Gut instinct

24 40
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

I hate being right... when it comes to my gut feeling about people. Makes me seem judgmental. Which I'm not, I swear.

But for some unexplainable reason, just by looking at someone whom I have never met or been introduced to will set off some alarm in my gut and will give me a strong feeling to dislike them.

I know it sounds almost judgmental. And it's awful.

If it were just one instance then I could probably dismiss what I felt. But it's happened many times over, and each time I was, unfortunately, right.

What's more uncanny is that I often just look at that person from afar and get the unpleasant feeling in my gut, which automatically transmits to my brain which tells me that at some point in time this particular person will be up to no good.

I've tried to kick myself many times when I get this signal because at the back of my mind, I know it's unfair to judge someone before I can even get to know them, or be introduced to them!

But it's been said that we need to trust our gut because more often than not they're right on the money.

Proving me wrong

And because of this, I often appear aloof to people I'm meeting for the first time. The signals plus my natural wariness for strangers does not make for a good first impression.

Do I avoid these people totally? Not really. But I try to limit my interactions with them as much as possible. We can exchange pleasantries or some mundane stuff, when in situations where talking is unavoidable. Just don't expect me to become chatty or for us to suddenly be best pals.

I do try my best to get to know the person by observing them from afar. Sometimes, I get to a point where I'm ready to forget my initial reaction to this individual. But then over time, I'll find out my dislike for them is not unfounded.

As disappointing as it is to learn that person did something terrible or horrible to someone else, therefore validating my first impression of them, I'm always grateful to have kept my guard up.

Never mind if people think me snooty or unfriendly, it's self-preservation.

Guard up

We all want to believe there is good in everyone, even the most evil person. But it's always good to be aware that someone can get you into trouble or do something bad to you so you have to be on guard.

Majority of the time, the wrongdoing is done to someone else, but how am I supposed to know who? So, there's never an opportunity to warn people about this individual because I only have my gut feel to base it on.

Case in point: when I was assigned to cover Congress, there was this reporter, somewhat popular because he's funny, who I was going to be introduced to. I first saw him in the doorway and the gut feel kicked in.

It's hard not to interact in a media room, even on a limited basis so I get to know the guy little by little. He's kind enough, polite enough, a bit brash, but a good journalist.

A few years later when I was about to be transferred to the newsroom, I learned he was involved in corrupt practices, acting on behalf of a congressman.

Like I said the wrongdoing doesn't have to involve me, but it will certainly be committed by that person who I didn't feel good about the first time. Gut instinct right!

Case 2

Then there is my cousin's wife. As friendly as she projected herself to be when I first saw her, something didn't feel right with her. I felt there was something put on about her.

Fast forward to several years later, I get the news from the family grapevine that my cousin was seeking to dissolve their union because she had hooked up with another man!

I feel so sorry for my cousin because he's the one that's been taking care of the kids and they are so attached to him. But he's been locked out of their home and hadn't seen the children for a long time.

Right again the second time...

Is this a curse? This knowing that a total stranger can do harm or wrong to another at some future time?

I pray not to encounter any more people that I'll feel strongly about. Because it's not a good feeling or knowledge to have.

Images: Unsplash

14
$ 20.09
$ 19.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @deedum
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
+ 5
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

Iā€™m not sure why my comment was not posted. Maybe my internet really sucks. Haha.

Gut instinct is sometimes a distraction. At the same time, it is our protective gear. Just that it really interferes with how we approach a person.

Indikasyon iyan ng talino. Hahahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Talino talaga? Kala ko ka-wirduhan lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede pong both! Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do believe that our guts are mostly right than they were not. That is why, we should trust our guts but still save space for some corrections šŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Instinct is a way to preserve or protect ourselves. When what you feel is very strong, it is best to listen to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do trust my gut. The only time I've regretted things is when I didn't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As much as you want to be wrong, it doesn't feel good when you're proved right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True that, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have this instinct and it made me somewhat picky in choosing who to be with. I guess this is a blessing because I never get the chance to be close to people I don't like. That's peace for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the benefit of having that sense. You protect yourself from people that may not be good for you in the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! And what's even more satisfying is when later you found out that your intuition about them is right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not a curse it is a gift. Don't be guilty about it because it's a gift of discernment on people or things. Only few people had such gift. You were blessed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your most welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope all can have that instinct so we can avoid trouble. It's really hard to trust people. Even though how long you have been together, a situation will bring out the worst and best in us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trusting people takes time. Gut feel just serves as a warning. So it really pays to be mindful of people around us, whether they are familiar to us or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Curse or not, I think it's better to know beforehand than not, although I wished that you don't judge or be wrong in your judgment, so that you are more open in the friendship/association rather than have this cloud over your relationship with the other person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm quite friendly once you get to know me. And I can even be friendly with someone I don't particularly like. But I am innately cautious when it comes to forming relationships of any kind, whether I my gut feel tells me something or not. Remember my post about having acquaintances but not a best friend?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sort of like you. No best friends. I do have friends whom I think I'm close with, but if they don't respond/react in a way that I expect a close friend would, I get disappointed and it mars the relationship somewhat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Superpower! I think i would like a slice of your gut feel towards people. Just a slice. It does sound horrific to have a bad feeling about a person and no way to confirm it unless something bad already happened. Hmm šŸ¤”

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly what I feel... but it's not like there's a switch to turn it off when I feel it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

or... just ONCE maybe you can try to break the fate. I mean you know.. you normally pickup the pattern the person treads on - your gut feel . somehow your instinct can fast forward to what this person may do or may be. What if for once, with that knowledge, try to stir things. But of course, pick the ones with lesser damage. Or never mind. I imagine the thought is just too toxic to even try.. arrgh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh... I can never really tell what they're going to do. The "power" doesn't go that far. That's why I try to observe the person to get to know them better and disprove what I felt initially. It's like at the back of my mind, I know they could do something to me or someone else, but I really try not to think about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tough tough tough. hmmm ... .but interesting even. There has to be some way to put that gut feel to use to "stop" them. but how.......

$ 0.00
2 years ago