I'll be Spending the Night Alone Tonight

2 10
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
2 years ago

Just yesterday, my husband was very happy to tell me the news that his application to become a barangay CVO(Civilian Volunteer Organization) was approved.

Yoi, don't call me "pang" anymore, you should be calling me " sir" from now on.

This is his intro when I came to him when he went to fetch me home.

All trough the way home, I was laughing, maybe out of amusement, I can't believe that my husband was now really a CVO.

We even imagined sone scenarios that will soon happen and laughed about it. We. Laugh a lot together because we can easily imagine things that one will say and like cartoons, it will play in our mind and will be the source of our laughter. It didn't even sink on him.

When we arrived at Nanay's house, Nanay handed my husband's appointment letter to me. It was said in the document that he was an effective CVO since January 3, 2022 untill December 29,2022. It xame with a dry seal too. Ton submitted his application last January 3, and the same day, he was accepted right there and then.

Ton was quite popular in our place since he was an amateur boxer player and that his family is still the care taker of the barangay captain who reigned many years before this current barangay captain's term. He is good at social relations too and was a first-aid volunteer in his younger years before we got married.


Just this morning, he realised that it was Saturday already and that he has to report for duty. Each CVO has to rendse 24 hours of service once a week to get thier hornorarium of P2, 000 monthly. But it is not have to be straight 24 hours, they are allowed to go home and eat their meals since there is no free from the Barangay itself and they can go out as long as 2 hours. (it won't be a hassle fo me to ask him to send me to work every Saturday morning and will fetch me in the evening). But sometimes, only seldomly if there is an activity, they would be asked to report for duty.


I got a little sad earlier when he said he has to be out for the night. Im not used to sleep without him, he is my comfort and I need him the most when nightmares arrive and sleep paralysis too. I have gone dependent on him over the years, of course it's because of him spoiling me lols. Its really never fun without him. I feel empty without him, though I have to endure this till the morning n I know that he will be safe and he does this for a better future.

2,000 is already a great help to us. It could afford him to buy scraps or it could be used in our daily needs, or give it to th land owner whon we are getting in an instalment basis.


On other days, when Ton is not reporting for duty, he is doing lots of things in our junk shop, arranging things and getting the bronze ot or those old TVs and more. When he gets bored, he will do habalhabal, or buy scraps. Although our income are not that big, its enough for our needs and we even started investing to buy a parcel of land for the future.


As of this moment, my husband is now in the feryahan(the anniversary of the barangay is coming fast), guarding those who do not wear facemasks and noisin. His partner for duty is my cousin in my mother's side. I didn't worry much because Nanay's house is very near from the barangay hall where Ton will be staying later and through the rst of the night. Also, I have lots of faith in him plus we have God to protect and guide us in every thing we do.

I don't really like the emptiness that I feel right now but I have to stay at home and be with our kids. I know the morning will come soon and he will return home.

Most the the friends that I know here are ladies so let me ask you all, yeah, including you. Are you used to sleep without your partner beside you?

Lead image from unsplash

3
$ 2.04
$ 2.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
2 years ago

Comments

Yes, sis 5 years ng walang katabi hehe, nasasanay naman sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's sad sis but also, depending on the reason why wala kang katabi sa gabi. Kung sakit lang din naman sa ulo ang dala ng katabi mo sa gabi, mas mabuti nang wala nalang

$ 0.00
2 years ago