Take care of your eyes; you can't buy them from a grocery store.

22 51
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago
Topics: Health, Eyes, Art, Illness, Operation, ...

Last night while I was fetching my son in my mother-in-law's residence, I had a chat with my sister-in-law and my mother-in-law while my husband took the thing that we brought earlier that day.

Let me thank these wonderful people before I continue

Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty

We talked about random things and came up with cell phones. My sister inlaw's kids were very addicted to phones and now they are wearing eyeglasses. Nanay then said that she had a cataract and was advised by a doctor for a laser treatment but she does not want to because she had known some that had gone blind after laser. Cataract removal will also be a no-no to her because it's very scary, she was told that one can see the blades scaping through the eyes while on a cataract removal operation.

Then Ate Inday told us that William, the kid who lived in their house for a few years was advised by a doctor for his eyes to be pulled out because something white was in it, " a cataract that came from the inside" that's what they told me. When the eyes was left as sis, there will be a greater chance for the illness to come over to the other eye. The cause is not yet identified but the mother says t was in their blood.

The mother related to Ate Inday that William's vision on his eye which has white on the pupil, is already blurred and that kid tells his mother: " ma buta lagi along isa ka mata".

I suddenly felt sorry for William because I had once a board mate and the same time classmate in college that had her one eye pulled out because of the same story. It was discovered when she was 6 years old when she ate at a party and her mother jokingly cover one eye while eating then she said "stop mom, I cannot see" The parents were shocked and they immediately went to an ophthalmologist and was advised for the eye to be pulled out, They sold most of their land for the operation to be done that time. Her eyes were then replaced by an artificial eye and every night she removed it for cleaning.

I cannot imagine a 4 year old child will go through so much like this.


You know people like them were likely to be bullied by their looks, especially by people who are insensitive to the situation and what they have been through. My husband has a co-worker as a CVO, and he had only one eye too, he often wears sunglasses to hide his appearance.


Now, how do you feel about your eyes? Have you been abusing them by looking at screens longer than you give them rest? Have you been using your phone with a very bright light on? Do you sleep with a bright light above your bed? Do you wash your face after long hours of work? Do you eat lots of yellowish vegetables and take eye supplements?

You might want to change these things starting today, you better start taking care of your eyes because you can't buy them from the grocery store. This might sound funny but take its deeper meaning; you might be able to buy eyeglasses and contact lenses to see better but remember this: once your eyes are damaged, you can't bring what you had once back then.

I am so glad that my father told me that when I was very young and it became a core memory for me. Not just the eyes that we should take care of but our whole body, sadly my father ate his words and continued on smoking cigarettes until he can't make it no more.


After hearing William's story, I made eyes in my make-shift sketchbook, I even wrote the title of this article there as a tribute to William. (0.07 mechanical pencil on bondpaper)

https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=3224611554487426&set=pcb.3224613547820560

The photo above is William; I took it from their Facebook account and the link is below the photo

Let's all take care of our eyes and the people around us.


Keep safe

9
$ 0.09
$ 0.03 from @DrPsycho
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.02 from @JenThoughts
+ 1
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago
Topics: Health, Eyes, Art, Illness, Operation, ...

Comments

I agree , btw the stories you shared were heartbreaking, I felt sorry for that little child.

Your are conveying very strong message, it needs to be noticed by all; bcz now most of us( including me) don't care about their eyes. But as you said "we can't just buy them from the grocery store

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am even guilty of this my friend, sometimes I wanted to earn more money and take longer screen time than I should have been. But the money I earned cannot buy me new eyes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We ignore those things which plays most important roles in our life. Truly we need to be more careful towards our eyes but sadly we are not paying attention towards it. I too once neglected the health of my eyes but now I'm trying to be more careful than ever.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree, some people only sees that importance of things once it is already damaged but nothing can bring it back

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe our eyes is one of the most important body parts that we have, sobrang hirap po kase kapag wala tayo neto. As for me, I only set 4-7 hours of using my phone every day . I know that it is still longer than to advise of the doctor but I make sure na nakakapagrest pa din po to every 2 hours of straight na pagtitig sa screen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's good po lods, mahirap n akasi talaga kapag masira na ang mata

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right dear, our eyes is very sensitive, it should be properly taken care of, we can't buy them.

I'm guilty of this, one thing I noticed is that I find it hard to use my phone in a dark place, it affects my eyes and makes them feel drowsy

Sorry about your dad's death. Smoking is also harmful to our health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thank you my friend, we have moved on, and we are even thank full that he would not feel pain anymore.

maybe have another source of light while looking on screens, that way , the light will be scattered and will not go directly in to your eyes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh! I felt guilty on this sis because since March this year I noticed that my eye sight is different from before. Now I can't clearly seen what is a far. Last night I am watching a basketball. I can see someone is playing but I cant identify who are they because they are blurred to my eyes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

nah ampinge gyud imong mata sis, ayaw sigeg tutok anang hayag kaayo, kuing mahimo pag dark mode.. nya rest gyud ang mata

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lagi sis naka night mode ako cp..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pirmi jud na naku isulti sa akong mga anak sis, nga di mapalit ang Mata sa tindahan, maong mag amping 😅.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

mao lagi sis, mao pod nay ingon ni papa nako nya mao pod akong ingon sa kong mga anak..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We must take proper care of our eyes else we lose them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's so sad😪. We must take proper care of our eyes else we lose them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so sad😪. We must not joke with our eyes. It is very important to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So far okay man sad akong paminaw sa akong mata sis ky if I feel something like kasukaon ko kadugayan nako ug atubang sa screen ipahuway jud nako akong mata ky di ko ganahan madaot akong mata.I've been working here sa computer since 2012 pero salamat sa Ginoo tawn wa gyud ko mg need ug eyeglass

$ 0.01
1 year ago

moa gyud sis, naa raman gyud sa ato anag pag amping ba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aw dapat gyud mg amping sis ky kita ry maangin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nah hasol raba gyud kaayo kung di nata kakita sis. ,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw hasol gani mg glasses

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mao gyud sis nya gsto pa kaayo labi nag mahulog nya matumban , palit napod

$ 0.00
1 year ago