Did it catch your dreams? - 2

11 45
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Ha1 Finally found time to continue this. I got a bit demotivated with a lot of things since my dog got sick. But since he's getting better, my mood is also kind of improving. Next, I hope my artist block passes because I know I need to finish my WIPs

Here's the first part

[WP] Dreamcatchers need to be emptied from time to time, but with serious caution. You accidentally misread the instructions and can’t contain the...things...anymore

[WP] The dreamcatcher you bought seemed to work, and you never had nightmares again. Tonight, as you prepare for bed, you hear one of its strings snap. Then another. And another…

[WP] Dreamcatchers enable people to sleep well by catching all the nightmares. Dreamcatcher disposal is a dangerous job.


When the fourth string snapped right before my eyes, I had to rush over to Charlie’s place. God, I hope his sister would be home. If anyone, I think she’s the only one who could help me with this. 

Hastily, I detached the dreamcatcher from my bedroom window and carried it to the car. I placed it on the dashboard then I sped off. 

As I drove, I honestly couldn’t tell what was more terrifying. Was it the strings snapping one by one, the speeding limit I had to obey, or was it the fact that the strings were slowly turning black. I figured I’d be terrified with the last thought because white strings just turning black was so unnatural. 

Almost a few minutes away from Charlie’s place and the most blood-curdling scream broke the silence in my car.

“Holy f*ck- what was that?!” reflexes came over me and I had to stop the car at the side of the road. Terrifying was an understatement to the screams and wails that came from no other than the dream catcher. Nothing could block the sounds that reverberated in the car. I had no choice, I picked it up, wrapped it around my shirt then I made a run for it. I was in no condition to be driving any more with my messed-up perception. 

15 minutes. It took me 15 minutes to get to Charlie’s house and from the window, I saw his sister doing some weird ritual again but the moment I stepped past their gate, her gaze turned to me, and then she was gone from my sight. 

It didn’t even take long before she threw the door open. She looked at me worriedly 

“Why didn’t you follow the instructions, you idiot” She was yelling while frantically reaching for the bundle of fabric I had in my hands “How long has it been since the strings snapped?”

I couldn’t answer her, I was just in a daze. The moment I walked past their gate, the screams stopped and my head was silenced again

“You’re useless right now-” She didn’t even get to finish her sentence when the black strings suddenly came to life “F*ck, how can your nightmares be this bad” 

I honestly thought it was over but when the same screams came out of the dream catcher, my body couldn’t take it anymore. It was much more intense than when I was in the car. Blood oozed from my ears. My eardrums may have been ruined because of this. I didn’t have the strength to move anymore. All I remember was Charlie rushing out of their house then Sam, his sister, had some sort of weapon ready. After that scene, everything just went black. 

 

Sam’s POV

The moment I saw nick, my stupid brother’s best friend, I honestly thought he just wanted to hang out again but when I felt the protective barrier in the house fluctuate with negative energy, I knew something was up. The moon ritual can wait. I quickly dashed out of the house and what I saw was one of the worst cases I’ve ever seen. I knew Nick was an idiot but to not follow the instructions I left him, how big of an idiot can he even be??? 

Furious was an understatement for what I felt right then. 

“Why didn’t you follow the instructions, you idiot,” I asked him frantically as I reached for the dreamcatcher I gave him. I needed to know how bad the damage was. I looked him up and down and he really looked so out of it. Just what did he witness to look like that? 

“You’re useless right now-” Slowly, I removed the fabric covering from the dreamcatcher but before I could even inspect it, the thing inside it screamed. It was trying to get out! The strings had already morphed with whatever nightmares this idiot was having. “F*ck, how can your nightmares be this bad” 

Of all the people I’ve given dream catchers to, this was by far the worst case. I had to cut this thing down and destroy the dreamcatcher before it can manifest further. 

“Charlie! Get Nick inside! His nightmares are f*cking powerful!” I cried out to my brother the moment he came running to the door

“The f*ck Sam?! Didn’t you tell him how to clean that thing or something?!” As much as he was complaining, he already had his weapon out, so did I “Nick will be fine on the ground, we need to kill this right now”

I gave him a nod then readied the small knives I kept in my boots “My staff is inside, Distract him while I get it” And with that, I lunged forward at the creature that was fast growing with Nick now unconscious. In the minutes that Nick blacked out, that thing already grew as big as a car. It was hideous, dark, and slimy. Like it was there to suck every ounce of positive energy someone could have in their body. No wonder he was so depressed. 

I finally understood where it all came from. But I didn’t have time to know the creature further. I struck it with my blades, allowing me a small entrance which was enough to let me rush into the house “Charlie, now!” 

With my signal, Charlie pulled out his dagger and tried to get in as much damage as he could on the creature. 

 

 

 

 

 

 


8
$ 5.77
$ 5.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
+ 2
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Comments

Great write up you have there dear keep up the good work and more good write up, with your write up you will make the world move.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh a fictional story! Haha. I wonder what happens next... XD

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh dear, I forgot to publish the next part again 🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bitin sis, hehehe.. May kasunod pa ba?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yiss may isang chapter pa but that one still needs a proper conclusion

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder what will happen to Nick, hehehe... Wait ko na lang yun last chapter..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope I can finish it up tomorrow. Hirap maghanap Ng sipag these days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh, ako every 2 days bago makapgpublish ng article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akin pag naalala na lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope your dog Sebastian is doing much better. He is a terrible dream catcher... or nightmare catcher....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think my dog is recovering. I've been giving him the medication he was told to take

It wasn't a bad dream catcher but it was more like the dreams were too powerful

$ 0.00
2 years ago