Morning after a sleepless night

0 11
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Davies and Denisse had another round of cough and colds. The weather is still sunny-rainy. That may have contributed to their condition. And also, when they take a bath, they imagine the basin as some kind of pool so they stay longer in the basin than needed. The water is initially hot but becomes cold afterwards. But they continue 'swimming.'

I warn them every time but sometimes it's just real hard to talk to enjoying kids.

Davies wanted to be hugged in sleep while Denisse demanded equal attention.

I told Davies he will have to wait for his sister to fall asleep before I will lay beside him. He patiently waited. But Denisse would wake up from time to time.

They coughed. I let them drink warm water. Denisse is feverish. Good thing she took her juice (paracetamol). After a few minutes there was sweat coming from her. The medicine took effect.

It was long before the two succumbed to sleep. I started to draft this post at around 3 am. Despite having some headache I searched my phone then typed. Anyway they'll just disturb my sleep again after a while.

But I still tried sleeping. I woke again to calm Denisse. I continued writing this at 5:20.

I slept again. We woke up at around 7 am. This is unusual. I hang the clothes we washed yesterday. They're not completely dry yet. I rained prematurely the previous day so we have to patiently hang them again.

I wrote just before my zoom class at 7:30.

I remember that I moved the Tuesday 7:30 class to 8. I wrote again.

I prepared some coffee for me. The kids and their dad already had some milk and coffee a while back.

The kids went out as if nothing happened the previous night. As if they did not do their best to keep me from sleeping. As if they weren't sick. As if I am already alright afte all.

Seriously, I complained a lot last night. Why did the kids have to do that to me? They have their dad but it seemed there was still that fear for him. I wouldn't know. All I knew was that they kept halving me into equal two.

My son came from playing outside and I scolded him. You're already 5 and yet you still split the attention which should have been focused on your baby sister.

He wasn't listening. Or maybe he was listening but pretended not to because he was somehow ashamed.

It was confirmed when he was smirking around the corner. Then he was laughing. What a kid.

So this is how a parent feels.

What a morning after a sleepless night...

Before waking up at 7 am, there was a sudden call from my mother-in-law. She was requesting my husband that he will go home to our province. There is a task awaiting him. No one else was available there at our place so if he could be the one to do it.

I thought I was dreaming but it was real. Husband agreed but he must have to look for money for their fare. He plans on taking with him the kids. I protested of course. I hate them being away from me no matter how hard it is to parent them.

This is the nature I suppose. A mother won't just let her children go. But then I teased Davies. You are the 'proper' boy to go home with your father. What a term. I can't help it. He maybe straightened out upon going to the province. But then more of me still strongly protested.

We will have to see if the kids will go with him. I am thinking of going after them. That would be after I finish my responsibilities. But geez, I have classes Thursday and Friday. I guess I won't be able to follow. Maybe Saturday. Then come Sunday. No that can't be. I guess really can't go home.

I'm still sleepy but the coffee did its job.

After my first zoom class, I am now about to publish this article.

I enjoyed discussing a statistics topic which I usually didn't like before. Now after having a deep appreciation for statistics, I finally enjoyed giving a lecture.

Tonight will be another night to be sleepless. But I hope for the better.

3
$ 5.58
$ 5.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments