I should make an effort to read the situation and understand

0 22
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

A few days ago, I posted a picture on social media. In the picture, my colleague/friend and I were wearing togas. We weren't graduates, only ushers. I even wrote a caption that we were ushers of parents of the graduates.

Yet...

Some commented, "Congratulations!"

I reiterated via comment that we were not the graduates but we were ushers of the graduates' parents.

But the comment went on. I bet nobody was reading captions and previous comments.

I felt sad and helpless. If only people will read more and try to understand more.

It irks me that nobody was listening to me. Or nobody was reading my caption.

In our school, it is customary for teachers and school admins who are attending a commencement exercise to wear togas as well.

I guess that is not common knowledge. They think that anyone wearing a toga is a graduate.

I felt some jealous eyes around when I went home. Perhaps they were thinking that I have graduated indeed. I was hurt a little. If ever it were true then it means not everybody is happy about me graduating. How disheartening.

When at last someone mentioned the topic, I cleared the misunderstanding and saw some sighs of relief from some. What a mindset. I didn't express my disappointment anymore. I just told myself to be weary when posting. I think I will have to make things private.

On another note...

I don't deserve just yet any congratulations because I am not yet done with my master's. I have dropped. Not that I am not interested anymore in the diploma but things happened and I found myself very much overwhelmed by things and all.

My health was declining at that time. Good for those who were able to make it to the end of that phase. But for me, not just yet. The time will come.

So it doesn't feel right at all to be congratulated. Or I would have felt better if they congratulated me for ushering parents successfully during the ceremony.

Now I go back to myself and reflect. I think I also needed to be reminded to always be prudent and knowing.

As they say, ignorance is not an excuse.

I am reminded to study some more. Not necessarily in an academic setting but anywhere, anytime. To make myself more knowledgeable.

Better, I shouldn't mindlessly comment on something I am not sure about.

I see a lot of instances on social media where people ask the same thing in the comment section even if someone already answered that particular question.

It is as if people don't read much anymore.

It hit me, that I should also improve myself. We all should.

5
$ 2.49
$ 2.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments