My Niece on Dengue Fever

21 38
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago

On the evening of Wednesday last week my sister texted. She came home from her day's endeavour to find her eldest child lying in the couch. Despite the fact that her husband gave their child paracetamol, the 13 year old girl is still febrile and complained of thigh pains. That prompted her to contact me and asked what could have caused it. I don't know of anything that might be the cause but I asked her if my niece went out with friends. But she said no.

The last time my niece experienced something like that was in May when we went for a picnic to celebrate my nephew's birthday at a riverside. It is where my father's patch of land was located. My niece, however, developed rashes on her leg that swelled up at night and got heavy. It was accompanied with fever that's why they suspected dengue fever. Her parents brought her to the hospital and was admitted. Nevertheless, her symptoms remain and her laboratory tests were all normal.

My sister decided to bring her home after three days when her condition did not get better. The girl got better and well after her mother consulted a local shaman.

However, the girl's condition today was different from the past. She doesn't want to be admitted at the hospital. Hence, her mother brought her to a private clinic in town the very next day when her high fever never subsides.

At the clinic, it was confirmed by a blood test that she is positive of dengue, her platelet count was nonetheless at normal level. She was advised by the physician of rehydration and her proper diet while at home. But her platelet count needs to be reexamined after 24 hours.

The platelet count the following day is still in normal state so they again went home. I texted how was she and my sister answered her daughter's fever is still high.

On Saturday morning, I received a text saying they brought my niece to the hospital last night because the girl suddenly fainted. Her laboratory test at the hospital revealed a startling drop of her platelet count. I asked if they gave her tawatawa and my sister told me that it was papaya leaf extract which my brother in-law was extracting and giving it to her. But then it still didn't work.

Additionally, my niece passed out dark blood from her genital area at the time she fainted. My sister, suspected it to be her menstruational flow. They immediately brought her to the ER and was given immediate treatment.

Later in the morning that day, my nephew who comes next to my niece was also admitted due to high fever their father said. Good thing their was an empty bed at my niece's room that's why my sister requested for them to be together in one room. We were relieved to learn that his laboratory test result came out negative from dengue. His tonsils are also good. So a urinalysis was just performed yesterday. The result will only be told by the doctor the next day during her rounds. (I was wondering why lab results are being delayed in some cases when it should be necessarily addressed to so that treatment will not be delayed. Now, we are awaiting the doctors round so that we will know what's causing my nephew's fever.)

Moreover, the girl's platelet count is being monitored every six hours and it still was decreasing every time it was checked. This worried us all.

Late night of Saturday, my sister texted to ask if we knew someone who has a blood type O. This brought a resounding beat of my heart but I remained calm in responding with my sister's text messages. It was already near midnight when I slept. My brother-in-law, on the other hand went out of the hospital that late to look for papaya leaves. He extracted the juice and made their daughter drink it.

Sunday, yesterday morning I called my sister for an update and she said that the doctor advised them to look for blood donors just in case the need for blood transfusion, donors will be called. It means my niece's platelet count is still going down. This prompted me to call Xzeon when in fact I have texted her on Saturday night. She said she is blood type O but has some sort of anemia.

I left my baby and toddler with Xzeon so that I may be able to look for male papaya flower which they said was a stronger variety to help with low platelet count in dengue fever. I wasn't able to find any. But Xzeon and her kids were able to. Grateful I am because they were there to help me with the kids and in looking for that male papaya flower.

Regarding the girl's mens, she is bleeding. Three fully soaked sanitary napkins in half a day that is.

When her platelet count was again checked during the day my brother-in-law said it started to rise some numbers. I've felt a little relief. My sister, went home to look for male papaya flower also and to see their last child, a second year old girl whom they left with our cousin.

We're praying and hoping that my niece's platelet count will gradually go back to normal. And if possible won't fluctuate so that she will regain her strength and recover the soonest.

_________

In the past months, some have contacted the virus and were admitted to the hospital. In fact dengue fever can be treated at home with adequate hydration and proper diet.

What is dengue fever?

Dengue fever is caused by a mosquito bite carrying the virus aedes aegypti. This type of mosquito is often active during the early morning and late in the afternoon but can be around anytime of the day. It is not contagious but is only transmitted thru the bite of the mosquito carrying the virus.

It is important to make our surroundings clean all the time specially from stagnant water where mosquitoes like to breed. Just weeks ago, a clean up drive was held in our barangay.

During the past months many were admitted to the hospital due to dengue fever. Some were nearly transfused with blood but thankfully, they did not need to as their platelet count slowly went back to normal. However, one really need to as his platelet count dropped so bad. And being the Igorot that we are, many have driven to the hospital as donors.

______

Philippines is a tropical country where mosquitoes like to thrive. Every year, hundreds are being reported to have contacted the virus by the culprit mosquito. And in the past a certain vaccine called Dengvaxia for dengue fever had caused the death of so many instead. Thankfully, it was already banned.

----------

This made me a bit busy with my cellphone yesterday, texting and calling my sister while I was doing some chores that I wasn't able to interact with you, guys. Learning someone being positive of both COVID-19 and dengue fever makes a parent anxious especially that kids can't be kept inside the house at all times. And eventually a niece who got it is so worrisome. She even barely gets out.

Thank you for reading and take care, everyone.

11/15/21

z_graeden

7
$ 10.61
$ 10.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago

Comments

Sis hanap kau ung male na papaya at tawa2x, at apple juice din pala.. pamangkin ko nung nagka dengue khit admitted sa hospital binibigyan namin ng ganyan. Sana ma okay na by God's grace..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She's well and good na sis... Yes un male papaya pinagkaisahan namin hanapin nila Xzeon, buti n lng meron... Binigyan ng kuya q ng food supplements na product nila at un biglng taas platelet nya, by God's grace. Discharged na siya ng kapatid nya kahapon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How is your niece now madam? I hope she's okay now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok na sila madam, discharged na sila ng kapatid nya kahapon.. thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay salamat. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pagaling ka little girl. Ingat kayo jan palagi. Sana patuloy na ang pagtaas ng platelet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping so,,thanks.. pro d xa little girl,13 year old pro mas matangkad sa akin🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh pagaling ka baby girl.. i always remember my college prof who lost his daughter to dengue.. it was just a matter of three days... huhu its still a sad memory

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.. kaya grabe ung kaba q nung magtxt ate q na naghahanap sila ng donor/s just in case it is needed..as of this mment tumataas gradually platelet count nya...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana maging okay na sya. Dati nagkadengue din ako stage 3. Yung nagdudugo na Yung sa loob ng tiyan ko

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Gumagaling na, thanks... Un b ung magbebleeding at lalabas as mens sis ung dudugo ang tyan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinonda sis. May nilagay na tube sa big ko hanggang sa tiyan taposnhinigop Yung dugo.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

We experience this last June,my daughter got dengue fever too,the doctors advise is to always keep hydrated,I gave her nutritious juice like apple.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what my sister is telling my niece but she has very low appetite too. I called them yesterday and asked how're they, good thing my niece is able to talk w/ her and convince her to eat lots of fruit as long as she can for faster recovery

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, wishing na sana maging okay na siya 🥺. Nagkaroon din ako nyan ee yung pabalil balik nga lagnat ko tas every afternoon talaga sya bumabalik. Ang dami ko pa namang kagat ng lamot sa katawam. Mahigit isang linggo tumagal yun, pero ang nakagamot sakin ee damong ahas. Pero di naman ganyan kalala sa kanya ung sakin. Parang mahina lang, not sure pa nga iz me if dengue nga ba talaga yon. Sila lang nagsabi na dengue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

,yes kaya ang home remedy bsta d bababa ang platelet ksi un ang nkakatakot.. muntik muntikan na kahapon na masalinan ng dugo buti na lng ung last na cbc nya e tumaas konti ksi ang baba na tlga. Ano ung damong ahas?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala sana maging okay na sya soon sis.. Kakaawa kpg bata magkasakit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paunti-unti tumatAas platelet nya, sa awa ng Dyos.. nkakapraning pag gnun sasabihin ng dr maghanap ng blood donors

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon to your niece. By the way have you tried tawa tawa plant? I know doctors are hesitant about this plant but it’s a good alternative for dengue patients. My husband’s nephew drank a lot of it when he was dengue positive and just spent two days at the hospital. Also keep drinking a lot of water, it will help:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tawatawa and papaya leaves extract, now she's getting better.. thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago