Of languages and dialects

17 29
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I'm not sure what got into me but after writing my articles in Filipino, I am now struggling to go back to English language. But I will not allow that to happen. I love both languages.

Filipino Language is a subject taught here in the Philippines. I had an immediate love to it. I love it more especially when reading poetry by Filipino poets and writers.

Those deep and pure words make me indulge in my dramas. I also compose my own poetry but sad to say those were lost forgotten in piles of paper I've laid somewhere. But of course, there's a different tone to it as well when we use English. The two are equally amazing.

Forgive me but the way I describe fail me most of the time. But allow me to go on.

I grew up in a remote place. Our mother tongue is neither English nor Filipino. It is a dialect which is close to Bontok and Kankana-ey. But when we are forced to determine its name, I simply put Bontok. But it is a little more distinct than Bontok.

But in school at our place, teachers teach us both in Filipino and English. We learn Ilocano when long gone natives come to the city and go back there to us with that dialect.

So in total, I know how to speak in 2 dialects and 2 languages. I understand the dialects of nearby towns but not really speak them.

I left my hometown in search for places that have an institution for college. I chose Baguio to be my second home. Even after college, I chose to stay here to find job and settle down.

We go home from time to time and it was during a Christmas in year 2009 when I met my husband-to-be. We got married in 2010 around this time. That was July, months from this time. We stayed here at Baguio till this time.

I have a job here at a university. Sometimes languages and dialects are a source of entertainment. When students come to Baguio and they are not knowledgeable with Ilocano, they are forced to learn so that nobody will take advantage of their lack of knowledge in ilIlocano again. For instance, a native of this place might teach someone with not so good words only for the person to find out the meanings. Though of course I'm against things like that.

But language is also a source of struggle. For my case, I had to speak straight English at school especially when students from other countries are present in my class. I remember one time I spoke Filipino and my candid student complained that everything was important to her so I had to speak in 'pure' English.

From time to time during that semester I had to explain to the student that I can't stop speaking Filipino but rest assured that no lesson will be delivered in Filipino. Sadly though, as I was enjoying my 'pure english' she had to transfer to another country because of their family's circumstances. I decided to continue with my game of purity until the end of that term. It left a void in my heart to have suddenly lost a dear student. Not lost really but it's still considered a loss.

At my house it's just amusing that I speak my native tongue when speaking to my husband but automatically shifts upon talking to my kids. My kids try hard to speak in our dialect but they do better in Ilocano. It's up to them if they wish to learn our native dialect. They do want to learn and they are learning from their friend and from us adults as we continue to converse in native tongue.

I recently had some fascination in writing. I am not perfect with grammar and vocabulary but I do my best to make my article understandable and readable. Though of course that takes years to master. I still struggle to make my thoughts known but these things I write now will do for the meantime. We all look forward to better days.

I hope to read more and practice more when my babies get older. There's so much dialects and language to learn.

3
$ 7.00
$ 6.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Shounenbat
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

I would love to learn Filipino, at least on a conversational level. On that note, I actually didn't realize that your native language wasn't English. You really do write it well.

Maintaining languages can be difficult, but you do well.

On that note, I once read that many Filipinos don't actually speak Filipino as their native language. I wonder how difficult it would be for a foreigner to learn a dialect without actually traveling to the country. Are there resources?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Up to this time I have not started with my self study on other languages. But I want Greek or Babylonian or Hebrew language. Hmmm... I think it's hard but I want to read the Bible in its original version. I've heard it's better to read it if the original language was used.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Natuwa po ako sa comment niyo. (I was delighted with your comment.)

I really am not sure about resources for foreigners wanting to learn Filipino. But since you're good in English I think you can manage to learn Filipino even without coming here. The pattern for English is ALMOST the same for Filipino. Just almost, not totally.

By the way, my major is Math so I really had no formal knowledge about languages. I also did not attempt to research about it. I just wrote my realizations every now and then. I always looked for something else because I was not satisfied with just my major. So I read short stories and poetry written by Filipinos. But no formal study.

My first dialect may not be Tagalog(Filipino) but it is still a dialect here in the Philippines.

As for my writing, I picked it here and there, the words, the tone, the 'language' on how it was written. It is common for Filipinos to love English. Maybe you can do best in your research haha! I always love reading your articles. Especially about touch on religious topics and history.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know Filipino isn't your first language until now. Learning other dialects is fun, too. I can't relate, since I only know English and Filipino. Even my mom is from Bicol, and my dad is from Aklan, we didn't get to learn their languages.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought you were in Manila?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was in Manila for my college last semester of fourth year. However, I grew up in Cavite. Until now, I live here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cavite! When my life favors, I want to visit there. 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, maybe we can have some meet up? Jk haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why not! In time hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait let me ask.. Have you received a notif abt my sponsorship? I semt another just earlier. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha I typed fast enough in order to mention you in my most recent article. Thank you so much, sponsor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know! I guess, everything's working kinda fine now..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My heart skipped for a moment!!! My gosh I accidentally touched the spam button. It's good there is an undo afterwards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Napatawa naman ako dun. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? So I got my Filipino right then?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Malalim at matalas ang pagkakagamit mo ng mga salita. It's been a while since I've read an article written in my primary language. It feels refreshing. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, thanks! I pick the tone and terms here and there. But I really do love declaiming pati Filipino kaya siguro nakukuha ko words. Pag may time, masaya ulit magbasa Filipino poetry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago