I perceived a certain air of gloom. Rodriguez, my partner and assistant, and I felt we were being watched as we walked through the streets of this town, the curious thing was that there were no signs of its inhabitants, they were all in their homes, like prisoners.

We saw an old man outside a house, sitting in a rocking chair, we approached him, but he gave me the impression that he was blind, since he had dark glasses and his gaze was directed very high, almost to the sky. I decided to get closer and ask him for an inn and for someone with a certain position in the town.

- Good afternoon, sir. Excuse me. (I did not get any kind of response from him, try again but with more strength in my voice, in case the old man suffered from hearing problems)

- Good afternoon, sir. Excuse me.

- Don't yell! Do you think I'm deaf?

- Excuse me sir, but I thought you...

- Tell me, what do you want, stranger? -I was a bit confused when I noticed his somewhat rude attitude, but I restrained myself and continued.

- I am Mr. Gomez and my partner Mr. Rodriguez, we are homicide investigators, and they have sent us from the capital to attend to certain deaths that have occurred in this town, which have not been able to be resolved exactly, we have just arrived but we don't know anyone here, we wanted to know if you can help us by giving us information about a hotel or a law official around here to account for our arrival.

- mmmm I see, I see so the capital was finally concerned about this lost town. Tell me Mr. Gomez, do you believe in God?

- Yes, that's right, my family is devout Catholic, but why the question? - (I turned to see Rodriguez who was surprised by the question)

- Well, here you will need a lot of God, Mr. Gomez. Someone summoned the devil, giving him freedom to commit his misdeeds and has taken over this town, but you and his friend will soon find out.

As for what he asks, go down this same street and 4 houses after this you will get to the tavern, talk to Luis the bartender, he will surely give you lodging and can help you with the rest. Oh and another thing, Mr. Gomez, be very lucky, you will need it just as you will need God.

-Thank you very much sir (I replied gratefully but again I did not get your answer)

I made signs to my companion to continue, and find the tavern that the old man mentioned to us.

We arrived just as he had told us, after 4 houses.

Entering was to find an environment as is or even more desolate than the streets of the town. I went to the bar and knocked a couple of times, until finally a little man came out of a door. He had a certain fearful look about him, but he was undoubtedly the bartender. I briefly explained the situation and he took Rodriguez and me to a couple of somewhat small rooms, then I asked him how much he would charge us for the lodging, but his answer caused more doubts about what was really happening there:

-Don't worry, the house and food are exempt from payment for you, everything is so that you can remove the curse that covers us from that day when the miners... (I remain silent for a moment) Excuse me, I have some things to attend to , at dinner time I will let you know so that you can eat.

Then he hastily retired, as if wanting to hide some secret, besides, what was that about the miners? This situation became darker by the moment.

I just hope to resolve it as soon as possible.


Images taken from www.pixabay.com

Thank you for reading


1
$ 0.39
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Mafer8866
Avatar for Haydarmohamad
1 year ago

Comments

Wow, toda una historia de vaqueros del viejo oeste. Nunca había escuchado de ese lugar, aún no sé si es real o inventado por tí, pero está muy cool.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jajaja en realidad es invento de mi parte, pero inspirado en un pueblo que si existe en Aragua, San Sebastian.

$ 0.00
1 year ago