Hoping for an accurate diagnosis

2 32
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

I do not know what they do in the medical field but perhaps researchers are very busy finding reasons, cures, causes, and many more related to conditions and diseases.

I always hear people say that eating too much salt, I mean, having too much salt in your food constantly could affect your kidneys.

In my case, I believe that I have always been into salty foods.

When I was young, I remember how I would frown when my sister cooks bland viands. I put additional salt, but I don't really enjoy her cooking because aside from the bland taste, it lacks oil.

My husband and I had a hard time adjusting to each other because of our opposite preferences.

One of which is about food. He was very sensitive to salt and just a little more than his preference and he would complain.

I, on the other hand, would feel hurt and I hate him when it came to food matters.

Years passed and I was beginning to appreciate his delicate palate. I was able to admit that I was the one in the wrong.

I eventually reduced the salt I put in what I cook. There were times when I go back out of habit but I correct myself immediately.

But then, old habits die hard. I would again put much more salt than needed. I learned to eat unhealthy snacks and viands. I even started mimicking how they do their noodle mukbangs.

Then one day, I saw something unusual. Bubbly urine. Then I noticed it became foamy. When I flash the toilet bowl, it is as if I put laundry powder into the bowl. I would need more water to be able to clear the water.

There has always been discomfort when I urinate. But at times, I feel fine.

I regularly have pain around my belly. Sometimes, I attribute it to physical activities, sometimes to menstrual cramps. So I say that it is normal for me.

Days passed then weeks. I eventually found myself in a laboratory facility.

Although expectant of a significant result, I was still shocked to see protein in my urine. It was my first time seeing it. There was also a significant amount of RBC per HPF.

We went to the doctor for consultation and she referred me for an ultrasound. Well, it was shocking to see a very normal kidney after what I have seen in the urinalysis.

We went to the doctor again. I was given vitamins and such. She said I needed additional tests to see what was causing the albumin and RBC in the urine.

I repeated urinalysis over and over. Consistent results. In the latest, there, I can see hyaline casts. But the doctor didn't comment about the cast and I forgot to ask.

I have normal results for all except for the high HDL direct, higher than normal total cholesterol, and ALAT.

Higher than normal range (total cholesterol, HDL direct, and ALAT)
Fatty liver and small simple cyst
Normal result for hemoglobin
Normal CBC

The doctor told me to lose weight. I said I will. According to the ultrasound, I have a mild diffuse fatty liver.

But it still doesn't explain my albuminuria and the microscopic hematuria.

The other day, I requested that I get a second ultrasound. They say that the doctor who read my initial ultrasound is a skilled one. But then I still insisted to have a second ultrasound.

Just maybe, something was missed out. My doctor agreed to a follow-up ultrasound but she added a urine culture.

My urinalysis result is abnormal but my kidneys are normal.

I went immediately to the laboratory. The urine culture is in five days but the ultrasound, I got the result yesterday.

To my surprise, the same ultrasound result as the first. But at least I was able to confirm the initial ultrasound.

I should be glad nothing is wrong with my kidneys but it is still unsettling. What then is causing the albuminuria? Also the very high rbc in my urine.

I have to wait to see my urine culture result. Meanwhile, I will be having my urine checked if there is an improvement in the levels of protein and RBC. I was given antibiotics while waiting for the urine culture.

I still have discomfort urinating. In some parts of my abdomen, I feel occasional pain mimicking that when I am in labor for childbirth.

I have already consulted as well as an OB-Gyne. She even performed IE to check my private part. No discharge or abnormal smell. What could this be?

I am still hoping that I have an idiopathic case. Just a chance that, maybe, for some people like me, having symptoms similar to those indicating a certain disease is isolated and not necessarily indicative of a serious disease.

It's adding to my already stressful situation. Running around, going to laboratories and doctors.

I can't settle this as idiopathic because of the pain in my lower abdomen.

I hope in time I will get a correct diagnosis.

I am still glad I was able to discover that I have asthma. Too bad I didn't have any doctor find this out for me earlier for better management.

I didn't know that I was having asthma attacks before. I just thought those were because of other reasons.

But the proteinuria, I can't help but feel bothered. Can renal disease hide?

5
$ 4.68
$ 4.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments

Medyo nakakakaba pag ganyan, pero pagpray mo sis. Tapos more into healthy food choices ka muna. More water syempre, wag kalimutan, at exercise. Whenever I feel like something's wrong with me, wake up call yon, para i-ditch yung bad eating habits, and mag effort sa better lifestyle. (then pag okay na ulit pwede na ulit kumain ng maalat haha, sabay ganon). kumbaga agapan nalang kaysa lumala diba..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sinabi mo pa. Wake up call. Pati kay Lord. Hay naku, paulit ulit na lang noh. Pero ganun nga siguro talaga ang buhay. Still hoping makita na kung anuman ito.

Thanks! Pampalakas loob yung sinabi mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago