Challenge Accepted!

2 31
Avatar for Ayen22
Written by
2 years ago
Blog #7
Date: March 17, 2022 (Thursday)

It has been a very busy three days.

It’s as if we are always running out of time.

Today, I’ve decided to take a break and give time to think about things and prioritize.

So, I want to share with you how we cope with the challenge given to us.

A lifelong challenge that would test our family.

 

You already know from my previous article that I had a son with a bilateral cleft lip and palate. Since that moment, we have researched from different sites and viewed videos in Youtube on how to correct it. Though both of us have stable job, it would not be enough to pay the expenses for the surgery if we consult in a private doctor. Until such time, we have come across Noordhoff Craniofacial Foundation Philippines, Incorporated (NCFPI). One of the nurses in the hospital also told me that one of her relative had the same case and came to the same organization. This organization is one of the guardian angel that God has sent to us.

A brieft background of the organization:

Noordhoff Craniofacial Foundation Philippines, Incorporated has been providing subsidies for the treatment and hospitalization of craniofacial, cleft lip or/and cleft palate patients since 2006. They provide pediatric consultation, pre-operative NAM, surgeries, speech therapy, pediatric and dental dentistry, orthodontic treatment, psychosocial services, and other services. It is founded by Dr. Sam Noordhoff in Taiwan in 1989. (source: https://www.ncfphil.org/about-us/).

So with this, we made a call and inquire regarding their services. Without so much thought, we decided to fly to Manila and went there for the consultation. We have packed a lot of things since my friend, that we had to undergo pre-operative NAM (Naso Alveolar Moulding) for three months before the cheiloplasty (lip surgery). I have filed a personal leave without pay. October 28, 2018, we flew to Manila and stayed at my aunt’s house in Cubao, Q.C. October 29, 2018, we went to the clinic in Our Lady of Peace Hospital in Parañaque City where they have a clinic on Mondays every week. My first-time using Grab application for transportation going there. I was interviewed by the social worker Maam Gina. Good thing, no matter what your social status, they will accept the patient if it is a craniofacial case.

When I arrived there and stayed longer, I realized that I am not the only one in this situation. Different craniofacial cases can be seen especially cleft cases. God really moves in mysterious ways.

I was then lined up for the pre-operative NAM. This time the dentist said they can refer us back to Cebu since they have a volunteer before that has a clinic in Chonghua Mandaue. At first I was said but then I’ve come to realize that we can go home and would not be away from home for three months. That’s why, I automatically called my husband and asked him to cancel my personal leave. Good thing, It was not signed yet.

So, we went back to Cebu and consulted Dr. Larissa Ang-Lim, a pediatric dentist with focus on special needs dentistry. She welcomed us and recommended us to another foundation that still focuses on cleft care with an office here in Cebu. The Mabuhay Deseret Foundation is God-sent also along with NCFPI.

A short background of the foundation:

The foundation a community that works together to care for individuals with disfigurations and other debilitating conditions. These conditions include cleft lip/palate, crossed eyes, and club foot. It is founded by Dr. William Jackson and his wife Audrey in 1988. (source: https://mabuhaydeseretfoundation.org/our-history/)

Every Saturday, we will have our consultations and NAM adjustment at Dr. Lim’s clinic free of charge because of Mabuhay Deseret Foundation (MDF). I can still recall; we will be living home around 4-5 in the morning because we have an 8:00 am appointment at the clinic. For three months also, we must take care of the NAM placed in my son’s mouth. I must take it off in the morning and clean it before going to work. Even though my heart was crushed when my son would cry out loud, especially when I had to clean, take it off, and put it on but I need to do it to have a good outcome. It is like a routine to us.

In January 2019, my son was cleared from the NAM treatment so the dentist told us that we can have the lip surgery (cheiloplasty) either in Cebu or Manila. We opted to have the surgery in Our Lady of Peace Hospital under NCFPI. On January 14, 2019, we came back to Our Lady of Peace Hospital for the laboratories. We were so prepared that we thought we could be admitted that day but unfortunately, we must come back by next week since our laboratory was already 1:00 pm and the result would be next Monday.

Fast forward, to January 21, 2019 (Monday), I was so nervous if there would be any problems. My son’s weight passed (5kilograms minimum requirement) and the X-ray result cleared. I was processing the admission papers then suddenly my PHILHEALTH contributions had problems. There was a delay in the contributions that’s why I cannot be cleared in the system. I made a lot of calls until I spoke to Mam Irish (in-charge in PHILEAHLTH). Luckily, another heaven-sent, she promised that the contributions would be updated by the following day. So, I begged the social worker that we can be admitted. She cleared us and admitted us that day. We are a total of four patients admitted, three lip surgeries, and one palate surgery.  

Up to this moment, I thank God for all the blessings given to us. He is always there for us no matter what. This has changed our perspective in life and has come to appreciate even the tiniest things we have.

I have mentioned the organization’s name because I might be of help to others also who need their help. They do the services for free based on my experience.

 I hope that you continue to follow our family’s journey for my son. See you in my next article and tune in for the continuation of the journey.

 

If you have relatives in Metro Manila with cleft cases, you can click this link to contact them:

https://www.ncfphil.org/contact/

If you have relatives in Manila, Cebu, and Davao with cleft cases, you can click this link to contact them:

https://mabuhaydeseretfoundation.org/contact-us/

Click the link below for Dr. Lim:

http://pediatricdentistrycenter.com.ph/aepd/graduates/dr-larissa-ann-ang-lim

 

Disclaimer:

The background of the two foundations has been taken from their respective website, link below:

https://www.ncfphil.org/contact/

https://mabuhaydeseretfoundation.org/contact-us/

http://pediatricdentistrycenter.com.ph/aepd/graduates/dr-larissa-ann-ang-lim

4
$ 1.01
$ 1.00 from @Princeyahwe
$ 0.01 from @Mafer8866
Avatar for Ayen22
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It must be a difficult situation, I am not a mother but I imagine that everyone wants to see their children far from suffering. You are very brave for the simple fact of seeking to channel

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the comforting comment. It is just amazing and wonderful to think that we may encounter problems and difficulties in life but still along the way we can still see the light. A light that could guide us through the right path. Thanks for appreciating my article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago