The place in the world

2 26
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I sometimes wonder what my role is in this world. I always felt like an outcast but to be fair with others, I know it's just coming from me, that feeling.

One of our students have been having problem with accessing his canvas account. Canvas, our learning management system. Apparently, there is a problem with either his name or his ID number.

It may be a coincidence that instead of being sent straight to his adviser, he was sent to me. I am not his adviser but for some reason, I was told that he was one of my advisees. So to cut the story short, he was having worries about not being able to receive email from the school.

I assured him that his problem will be sorted out. I told him not to worry because, definitely, we will assist him. He was still agitated and so while we were having the zoom orientation this afternoon, I caught it when he sent on the chat box that he didn’t have his canvas account.

I butted in and told the moderator that I will be assisting the student. Then I resumed chatting with him on messenger. I understood their plights since I’ve known how it was to be a first timer in that thing they are going through now.

So we exchanged messages. I generated his account based on the formula given by the university. Then when he tried logging it in, he said there was a problem. I assured him there’s none. Then I gave him alternatives, I directed him to other browsers and we did all sorts of things just so he would be able to log in. It was the only thing he ever wanted during that time this day.

And so he was able to successfully log in using his phone but not on his computer. Finally, I told him to clear cache and so he did it and voila! He was able to log in. He updated his password so no one would change it. Afterwards, I told him to send me screenshot so I may be assured he was telling the truth and that he wasn’t just shy that he was kind of disturbing me, as he termed it.

He sent me the screenshot of the successful log in. For the record, I felt joy. I was very glad I was able to help. A little while later he asked me if he was allowed to change his name on canvas. I joked about it that he should be proud of his name. But actually, his problem is the wrong spelling of his name.

So there, that was another thing to fix. I told him that they should message the registrar at once. I also messaged the office so that there is at least a record of that issue. So that people will be alerted about this kid’s problem. When it came to names, long term problems may arise if he will go on using that family name with wrong spelling. Two consonants were interchanged.

I then told him that he may now leave our group chat because he said he was added to another one. He thanked me and I told him it was my pleasure. And, though I did not add to my message, he is always welcome to message me in the future if he has concerns.

Well, I have the device, I can make time, I can manage. Therefore, doing all these simple acts of helping to starting students is no problem at all. Also, I consider this as part of my job even though it was not spelled out. But it’s a marketing technique as well in order to increase the enrollees of the university I am affiliated with.

I believe, this is one of the roles that I could assume as a teacher. I am not be good with emceeing or moderating meetings. I am also not a good speaker of those seminars that teachers like me attend. I kind of made a show that I was not interested in any headship in our department because it’s not my thing. But when it came to assisting, there I could be placed. So I should always make myself available to those who needed little assistance.

Of course I also have limitations but while I can give help, why not help? And there are roles that I really refuse. When these types of small work present themselves, I am all out to help.

It’s one of the places in the world I could be comfortably in.

4
$ 4.88
$ 4.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @zolabundance2
+ 1
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

I'd like to call that working behind the scenes and those who do that plays a vital role too.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh... I like the sound of it. Thank you, ARTicLEE. ♥

$ 0.00
2 years ago