How to make it easier

16 36
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Acceptance. You have to accept the situation you are in, accept all your responsibilities, accept that you have to work off schedule, that you have to make sure every loose end is tied. If not, you will complain nonstop, complain about not only your job but also about parents and students, school admin and so on.

Being an adviser is not a light job. Fingers will be pointed at you. You can’t argue otherwise if you failed to do your job. Even just one mistake might cause you your career. So on you go, work overtime if you have to until all messes are cleaned.

I always had the tendency to not contact parents regarding their kids’ performance. I maintained that I should focus on the student. And telling on the student to parents might make the situation worse. But I have come to realize that my job, after all, would be to pass all delicate matters to admin and the parents.

Next time, I will just have to sumbong to parents if their kid is not doing his/her best in school. I will make sumbong to admin if I have a concern with the student. I shouldn’t take it upon me to try to convince the student. Besides, if a student really is interested, then he/she should not be slacking off in the first place.

But please!!! Spare me your fingers! If you really were concerned about your son or daughter, then you should have been following on up on him/her at the onset of the school year. I tried my best giving assistance to a particular student. I turned to the information sheet but found no contact number of parents, the one turned to me over by the previous adviser. Which would mean I should contact the office to get the student’s parents’ numbers. But before completing my job with the student, I was kind of distracted by the other kids’ concerns. And it happened, I only contacted the parent after the school year was over.

I still feel bad. Honestly, I feel bad about my irresponsibility. I had time to write and all but fixing a student’s mess I couldn’t even do well.

I wanted to resign. To get over all those things I’ve done badly but even resigning is an awful matter. I can’t resign. I shouldn’t resign. I know it will be the worst decision ever if I do resign. So I will accept everything that has happened so far and will create a program that will do me favor and to parents as well, hoping the students will also do their best.

I’m a terrible adviser. I can’t do my job well. I don’t deserve to be one.

But you know what, my well wishes for you dear students is for you to learn resiliency. You should learn to fend for yourselves. In time, you will be on your own. Your parents won’t be there for you every time.

I am feeling mixed emotions. I am equally angry at myself and to parents. We both failed at our duty to ensure the students’ welfare.

I apologized to the parent. I could feel that she is feeling resentful towards me but even she couldn’t fully throw her anger upon me because she also didn’t ensure her son’s compliance with school requirements.

But I had a deeper realization. Forget the blame game. I will simply accept my mistake and accept sanctions that may be given to me. There will be no formal sanctions but I will be informally reprimanded forever unless I will go on, redeem myself and continue on with this job that I have chosen.

At the onset when I came down from college and stayed with senior high school, I always anticipated the possibility that I will not be able to be thorough with my advisory job. I am lazy to start with. I do work well when I work but there will always be some students who will be left out of my compassion. Not that I desired it. It just happens. God knows it just happens.

Now that I have ranted, I will forget all my excuses and start anew with my job. I now know what I had to do. I will contact parents at the start of the school year. I will dearly inform the students that all their moves will be reported to parents and that I will not be taking chances. I will do my job. I will OVERDO it if I must. Just so I will be relieved of all this misgivings I have committed so far.

I maybe lazy but I am also idealistic. And sometimes, idealism isn’t bad at all, it will be a guide to work on reality. My ideals will guide me and if I were half of my ideals, then I should be able to do my job very very well.

So much for self-incrimination. Let us go on with life. Let us be positive. Let us not try to take the world on our shoulders. Let us enlist the help of authorities like the admin, the guidance center of the school, the office, the parents, and other stakeholders. We are not working on it alone. We have other offices to help us.

I deactivated my Facebook account and only retained my messenger. I hate it when I do not do my job well and still have those quotes and sayings put up on my timeline. I will first redeem myself then reactivate my social account. I know it sounds OA but this is me and I am not masking anything anymore.

I am currently drafting a resolution for myself that will help me with the program I am also creating. In order to lessen the undesirable results that might arise.

6
$ 5.49
$ 5.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @francescawrites
$ 0.03 from @Expelliarmus30
+ 1
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

It's all a challenges and trial in life. Everything will be fine if you just believe and yourself and believe in God, he will you in whatever you're problem is. And don't resign it is hard to find a new job now. 😁 Everything will fall into place just don't give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, no one's resigning. I figured it will be challenging looking for new jobs. Thanks, Exp!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to hear po. Welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be too harsh unto yourself. We are human being we are not perfect we are bound to create failures and mistakes and learn from them. Don't easily give up because you think you don't do well. Learn to be resilient too. Don't put all the responsibility to your shoulder. Parents have responsibility too so us students it should have balance to create harmony. Carry on your responsibility and learn from your failures.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Grace! It makes the load lighter to hear such from you. God bless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome. Happy to know that. Laban Lang 💪😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I may suggest... at the start of the school year, meet your parents. Get to know them, or as much of them who want this interaction. (Meet them again once or twice). Since it will still be online classes (is it?), take advantage that parents don't have to travel to meet you. Then tell them your expectations in handling the class, and guiding their kids. Ask what their expectations are, too. Encourage them to approach you, or to tell their kids to approach you for any concerns. You cannot be guessing what goes on in their heads. But you have to show them you are not going to take it against the children if they raise concerns. I know teaching is extremely challenging, more so now that you cannot do it face-to-face. But if you can, get to know your kids, especially those that may need some pushing. It will go a long way for students to see their teacher sees them as individuals, and not just one in a list that will be given a grade.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Ma'am. I will do that and will really do it! Yes, still online. But in case, students may request printed copies if they really have a hard time doing classes online.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, for those who will have difficulty keeping up with online classes, and will opt for modules, they are the ones you need to monitor because they will for most of the time, just be doing the modules and not benefit from your lectures. Handling an advisory class can either be fulfilling or exasperating. Let your class take the cue from you. Make it fun, if you can. Don't let them be afraid of you. And your subject? Is it Math? I am not fond of Math, especially formulas. But if you can make it so, please you will have an easier time if you can put in some extra effort at this time.

Sorry for saying so many things. I get so frustrated listening to my niece's woes about teachers and how learning isn't fun anymore. I don't want you to be in that position where your students don't appreciate you because they should.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, I like it when I listen (read) to what students have to say. And I appreciate you for taking the time to suggest all these which I needed very much. For the future of the Philippines.

I myself gets so much frustrated when I try to make math class fun. But students also need to understand that Math should be taken seriously. I do a lot of preparatory talk to make them hopefully realize the essence of the subject. I send messages on messenger for those who do not find a way to attend synchronous classes.

But it seems that more work more experimentation needs to be done.

And that is where I'm going!

It makes me excited to take on this school year! Hahaha. Still working now even if it's vacation. We have to be the ones who will address enrollment concerns. And why not, if it will also mean more enrollees.

It's much more complicated but at the end of the day I am a teacher not only by profession but by heart. Oooops!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think one of the issues non-Math lovers raise about the subject is what they need it for in real life. Since you want your students to take it seriously, perhaps relating it to real life situations will be helpful. Geometry, I can appreciate a little. Trigonometry and Calculus? Yikes! If you can show how it is useful in everyday life, I'll pay attention! Now, my math is for money, measurements when cooking, some simple problem solving. Hohoho!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha! I understand your plight. I sometimes alienate some of my colleagues when I talk. There was a time I thought I was very clear with my explanation with something only to receive a remark, “I didn’t believe aliens existed until I met you.” He must have heard that somewhere and applied it to me in retort. As much as possible I don’t force my opinions to those who do not appreciate what I am saying at the moment when it comes to math.

The thing is, STEM students are forced to take all those calculus and other math related subjects. So it is a real struggle for me to let them appreciate the subject. Not all of them will be practically using the subject to their prospect field but they have to cope with the Math subjects anyway. So we really needed to relate it to real life.

But I do believe that once you get the hang of Math, I promise you will love it. Even you, at this stage, you will be able to appreciate it. Since you already love geometry, you will not be far from loving the other maths. I could sense you are very able because you already have a logical thinking. Or you are just being humble hahaha. Who knows…

Recently though, I am having second thoughts whether I believe all that I am saying. Okay, I will write another article about loving Math and why I was very passionate standing in front of the class when it was still face to face. If not, let me just agree with you wahahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay, write an article about Math, give some complicated example for non-Math lovers, and relate it to real life. I will see if I understand it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May I just say I was just joking? Hahaha.

I will try!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can do it! 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like to. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago