I thought they will be strong forever.

0 25
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I was given a strong set of teeth. I was foolish to use one of them for my foolish boasting. I thought they’d be strong forever. I was very wrong.

Nothing lasts forever. However strong something is, it has its weaknesses. One day it will be destroyed. One day, something will beat it. Someday, something will overcome it. Someday, something stronger will demolish it.

I started drinking alcohol as early as high school. During the early years of drinking, good thing that I didn’t use my teeth to open San Miguel bottles. I don’t remember anymore the opening sessions. It wasn’t remarkable anyway. What’s very remarkable back then was the heaven we experience after being drank. We would do glorious things only for our families to be worried and frustrated for us. But this would be another story, my story of life experimentation. I was raised in a good family and I had no reason for drinking for the sake of letting out family problems. I drank just because I wanted to experiment. Again, this is another story which I’m not sure if I’ll be writing about it. I guess not. My only regret was not wholly enjoying my paradise back then. I’ve always worried of the future. No matter how drank I was, I always worried about what job I’ll be taking on or what life I would be having after high school.

Anyway, after I was married, there were occasions where we would be reunited with batchmates. And even here at home we would drink occasionally. During birthdays, house blessing, etc. I discovered that I am a champion at opening liquor bottles. I would open a case of those liquors depending if the one who will drink will give it to me for opening. I was quite proud of myself. I boasted about it. But my bragging wouldn’t last forever. I realized one day that it had an opening. The enamel of the molar on the lower right side was cracked and little by little the teeth was excavated. I would feel the pain up until my right ear and my jaw would have spasms of pain.

I realized again my foolishness. I should’ve thought better. How foolish really. We have better ways of opening bottles and I shouldn’t have volunteered my teeth. I shouldn’t have sacrificed my teeth for the sake of my pomposity. I may have learned my lesson but my teeth aren’t perfect anymore. I should’ve been grateful that I never experience tooth ache before unlike my friends and family. Now I suffer considerable pain. I know this is still tolerable compared to the others. I’m still fortunate to not be experiencing severe toothache.

So it comes again to financial sacrifice. At this point I should be focusing on my project of eliminating my loans. But I have to drag it a few days longer just so I will have something to use for my visit to the dentist. And we know how expensive tooth matter is. But the sooner my teeth will be fixed, the better. So at the very least I learned a lot of lessons. Or let us say, things I’ve learned before got reinforced.

Humility.

Meekness.

Laughing moderately.

Having reservations.

Lessening boastfulness.

And so on.

I won’t open another bottle of drinks with my teeth. Besides, I’ve decided to quit drinking. Liquors are expensive. So with wine, whiskey, beer, or champagne. And I’m not up the social class anyway. I don’t care about that chuva ek ek. All I wanted when drinking is the relaxed feeling and the good sleep I could have out of the relaxed nerves. But more bottles will mean hangover. Very bad hangover. I still remember the last time I’ve had it and I swear I wouldn’t want to experience it again.

Or if ever I’ll be drinking again, either I open a bottle with my teeth to remove it once and for all (haha, the teeth), or I’ll use the bottle opener. For goodness sake!

I’m tempted right now to drink but no!!! It’s bad. And also, since I’m married currently not using contraceptives, there is always the possibility of pregnancy. We wouldn’t want our baby to get drank that early. Right? I mean, it’s detrimental to the baby. Just what if I am pregnant? It’s safest not to drink.

So I think that I won’t be saying goodbye forever to any of my teeth. This set is still way better than most teeth I’ve seen.

Now that I’ve learned my lesson, I won’t again sacrifice part of my body to foolish act due to my eccentricity.

6
$ 9.59
$ 9.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments