Axie infinity - Changes and back to 1200

0 40
Avatar for zekecuba
1 year ago

As I mentioned in the previous post, I bought a modest team of axies and started my own adventure, only to find that I won few battles and dropped to a 600 ranking. Both the team and the new context presented several problems and did not work correctly.

If you do not know what Axie Infinity is and want to see my entire journey through it, I invite you to see my other related posts:

1 - Start my adventure with Axie Infinity

2 - Axie Infinity, my first two weeks

3 - Axie Infinity - 3rd week results

4 - Axie Infinity - 4th week results

5 - New team and 40 energy

6 - Own team A hard adventure

Summary of problems

In the general context there are many good teams in very low rankings. This happened due to the fall in the prices of the SLP and axies. Teams that was previously in the 1800 rankings, for example, use to cost approximately $600. Now those same teams cost less than $200. Of course they were pushed further down the rankings and in turn further pushed those below them down.

Also the team I bought is well prepared for the end of the battle, but generally has very little damage against tanks. The result of this was that I spent a lot of work breaking through the enemy's tanks and came to the end of the battle practically lost with no energy and no axies.

But the solution is not to give up, never.

New partial goal

The situation requires a change of strategy, which translates into getting a new team, one that works better.

Until I abandoned the scholarship I was on, I was doing well with the team I had. A team of Plant-Terminator-TriSpikes. This team allowed me to be comfortably above 1,500 MMR and sometimes even touch 1,800 MMR.

It is a team with which I feel comfortable and it is not excessively expensive. Terminators and Trispikes have dropped in price as well and are hovering around $45 each. So for now the objective will be to form this team.

First step

As all the money I had available at that time, I used it to buy those 3 axies that I had, so I made the decision to put the bird up for sale. This bird was the cheapest of all and the one that contributed the least to me at that time. I urgently needed damage against Plant and Dusk tanks.

The most obvious replacement would be a Mech or Beast. Those axies are very strong right now dealing a lot of damage and a lot of crits. With few attacks they destroy a plant easily. However, since I had no more money than I could get from the sale of the bird there is no way I could get a Mech. These are much faster than beasts even with beast cards they are much better. But of course more expensive. So I had to settle for a beast.

There are plenty of good beasts out there, but with about $21 that I got for the bird, there wasn't much to choose from. This was the one I was able to get.

It doesn't have the "Nut Cracker" from the mouth to combine it with the one from the tail (Together they do more damage), but the "Axie Kiss" is not bad at all. It is a strong attack and to top it all off if you hit with him in a low health state, the next attack on that enemy is 100% critical. The “Imp” generates 1 energy if you critically hit in that same combo.

Unfortunately it has that bird card on its back “Raven”. The ideal would have been the "Ronin" but those were out of my budget. But nothing happens, it is a good damage card to the group of Beasts-Mech-Bug and for the fish and birds it also hits them well.

With this change I already began to see results. I was better at the beginning of the battle and won a little more. With this team I played like 5 or 6 days and managed to get up to 900 MMR and kept hovering in that range but never going above 920 MMR. It's ok, I didn't expect to improve too much with just that change either. However, it was a good start.

Second step

For the next step I did go for one of the desired axies, a terminator. The plant that I have in the front (Serious, Leaf Bug, Bidens, Carrot) I am happy with it and it is quite similar to the one I had with the scholarship. So I put the other plant up for sale (Zigzag, Kestrel, Bidens, Hot Butt). This plant is fine, but between her and a terminator, I really prefer the termi.

I spent several days to sell it and had to lower the price little by little, without going down much each time. But trying to stay among the cheapest so someone would buy it. After several days it was sold and I quickly managed to buy the termi.

Terminator

Already with the terminator in the backline things change a lot. The termi in 1 vs 1 is very, very strong against almost any axie. Beasts and Mechs deal more damage, but they have to have 0 cost cards and play smart with energy, otherwise I'll eat them. Between the "Tiny Turtle" and "Snail Shell" stuns they only hit me 2 times out of 4 attacks they do. They have to generate a lot of energy or go 1 vs 1 with a lot of energy to beat me. Or smack me with several critics and disintegrate me, which has happened to me, hehehehe.

The birds also do a lot of damage, but if I get full of life at 1 vs 1 they also have a hard time. Two “Lagging” and a stun in the same turn and that's it. Next turn I go first and he is stunned, that is, fried.

Plants that heal give me more work, those with "Serious", "Rose Bud", "Pumpkin" and "Carrot" become stone and there is no way to get into it. You can't save energy because of the “Serious”, tremendous shield, they generate energy and when they heal it's all over again. They won't kill you, but you won't kill them either, and as they heal, the "BloodMoon" defeats you. Very humiliating.

The fight with another termi depends on many things, it is more complex. Sometimes you lose and sometimes you win.

And the most humiliating loss would be against a “Gravel Ant”, you literally can't do anything because all your cards are melee. If you get to 1 vs 1 with him, that's it, you lost.

Back to 1200

But even with these handicaps the terminator is big and even missing the team backdoor I quickly climbed above 1100 to around 1200. I go up to 1250 then down to 1150 and have stayed there.

At that range I'm already not so bad, because you earn 5 SLP per victory. Earning half would be 50 SLP a day. Much better than the 10 SLP as it was, LOL.

Next step

The next step is a bit more complicated because it would be to change the Beast for a Dusk with (Tiny Turtle, Incisor, Tri Spikes and Thorni). Those two are in different leagues, Backdoor is around $40 if you want it with 46 speed, and this is important.

In other words, there is no choice but to inject more capital, at least $25. But don't worries, I already have the money ready and I don't have to sell the beast for now.

The bad thing is that I had the money ready after the hack happened on the Ronin and now they are under maintenance. So I have the money ready, but I can't get it to my Ronin to buy the Backdoor. I have to wait, there is no other way.

I'll tell you how it goes and when I manage to buy this last axie. Wish me luck, I also wish all of you success and may you win many battles.

In the next post I'll be talking about my team and how I think it will behave with the V3 battles, Axie Origin. This very week opens as I understand and I am very eager to see it. It is practically a different game, many things change.


Subscription

If you found this article interesting you might want to learn more about it and read some more, consider subscribing to my user and community "NFT Games(c7a1)" to find out immediately when something new is published.

Thank you all….

9
$ 4.92
$ 4.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Sebasfut
Sponsors of zekecuba
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zekecuba
1 year ago

Comments