Criticize  Yourself Often

8 25
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

I have been writing for this platform for half a year now and I guess I already earned 4 BCH from read dot cash alone.

I am not a Crypto trader, investor, holder or something so most of my BCH earnings are spent and considered as additional income.

Three months ago I posted about my BCH earnings accumulated only here through rewards and generosity from fellow writers. I earned 2BCH that time. It might be a small amount to some of you who can earn more than that in just a single post. But I am proud of myself for that simple achievement. At least I did not post a copied article. All of the 200 plus articles I posted since March of this year are all original content.

See related post: Unnoticed Achievement - 2 BCH

In the short period of time being here, I have read so many articles of different stories from different people. Some are really good at storytelling and can construct good sentences even if English is not their main language.

Unfortunately, there are some people joining this community with bad intentions. Those are the plagiarists. They took advantage of the platform and even got some of us deceived by their post.

Even though I am earning a favorable amount for my writings posted on read dot cash, I still did not consider myself as a writer. Why? Because I am not an author of a certain book and I am not a certified writer. I can only write according to what I learn from school. I proofread myself and use Google docs to correct my English grammar.

Sometimes when I am reading articles posted on this platform, I can easily Identify errors in the construction of sentences (excluding English people). Errors like simple typo or misspellings, wrong choice of word and or wrong grammar. It’s funny that those things are visible to me but I cannot see them in my own writings. I admit that I have made a lot of errors in my previous posts and it shows only when I am trying to randomly re-read some of my posts. I bet this post will still have errors for sure. 

This platform has an algorithm that does not recognize whether a user is a professional writer or not. I can see some posts that have really a lot of incorrect grammar but have been rewarded well while some good posts with good English have received fewer rewards.

Sometimes I think what if I will just post my writing without proof reading. Just like other users who seem to post articles without knowing that they have errors in their sentences. For the sake of rewards they will post it without editing their words and phrases.

One thing that I wanted to be good at writing or speaking in English is my grammar and some choice of words. These are the errors I always see in my post when I try to read back some of them.

Somehow I wanted to become a real writer even if it means reading a lot.

I have been writing at a young age but not regularly writing and posting like I am doing on this platform. When I find myself alone, I write. It doesn’t have a specific niche, just random thoughts. I write whatever things come rushing in my mind.

When I started writing for read dot cash, I was motivated because of the rewards. Yes I will not lie to you. That’s the main reason why I keep writing. But as days go by, I get used to it. Even when the algorithm changes I did not change my writing habit. It was like a routine. Writing has been part of my daily task.  It was like taking a bath. You need to take a bath daily even if there is a water shortage. 

Every day is a brand new day and another story to tell.

Writing is hard especially if it is not really your passion. But some people write for some reason until it becomes their passion.

It is important that we criticize ourselves before we criticize others. Not only with writing but in general application. It's easy to criticize people but we should learn how to do it properly.

Remember that we cannot do better if we don’t receive criticism. 

Do not be afraid of criticism, criticize yourself often.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Lead image source credits to Darius Bashar

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

7
$ 3.24
$ 3.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
+ 1
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

True, we must correct ourselves first before you start correcting others. I commit a lot of typos when I type. I often place the comma wrongly. And a lot of other mistakes. 80% of the time that I type the word 'cryptocurrency', I would make a mistake. I think my right hand is just faster than my left hand. And sometimes, some words are missing.

Even though I use Grammarly to correct my typos, misspelled words, and grammar, there are times that I still post my article with some mistakes.

I would catch these mistakes only after I read the article a few hours after.

If I wasn't rushing, that's what I do to catch my mistakes. After writing it, I would leave it for a few hours. Do something else. When I read it again, that's the time my brain would catch my mistakes. I think reading it with a fresh mind helps. That's probably the same reason why you catch the mistakes of others when you read it the first time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

exactly the same thing i am experiencing. you know even if i have read my post three times after publishing it doesn't seem to have errors, but when i try to read it after a couple of hours that'ts the only time i realize some words were missing, there were misspellings and some grammatical errors.

i don't know if there is a term for that. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think its because our brain is correcting the error internally or still mixing it up with the correct word inside that's why we don't see the errors right away. I just don't know the term for that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay to criticize yourself , but just don't overdo it, which I actually used to do back then. I also see my own mistakes in writing (spelling, construction, etc.) but sometimes I feel too lazy to correct them LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe, I think you should practice correcting those simple errors in your writings if there is instead of others. 😉😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do naman po, pag may time na magrevise ng mga articles, nirerevise ko po talaga at nicocorrect. Though apam ko marami pa pong naiiwan. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The criticism makes you improve with the capability you have. It's a lesson that we checking ourselves. It is a chance what are the parts we must to improve.

It's for our own sake. A new learnings will get because of what we called criticism. Instead to be in bad mood, just be thankful because it will help to lift up yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true, because we will know if we are still on the right path.

$ 0.00
2 years ago