Starting a new term and some mixed thoughts and feelings about matters related to studying

3 31
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I was mindful of an advice I received earlier last year from Miss zolabundance2. Thankfully, the school decided for us to have the Parents'-Teacher conference during the very first Friday of the semester.

Meeting with parents is a very important event so that teachers will have partners in checking on students.

During the meeting, I presented to parents the guidelines for the blended learning. I also gave them guidelines in securing admission slips. Actually, prior to the PTC, we already gave the same orientation to students the past two days.

Admission slips were just recently implemented. For me, this may be a big help to make it easier for me to decide on what to do to students who are absenting.

Speaking of admission slips, well, out of compassion, we should always give consideration to students but also, they must learn the value of deadlines and schedules so they wouldn't just submit whenever they wanted to. They must learn the sense of responsibility.

Sad truth, many kids turn or walk away when being given lectures about things that we needed to be mindful of. Good news is that there are still those who are courteous and kind in hearing out adults give them advices.

The online set-up remains to have its advantages and disadvantages and if you ask me whether I am ready for face-to-face classes, I say, I have decided to get ready. Hehe.

There's no point holding on to the advantages of the online classes when there is option for face-to-face classes in the near future. Perhaps, the administration will hold on to the advantages so they might implement a rather different way of having classes. That is, some sort of limited face to face.

Well, if the admin is the one to decide, I will just have to take into heart their guidelines and considerations.

By the way, I teach in the Senior High School Department of our university so you'd expect I teach around 16-year old kids.

I am sad about the number of delinquent students. According to their guardians, they are struggling so much in the current set up so if at all possible, they would like to resume the face-to-face classes.

On another note, I noticed a pattern. Usually those who come from families whose parents are not in good terms or are not living together, they are the ones who usually becomes our liability. And if only I could give more time for them. When I reach out to them, it's kind of hard to break their shells and they usually just see my message and don't respond at all. I had to do other tricks to get them open up to me. Shortcoming or misgiving on my part for not going to extensive lengths to get them soften up.

It may be out of my control but you know, may be I could be of help. Opportunity to help others. I will try to do harder.

Sometimes, I would just like to pass all students even without them doing anything but that would be very questionable. Not learning anything and passing is awful combination of words. It would have been nicer if the student made efforts to do something so that there will be a capital in passing them in the subject.

Students will laugh at teachers who just easily gives out grades. My primary consideration though in being very considerate is the fact that their parents or guardians have paid a dear sum for their studies and they sometimes just put it to waste.

If only there is a guideline to lessen the fees being paid for remedials and the like just to pass the students. But then again, it is a challenge for parents and guardians to also do their parts.

But you know, things are easier said than done.

Therefore, only my prayers would be the best help to students and parents alike.

Sigh...

6
$ 4.23
$ 4.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

I also had a experience with a friend of mine whose father and mother are not together his behavior was really worse 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh... That's really sad. I hope he/she will learn to cope.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks alot

$ 0.00
2 years ago