Memory with Davies Yesterday

0 29
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I did not write an article yesterday. It was the first time I did not post on a Sunday. I rested. I went to mass. I mean, we went to mass with my kid, Davies. I say that yesterday was a day with Davies.

What happened yesterday was a lesson for me. I decided not to bring with me my children so I could focus on my prayers during the mass. But then things turned out differently from what I expected.

Preparation

I was readying for 8:00 am mass. I woke up around 6. Prepared our coffee and milk. I heated my bath. I took a bath and was almost off for church at 7:15 when my second began complaining.

Davies wanted to play with my phone. He said I should leave the phone so he could play minecraft. I told him it cannot be because my phone is like a part of myself. But he persisted whining until all other members of our family were gone, hubby off to work at the construction site while Davies’ older brother Dexter and younger sister Denisse tagged along with their father.

I then decided to bring Davies with me.

While on the Way

While on our way to the church, the boy keeps pestering me on buying new toy. I took it as a chance to bargain with him.

‘If you behave during the mass, I will buy you a new toy,’ I said firmly.

‘Yes, Mama,’ he said.

I felt satisfied. We rushed to the church.

The pastor was already delivering his homily when we arrived.

During the Mass

I let my son sit beside me. I took out my notebook and began taking notes. I was intent on listening.

All of a sudden my son asked for my phone. I took a mental note to make sure I will be very clear with conditions during the next masses.

I whispered he will have to let go of the toy if he will use my phone. So I sent him outside to play with the phone.

I now focused on the message being delivered to us.

Just before the homily ended, my son came rushing telling me he wanted the toy and so he surrendered the phone. ‘Tricky kid,’ I thought. I was hoping that he will let go of the toy so I won’t have to withdraw my remaining money but turns out he was trickier than I me.

After the Mass

After the benediction, we went outside. We were on our way to the atm machine when my son restarted pestering me. I was very patient. That is the nice part of going to mass, I renew my promises to be gentle and kind with the kids.

I finally withdrew my remaining money (less than 600) then we went to buy his toy. After buying, he was already contented and never asked for anything else. Now all he wanted to do is go home and play with his toy.

We stood at the turning point where vehicles fetch commuters back home. He can’t wait. I bought food but he didn’t want to eat. So we rode a jeep with different route but would still bring us very near to our barangay.

We finally came home and he proudly presented his toy to his older brother who happened to come home with their little sister.

We ate what we could find on the kitchen.

During nap time

At past 12 noon, it was time for my youngest child to sleep. I thought of sleeping with my daughter. So we went to bed while my sons were playing.

My daughter was now sleeping so I can also sleep. But right after I closed my eyes, my son was calling my name.

‘Mama, sika kayat ko mang-ugas ubet ko.’ (Mama, I like you to be the one to wash my bottom.)

So Davies again!

I reluctantly went to attend to his need.

I went back to our room to continue sleeping. Davies came again and told me he will sleep. I put my arms around him while we were lying. But after sometime he decided to not sleep. Oh my…

He went outside until I do not know anymore the other parts of the time. I finally took my long awaited nap and that was at least successful.

When I opened my eyes, Davies and her sister were up and playing with the toy. I smiled.

I took them with me to visit our neighbors.

We spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing.

Lesson

I will take my kids with me to church. Before that we will agree on things. We will not go out unless we have set out rules for the Sunday.

It is better to take them than to face unexpected situations when they whine instead.

2
$ 6.71
$ 6.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Nyctofiles
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments