What is your goal in taking photos?

8 44
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Simple: I take photos to document memories. Years from now, I will be viewing the photos I have taken now and during the past.

My kids will grow, the times will change, and the people might change. For better or for worse.

I take photos to have something to look at in the future. Like the photo below, I took this to make my children see themselves when they will be older. They put themselves in an already damaged Caha De Oro damaging it further. This was taken around two years ago.

I realized that I needed to make effort to take pictures. I needed to save and store photos for them to be accessible later on.

This was me decades ago at Manila. My first time passing through the city during our trip to National Youth Day to Ormoc city. I was like a boy in the picture but I have always been feminine to my assessment of myself.

Here below is my typical picture. Taken around five years ago. I downloaded this via Facebook.

I also get silly sometimes. The picture is in black and white to make the background students anonymous.

My cousin edited a photo of me during my wedding.

Sometimes, I just let days pass without even taking photos of my family, especially the kids. Thankfully, I also have this photo on Facebook. My sons when they were just the only ones. They have no sister yet during this time.

I sometimes regret not bringing out my phone and taking advantage of the easy way of taking photos now.

Fortunately, I am learning to be quick on my toes whenever I meet important people.

During birthdays and gatherings, documenting the people and the food is a way to not miss out on the future.

When we become sentimental and nostalgic, it is very comforting to browse pictures on gadgets or photo albums.

Gone were the years when I raise my left eyebrow at people who always take photos.

It isn't that important. I used to think that. But now, I see the essence of photographs, of pictures, of documented memories.

I am not sure about my term but that is how I put it. Capturing smiles, capturing the facial expressions, capturing the moments... Just so priceless...

It doesn't necessarily mean that we have skills in taking photos. It will just be a bonus if we have the talent to know how to capture the best shot and angle but come one, all we have to do is open the camera, focus it on what or where we want to focus it, and click the capture button.

Isn't that how it is done?

I do admit I get frustrated sometimes by my lack of photo-taking sense but I do try my best to do what I can. In the end, it is the initiative to take photos that matters.

It is as simple as you took the photo. You did not.

If you took some, good for you. If not, sorry.

I just remember one of my students who had a knack for photography.

She took a photo of me and I was angered and mad.

Why?

Well, the pictures she took so far during that time have always been near perfect for me. But then her photo of me was so 'ugly.'

I am not saying that I am ugly but she must have done it on purpose to tease me.

I told her to do it properly next time and ask permission when taking photos and not steal shots that would drive me crazy.

Sadly, we never had the chance to have a proper photoshoot but it is okay. I always see her works via social media and I always appreciate her ideas.

In good times, I will visit her studio.

And yesterday was my girl's birthday. These are two of the photos that I took. So these are some of the most recent pictures. I don't have the skill or whatever but I took photos anyway. For remembrance.

Denisse at three, May 28, 2022
Denisse and her mama (me) (See, I have gained so much weight!)

Cheers to more pictures!

6
$ 3.50
$ 3.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Captainkay
$ 0.01 from @Apex_Thomas
+ 1
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments

I take Pictures because it provide a platform for our individual and unique perceptions of an experience. The invention of photography has allowed mankind to document a lot of historic moments throughout our time on earth.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thats nice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In fact, my goal behind taking photos is to see my own reflection a few years from now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Right! It makes us curious how we have been, how we have changed over time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we look at our previous pictures later, we have a thrilling feeling inside ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually this pictures here shares a great memories about your family. Am glad you don't have any reason to mock over any of them . Cheers to more pictures, Actually my phone space is al most full so I don't have more pictures of my self .. Cheers 💥💥

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Cheers! You have to upload it on the cloud and clear your phone for more photos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago