First time I went exploring: ALMOST kidnapped

6 37
Avatar for Deeepensiverse
2 years ago
  • Lead image by me.

I promise you that this isn't a sad story, don't start to pity me just yet. This is in fact one funny story.

The keyword is ALMOST.

Well, growing up, I never had the opportunity to go to places on my own, my dad or my mom always drove me there. It's not like I didn't like exploring, I lived in this estate and my house was far from my secondary school. My mom drove me to school, I always got back home from school very late hence no time for exploring. Saturdays in my house then were for work, you know how Nigerian parents do, I had to put my cloth in the washing machine, cook, sweep, basically make the whole house sparkling.

By the time we finished, I would have either been too tired to do anything or would be in the mood to watch a Korean drama.

Then Sundays are for church, we get back to cook the usual Sunday rice, then do School's assignment or watch television.

My point is that I had no time to go out on my own.

Fast forward to this fateful year, this was November 2017, I'm not sure of the exact date. I remember vividly that I just finished secondary school that year and I was trying to secure admission to the University for Pharmacy, I think I missed the cut-off by 0.6 points and a professor at the College of Medicine asked me to come to her office to see if she could help.

I went to see her and at the end of the day, the outcome was unsure as I didn't know if it was going to be possible at that time.

When I left there, I was sad and decided to lift my mood by exploring the area, I planned to walk to my house. The college of medicine wasn't so far from my grandma's apartment where I stayed.

The whole plan would have been flawless and well-executed except I didn't know the way, I've passed the area by a vehicle previously but I haven't exactly walked around there before.

The exploration

I told someone about this and he called me "Dora the Explorer" that was a very terrible joke but I think I deserved it.

I started my journey and as I passed, the bike men called out to me, asking where I was going, I ignored them and I walked.

As I walked, I got to a point that I didn't recognize, I wasn't sure If I should keep going straight or turn.

I stopped to ask someone and she told me to keep going. After a while, I asked another person and she looked at me like I had two heads.

The conversation went like this

"Good afternoon ma" I approached her

"Good afternoon oo, wetin you wan buy" she asked me what I wanted to buy.

I told her where I was going and the best route there.

She looked at me and said "you no know say dem dey kidnap people for this area" she asked me if I wasn't aware that people get kidnapped in the area.

I said, "no ma, are you serious?" I was saying these words with so much fear, I still remember how scared I was.

The man beside her said, "she still dey ask say we serious" he meant that I was still asking if they were serious.

Panicking, I asked them what step to take and they said "hurry hurry, take a bike"

I was scared to take a bike around that area, I kept thinking "what if I enter a kidnapper's motorbike?"

I ran back to the place I was supposed to take a motorbike at the speed of light, my speed could have rivaled Barry Allen's own.

The more scary thing was that the motorbike passed the same spot the supposed kidnappers were, you can imagine how I felt at the time.

Conclusion

Now that I think about it, I feel they could have been joking, If I could relive that day, I would have still done the same thing, I don't think I want to confirm if it was a joke or not.

If it had happened to you, do you think that if you relive that moment, you'll want to defy those people and find out if they were joking or not?

The funny thing is I've passed that same area almost every day past one month and I still think about that incident and laugh, I still passed there today.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty
CHECK OUT MY SPONSORS, PLEASE
THEY WRITE THE BEST CONTENT

Thank you for reading.

7
$ 2.92
$ 2.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.02 from @Greatwolfman
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Deeepensiverse
2 years ago

Comments

Be very much watchful next time... you went exploring though, thankGod for the lady that warned you. This was a bitter sweet experience

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ikr, it's just God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You need to be very careful, the people you ask for directions really matter, it's a really dangerous world. Next time don't explore beyond your comfort zone without having a sort of guide or measure to help you return, may I suggest a bottle of pepper spray?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll get one, I don't even explore again, kosi timeπŸ˜‚πŸ˜­

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Look at your back some guys are following you, πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ fear fear Dora the explorer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was scared na πŸ˜­πŸ˜‚πŸ˜©

$ 0.00
2 years ago