Today, we experience and enjoy the spirit of giving

23 23
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Hello lovely friends and to my new readers. I have mentioned in my early article this month that I am going to make a gift giving project this year, courtesy of my read.cash earnings from December 1st until 15th. I already computed the total earnings on that particular days and I earned $48 however, the price of bch keeps going down thus I only accumulated a total of $33. I already sent the money on my bitcoin.com wallet and then transferred it to my coins.ph account.

I also converted it to our local currency before the price of bch goes lower. The total amount I converted from the present price of bch that time is 1613.51 php. I have 500php left in my wallet that’s why if in case my budget exceeded, there wouldn’t be a problem. On the 21st day of December, my kids and I went to the grocery nearby. It was actually the first time my kids goes with me to the grocery ever since the pandemic started in 2020. We were supposed to be in SM Fairview so that they can go to a bigger mall rather than the small one near our place. I changed my mind because it was a little late already. It was 530 pm when we went out of the house. The grocery store is just 5 to 7 minute away by walking and about 3 to 5 minutes if you wanted to ride a public transportation that includes a little congestion. Since my kids are used to walking, we reached the Zabarte Mall in a little while and passed by the overpass where I saw the people who will be my beneficiaries for the gift giving project.

My kids were a little excited because it’s gonna be their first time going in a mall after a very long time. My youngest keep on asking if it is really allowed for the kids to get inside, I assured him it is. We went to the grocery store, and both of them wanted to try pushing the cart each as they missed doing it. But I stopped them telling them not to touch things like they used to do. They then realized there is still pandemic after I sprayed both of their hands with alcohol. I keep reminding them to wear their face mask properly and keep the social distancing from the people around.

After a while, I let them choose the food they wanted as we continue roaming around the grocery. I looked for my target noche buena package, which is spaghetti pack, corned beef and cheese. Unfortunately there’s only 7 packages available on my preferred brand. I take it all and said to myself, I will go the other grocery store which is on the other side of the road the next morning to complete my 10 packages.

Yesterday, I went to the other grocery store to complete my “noche buena” package however, they run out of stock too. My original plan is to make 10 packages but since I can’t complete it, I added additional items to my noche buena package. The budget for each package was supposed to be 200php each, so as I added more items, the total price of each is now 250php. And beside the packages were quite heavy so I decided to just make it 7. Before I went to sleep last night, I took them out and started packing them. I feel happy for it’s gonna be my first time doing this act using my hard earned money from read.cash. I know this is just a small project of mine, and honestly I am not looking forward for something in return. The joy and the smile from the people who will be rewarded is enough for me.

Later in the afternoon, I asked my kids to come with me so that we can distribute the our simple gifts to the needy. But right before that, someone knocked on our gate, I recognized him, he was our old neighbor, they rented in one of house in our village but this year they moved out for some reason. His mother is a fishball vendor and she is working hard so that she can provide for her children. So his son dropped by and offered me coconut macaroons, I bought one and in return I gave the one noche buena package to him. He was so thankful, because he told me he was only there to sell his goods but he got something in return.

After he left, that was around 43o in the afternoon, I got ready and told my boys to be ready before the sky get darker. We went out of the house at exactly 5 in the afternoon. The package is really quite heavy, that’s why I asked my kids to help me. We only have 6 left because as I mentioned a while ago, I give one to our old neighbour who came earlier. When we came to the location, there were only few who were there. So we give them our simple gifts and greeted them a Merry Christmas. They were all smiles and thankful for that simple gesture.

We have only given 3 packages out of 6 in that area, so my kids and I walked to the other side of the road to look out for someone whom we can give the other 3. Unfortunately, I can’t find the other people whom I’d like to give these noche buena packages. I decided to keep it then bring it next time. We got home before the clock strike at 6 pm. I give the one package to the guard on duty on our village, and now I only have two left. Hopefully I can give it tomorrow when I go out.

It was a very nice experience and I am glad the boys are with me. I want them to know that Christmas is not all about receiving gifts, but it is also the time of giving most specially to those who are in need and with less resources. Before I end this article up let me share a beautiful quote about giving by Mother Theresa

“It is not how much we give, but how much love we put into giving

This would be all for today. And in two days we’re gonna celebrate the birthday of Jesus Christ. Let’s not forget the true meaning of this celebration. Merry Christmas!🎄

Lead Image from Unsplash

The rest of the images are mine.

11
$ 2.92
$ 2.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Ang bait tlga oh... More blessings sa inyong lahat sis. Merry Christmas to you and your family. Enjoy the celebration, cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It maybe small package for you or some but for them it is already a big blessings sis! Parang naiimagine ko na silang tuwang-tuwa habang nakain ng spaghetti

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was quite happy while reading this as if I was one of the ones receiving the packages, God bless you so much ma'am for doing this, you're a wonderful person for sharing the spirit of Christmas with the less privileged in your region

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Apaka generous niyo naman maam. May the good Lord bless you even more maam. ❣ Merry Christmas. ,💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Price doesn't matter but the love and affection you add that matters the most. It is really important to contribute something to make someone happy even our simple and small thing can bring a wide smile on someone's face. You did really a great job, we need to celebrate every festival by sharing our love and compassion with everyone. I must say that your sons are as good as you by heart, you're teaching them the best things which we need to teach each and every children. Have a nice night.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear for your very nice words. Advance Merry Christmas😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really feel have sis, hindi nmn ako nakatanggap pero ako'y tuwa tuwa, sana magawa ko din yan next time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Next time sis😍 ako matagal ko na talagang plano wala lang budget😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giving is the best fulfilling thing. You have done a great job.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you friend:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing naman :) Pagpalain ka pa sis. Merry Christmas!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat sis, ambilis Christmas eve na later😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas sis:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maligayang Pasko na sis later, Good morning:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maligayang Pasko Sis 😊 ang pasko ay kay saya . Bait naman, Godbless sainyo. Panigurado tuwangntuwa sila at syempre si lord dahil may mga ganyan tao na iniisip ang ibang tao 🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat sis, Maligayang Pasko din😍 Makita ko lang na masaya sila ok na ako doon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowwww. It was a heart warming sis doing like this, I feel the happiness inside of you as well as to your boys that they were permitted to went out at the same time helping to others. It was already A Merry Christmas🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True yan sis, I need to tell them, christmas is not all about receiving gifts but it is also the time of giving back:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God bless your family sis. Merry Christmas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis, Maligayang pasko😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome sis, merry Christmas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is in giving that we receive. Merry Christmas, sis!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Merry Christmas din sis😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago