An Interview With PTV Correspondent: Additional Tax For Online Services In PH

5 44
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

I was waiting for my grade 7 daughter outside their campus to fetch her home when a woman approached me. She introduced herself as a TV reporter and asked me if I am watching Netflix films or if I am used to watching movies.

I wasn’t expecting that it would end up in an interview to feature in today’s news with PTV4 at 6PM news report. I didn’t see it coming.

Honestly, I don’t like to be interviewed by any TV reporter. You know I am not used to talking in front of a camera, especially a newscaster's camera. But the reporter asked permission in a very polite manner so I granted her request. I might have an ”antipatico” attitude but I know when to respect a person.

She said she only had two questions for me to answer with the camera rolling.

The questions were:

1.   What benefit do you get in watching movies?

2.   What can you say about plans to impose additional tax on online services like Netflix, Spotify or Lazada?

Before I agreed to the actual interview, she already asked me to answer those questions off cam so it’s just like I have repeated my answer when the camera starts recording.

My answer to the first question was that watching movies helped me in writing content. It is one of the sources from where I get ideas in posting stories to my blog site. Then my answer to the next question was that I would stop my subscription to Netflix (assuming that I am subscribed) because it’s not that important. I have my ways to watch new films even not subscribed to such movies listing.

It would be hard to budget the income just in case the government would materialize additional tax to those online services. I might as well lessen purchasing products online.

The lady reporter asked, are you a writer? I said no, I’m not, I don’t write to any registered publication. I only write for my personal blog as a side hustle.

Then after they were done, they thanked me and I was pleased. That was the first time I have interviewed for a news report. It was a great experience, you know seeing yourself on live news TV. Good thing I didn’t stutter (laughs). 

What is your opinion about this plan to impose additional 12% tax on online services in PH?

>>https://larszig.com/

2
$ 0.41
$ 0.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.01 from @attentionseeker24
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Pa autograph hehe.

I don't use Lazada and I am registered to the free version of Spotify, which I don't use too. I have access to Netflix but that's through the generosity of a cousin. I can easily let go of these though. Like you I can watch movies online for free :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

sure haha..

yeah there are many ways to access these for free so, it doesn't bother me much even if they will impose additional tax. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anong feeling na nakita mo ang self mo sa TV? Hehe , pero Kung ako rin naman sa sagot, walang problema sa akin kasi, di naman ako gumagamit ng Netflix, at hindi ako bumibili ng any products online. 😅Pero mas mabuti ng hindi na Lang, Kasi makakadagdag pa sa gastos pag nagkataon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

sakto lang nman.. buti hindi ako nabulol.. 😅 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-4DAX46zfA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay napanood ko na, heheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago