To the night owl that I know

0 31
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

To the night owl that I know, here's for you:

You've tried your best. It's time to sleep. Use the eight hours to lay and rest your weary head. Forget everything and relax. Tomorrow is another day.

Do you want hypertension? Or irritability and sensitivity? When you don't sleep well, you'll have a real bad day the following day.

You will wish that you should have slept the previous night. For what purpose have you slept late anyway?

Again, you have tried your best today. You will try again tomorrow.

It is tempting to stay awake all night, writing until you are exhausted. The calm of the night, so refreshing. You are awake together with other owls.

But the danger is also loitering. You will have the tendency to overeat the next day. You'll be scolded if you don't get up like usual.

It maybe good to sleep late from time to time especially when rushing something but it is better to do things little by little and not just before deadline.

Even mothers who are still beast feeding their youngs will still try to get sleep whenever they can.

To you night owl, reserve your night owling during emergency situations. While there is a remedy, sleep through the night. You will be rested to grind again the next day.


Here are the bad effects I personally experienced on being a night owl:

  • I feel really irritable especially that I am sitting my 3 kids at home. I would shout at them when they misbehave. It's a good thing I was able to control my shouting nowadays because of the intervention of spiritual Reformation.

  • I can't perform well during the day after not sleeping for almost the whole night. I always wish I slept throughout the night.

  • I feel ache on my spine and sometimes all over my body. Of course even those nerves need rest.

  • My eyes hurt but I still have to work during the day. I need to reply to messenger messages and emails. I have to write my articles because I consider that my work.

  • I overindulge in sweets. I crave sweets really after owling the night. It is an added expense into our already huge spendings. But yes I eventually cut back on that because of economic reasons.

  • I can not take a nap during the day. The moment I close my eyes to rest for a while, either my Davies or Denisse will let me do something for them. As if the air is saying, that's what you get for not sleeping during the night.

So before deciding to be a night owl, think first of the consequences.

Lucky are you who lets go during the night and sleep. But if you are one who has insomnia, try eating cassava tops or other green leafy vegetables. I noticed improvement in my sleep when I continually ate those.


My personal recommendations in order not to spend the night working: (for teachers like me)

  • Set up a schedule where you work on every hustle you've got during the day. During this pandemic, we are allowed to stay and work at home. Spend few hours for checking time even before deadlines.

  • Reply promptly to emails and messages. If even those will add to things you do during near deadlines, you will have no choice but to really use night times to work.

  • Always let go and sleep before 10 pm. I sleep before 9 pm. It will depend now if my kids would sleep immediately or not. Since I still have a 2 year old, there were times she would be colicky and I really find myself exhausted in the morning. Of course those are the exceptions because we are parents.

  • Again, eat green leafy vegetables. I am no nutritionist or doctor but based on my experience, my sleep significantly improved upon consuming cassava tops and even shoots of tagumbao.


That's it for now! Thanks for reading.

3
$ 5.53
$ 5.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments