Who is this great man?

2 34
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Do you still recall how you were awed by an amazing someone back then? Do you still remember how it felt to admire a person?

Then you exclaim, "Who is this great man?"

Or it could also be, "Who is this great woman?"

Part of my journey before finally coming here to the blogosphere was stalking favorite local writers and sitting back enjoying great novels by favorite storytellers.

Some of my fascinations before were the stories of J. R. R. Tolkien, Lewis Grizzard, Louis L'Amour (my father's influence), and a few more.

Recently, I got interested in John Grisham's works and was very amazed about how I could resonate a lot with his stories.

I have always been afraid of reading thrillers especially if they were legal ones.

Interestingly, the first book by Grisham that I was able to read was a book that was not a legal thriller. I was surprised to find myself wanting more.

I finally told myself that I could try some of his other novels. Click! I could relate so well.

Unfortunately, I stopped reading again for some time and it was only now that I was starting to read books again.

I have mentioned in my previous article that I should also buy books if I can put myself to buy pizza.

I am here right now in town for my son's check-up and while waiting, I am trying to put something together for an article.

I went back to a draft that has been sitting here for days and I am finally able to put flesh to it.

I had to always recall the past to be able to make me appreciate how I am now, especially in writing.

I still have a long way to go and a lot more to learn. And making a head turn to where we came from is a good way to keep the motivation.

I remember how I felt back then reading and immersing myself in the lore of the middle earth.

Until now I still have not memorized the characters there and I still needed to read again and review the story to have a better understanding and better grasp of the lessons.

It was also like studying in a school where you sometimes get things wrong and you needed to review them over and over again.

I was so into reading those poems contained in those books that I sometimes skip pages to go where the poetic lines were.

I would dream of also writing something great in the future that others would dive into as well. But evaluating how I am doing now, everything is still just a fantasy.

But you know, it is not useless at all to fantasize. The mere fact that we are dreaming of great things is an indication that we are still so full of life!

And what more could we ask?

What we can just do is to keep the fire burning inside of us. No matter what, we have the passion and interest in things that will keep us from withering.

And what do I know? Well, I just know I am still in awe of so many things in this world! And that would be a gold stored in me that no one can mine out of my system.

Wink!

4
$ 0.69
$ 0.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Apex_Thomas
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments

Like you, I am also influenced by some great people, Before coming to this platform, I also read a lot of story-novels and poetry books.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And which could have been your favorite book?

$ 0.00
1 year ago