Lost words but memories, a short recount of trip going home

3 19
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

And in my mind, I was painting those greeneries and blue skies and orange ones.

And in the blink of an eye, it's gone forever. No. Not really. Ahehehehehehe. I simply failed to write at that moment of euphoria and I couldn't get them right right now.

It was 24th, a day before Christmas, that I hitched a ride with some young people (Paul, Kat, and Jun), the siblings of my dear good friend, to have my holidays at my hometown.

We started out dark, from the city. Along the way, we witnessed the beautiful orange sunrise.

At least you could imagine how a sunrise is since it is a natural phenomenon that we all witness once in a while.

But at that time, I couldn't explain the rush of euphoric emotions I felt. The helpless thing was that I was kind of nauseous so I couldn't really type on my phone.

Words were written in my brain, beautiful phrases danced and I thought I could pen them down once we were home in our destination.

But I can't. Simply because they left me. Words failed to reemerge like how I formed them during the trip.

I believe I even composed a very long Facebook post to express how I was feeling so grateful at that time. But even that has been out of me by the time I was thinking of posting.

The most important thing though was that I was able to enjoy our ride and treasure those beautiful feelings and memories that I have had during that short time.

My hypertension was making me feel bad but I didn't show how I felt to my youngsters.

It wasn't the usual car sickness because if it were the usual, I would know. And I didn't throw up. It was manageable.

But I couldn't afford to type on my phone because I wouldn't want to make matters worse.

If it were a regular trip to our hometown, we could've spent at least eight hours on the road. But since it was their car, we only spent six hours.

Our driver, Paul, the eldest among the three, had a calm pulse when driving. Is that a valid description? I don't know, it's just how I put it.

Jun, the youngest among the siblings, stood like a giant when I saw him stood outside the car after buying something. He was very young when I last saw him. Perhaps, him being a toddler was the most remarkable memory I had of him. But I remember seeing him on picture as a highschooler.

And Kat, their sister, was the one beside me during the trip. She threw up because she didn't have a proper breakfast.

A lesson for her to always fill her tummy during trips. At least I had a female companion. Kat is the only sister of my dear good friend who told me to ride with her siblings.

Before my marriage, we were of adjacent barangays. But after my marriage, we are now a barangay apart.

I was teasing the female one, saying that we will visit the place I was bound to in hope of having them transport me until there. Hehe.

I felt relieved when they agreed to bring me first there before going to their own barangay.

We finally arrived to my destination. It was such a nice not so long trip probably because we set out early morning and arrived home an hour before lunch.

I thanked the siblings and watched them go before finally reuniting with my kids who travelled ahead of me.

The early part of our trip was nostalgic. And though I lost those words I painted on my mind at that time, I anyhow managed to reminisce the past.

Let me first clear my mind and try to recall those that I so wanted to write on my canvas.

4
$ 5.18
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HyeRin
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Hehehe, thanks dear girl! Are you really sure, Paul's driving in a good pace? I think he drives fast so that's why you 2 together with Kat got nauseated. Hahaha. Anyhow, that was a safe trip and thanks God you all went home safe. Hehehe. Right, when the memories fade you can't get back the right words for it. Haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahahaha, he sure was fast but not bumpy. Yeah, it was a safe trip and I had to message him to have an assurance they got home safely. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that's okay then. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago