Extraordinary animals discovered recently

3 30
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Hello Mes Amis,

As you are all know I am an adept nature lover especially animal part. Recently while I was checking my unread messages from Quora, I found one interesting topic and decided to check it out. Turns out that it was about newly discovered animal species. I was so thrilled that I decided to look it up on Google and some of the animals listed very so extraordinary and fascinating. I know you'd loved them. Without much Ado, let's go to the lists Shall we?

Newly discovered animals species.

World's smallest reptile

You know what a reptile is right? For those of us who don't, they are the class of animals who have dry scaly skins and usually lay soft layered eggs on or in the earth surface. Lizards, snakes, and so on belong to this class of animals. So, researchers recently discovered what is now thought to be the world's most smallest reptile in northern Madagascar. It is a very small chameleon named Brookesia nana, or B. nana for short.

Brookesia nana, or B. nana

Source

One sad thing about this discovering is that the discoverers indicated that this tiny reptile is soon to be placed on the criticaly endangered species 😢 Well this is due to the killing of this animals deliberately or indeliberately by both man and predators. One thing I find exciting is the anatomy of this animal. Maybe I'll write about it some days.

Oh look! It's a cloned animal!

Ever heard of cloning? Yeah I know you have. For the first time in forever, the United States' scientist have successfully cloned a native animal almost extincted. The animal was cloned from the extracted celle of a long dead wild animal's body. I serious hope they keep up with it so as to help save more species going into extinction.

But is there a side effect to this? Let me in the comment section of you know of any.

A black footed ferret

Fascinating! It's an acrobatic dancing spotted skunk of North America

These acrobatics (so called for their feat to perform handstands and walk about to warn predators of a forthcoming noxious gas), they are the cousins of the much familiar stripped skunks of the world. It's cool to see an animal do a handstand and walk om them, but when you are been sprayed, I don't think it's cool anymore, is it?

I can shrink and regrow my brain

We have seen and heard of animals performing regeneration of body parts at a very fast rate, but have you ever heard of an animal that an shrink and regrow it's brain before? Well, let me formally introduce the newly discovered Indian jumping ants that inhabits Indian western coasts. They actually shrink their brain when ever a queen is about to be chosen amongst them. The workers compete and the winner who is able to shrink it's brain to about 25% or less is crowned the queen ( in a metaphoric sense of course).

Now there is a reason for this brain shrinkage, the more the brain shrinking the larger the ovaries become. So the winner will most likely be able to bring more offsprings into the world. After the competition, the participants are able to shrink their ovaries and expand their Brains back to their normal sizes. This is cool isn't it. I like to think of them as the Mr. Elastic of the animal world.

Indian jumping ant

Footnotes

All animals are special and wonderful. It's noteworthy to state that an animal is only new to the world because some group of scientist discovered them but this doesn't mean they don't exist before or that they haven't been seen or named by the locals living in that region. Also, this isn't the entire list of the newly discovered animals, this is just the small ones I can publish here. You can look up the remaining ones on Google.

A big thank you to you all friends for reading this article.

5
$ 2.82
$ 2.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @LeonaReed
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Truly amazed with Brookesia nana like it's super cuteeee! I never imagined there's this very small reptile existinggg.😱

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I too didn't know of this animal, I guess maybe it's because it was newly discovered. Thanks for visiting my channel friend 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

welcomee

$ 0.00
1 year ago