Smile despite everything!

2 19
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago
Topics: Education, Lessons

I have three kids, who are all minors. Understandably, they are still very much like babies. They cry, they ask for things, they demand attention, and they need every help they could get from us, as parents.

Here at home, they and and their friends play. Even during my zoom meetings, they would play and be loud and they need constant reminding that they have to be quiet.

Usually, I shout at them when they don't quiet down. I mute my microphone to do the scolding.

Now, I try to just smile and talk to them calmly.

You know what? It made all the difference.

Different scenarios are present everyday. If a mother is not patient it would start very unpleasant experiences for both those affected. Being the one who scolds make me even more guilty and repentant afterwards.

The best approach is to always think about how much we love our kids. We do to them what we would have wanted our parents to have done for us before.

I know these things are easier said than done but when applied is very fulfilling.

Holding back anger temporarily and channeling them thru other means is possible if we will to do it.

Sample Scenarios where the Kids Whine

"Mama, lollipop please!"

"Later please, I'm having an important meeting."

"Mama, sige na ah, lollipop!"

"You have already eaten a while ago, right? Besides, lollipop destroys the teeth."

"Mamaaaaaaaa!!!"

Bammmm!

-- -- --

"Ma, look at this!"

Mommy not looking.

"Mama, look at this!"

Mommy not budging.

"Mamaaaaaa!!!"

Bang!

-- -- --

They hold my skirt or pants then demand what they wanted.

Boom!

-- -- --

My three kids tell things to me all at the same time competing for my attention.

Waaaah!


During such instances, I usually use my hands and mouth to discipline them leaving them crying and screaming.

What I try to experiment on now is to talk them out calmly and smilingly. I noticed that it is much graceful to do it and it gives me the edge over my negativities.

The truths of the home are not always that ironed out like they seem to be in movies. Ugly happenings always occur during the day. But at each end we always look for the calm. If we take the challenge to be as graceful as possible then beautiful bonds are formed instead of ugly scars.


It may always be challenging but it may as well be always be rewarding when we handle our circumstances gracefully.

Just think of the sufferings that Christ had to go through. Ours are nothing compared to those. Aren't we saved for those? It dawned on me just during the past days what really were being taught to us over and over. Just that we don't open our hearts once and for all to receive the message.

I'm saved! My children's whines are a blessing to me! I'll treasure them forever!

And even though we don't literally smile with our mouth, we smile with the peace we feel in our soul


I will be continuing with my grad studies and it will even be more challenging this time. I have writings to do, lessons to prepare, house to keep, on top of it all is studies. I should feel honored, not pressured. I will try to be as graceful as possible. (As of writing, I am waiting for my enrollment confirmation.)

During the day I'll be attending to my studs; during breaks, to my kids; evenings, graduate studies; most importantly, my daily devotion and Sunday church attendance, including different cell group attendances.

Life is a journey. But every night is a rest. We rest as much as we want and continue on on the road of life.

Let's then use The Words as a lamp unto our feet, and light unto our path, as has been said so. Let's put our faith in Him.

2
$ 5.38
$ 5.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago
Topics: Education, Lessons

Comments

wow...how could you do that? this is so inspiring. I think I need to try this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Mam. I am still short on practice. Easier said than done. I lost my grip again a while ago but getting better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago